Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

Login:
Pass:

Original thread:
Post 19 made on Monday July 5, 2010 at 23:45
Audible Solutions
March 2004
I was a salaried programmer new to the job when I was asked to imitate what their previous CAIP had come up with. He has a dashboard, a run time selectable groups page and a page that allowed you to adjust the volume for each room. Kicking and screaming I developed a GUI that did all of this and more from the audio selection page. I had nothing but contempt for it till clients began using it. Suddenly, my contempt turned into fascination as they loved the GUI, even if they could not explain their preference. One of my favorite memories was the salesman on a job insisting on drop down menu GUI. Having perfected that we put in my audio GUI just for party or group control. First time he touched it the client said it blew away his drop down menu GUI and asked why we were using the drop down menus.

A few of you continue to miss the point as you point to gestures, top and bottom menus ( unless you can write source code please reconsider the word "activities." ), and take refuge in one man's ceiling being an other's floor. It's about the design and why Crestron's graphic artist gets it right so often and the rest of you do not. It's about the fact that many dealers have gone to Destiny not merely because it's free but because it contains graphical elements missing in your work. It's visually interesting whereas your collective recent designs are not.