The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

Login:
Pass:

Original thread:
Post 71 made on Wednesday January 28, 2009 at 10:54
clear33765
Long Time Member
May 2007
On January 28, 2009 at 00:29, tsvisser said...
I think there is absolutely no question, a programmer
that is employed by a company is working for that company
and 100% of what is coded is property of the company.
To take that code and use it outside of company use would
in fact be theft. Obviously the contents of someone's
head is property of that person, so having gained expertise
in programming is not owned by the company, but physical
or electronic property that was developed is not the property
of the employee.

I am not a custom installer, but I am a programmer who deals with signing corp-to-corp, sub-contractor, W2 contracts all the time. Here is a direct excerpt of a contract I have...

Article 5 - Ownership of Developments

5.1????? and Contractor agree that all codes, developments, designs, discoveries, ideas, improvements, processes, programs, systems, trademarks, service marks, writings, creations, enhancements, improvements or other inventions, whatsoever, which have been or shall be made, developed, conceived or reduced to practice or writing by Contractor, either alone or with others, (i) at any time during Contractor's engagement by ????? or (ii) within one year following the termination or completion of such engagement, whichever is later, and other things or materials developed by Contractor in fulfillment of the Services (Inventions) shall be considered to be "works made for hire," and that they and the patents, copyrights, trade secrets and other intangible property rights therein shall become the sole and exclusive property of ?????, subject to ?????'s obligations to Company under the Contract, if they are part of, relate to or are usable with:

(a)the Services;
(b)Contractor's engagement by ?????;