The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

Login:
Pass:

Original thread:
Post 20 made on Saturday December 29, 2012 at 02:12
Presinium
Long Time Member
September 2011
I appreciate your comments but you failed to catch the basic theme of comment.  I am a professional programmer and am aware how difficult it is to reverse engineering someone else work.  The tools Universal provides professional installers are archaic and poorly designed to support you.  Lacking something as basic as a print function or the ability to export a configuration into a standardized format such as XML makes these devices extremely time intensive (expensive) to reverse engineer. Point of my comment was that some standardization or tools need to be built to support these types of devices or this business will go the way of the dodo.  Requiring $6k or $15k to add a single device due to someone going out of business needs to be factored into the cost of bulding a custon system.  

Yes, I have a great product line that supports everything you are talking about... want a proposal on it? I love selling Crestron systems :-).

I don't care how advanced it is, $15,000 is crazy and if you are saying that you are just adding a DVR - I am sorry but there is absolutely no possible way Best Buy quoted you $15,000 just for that... there is quite obviously more to this story... Some sort of other changes you were implying that you would need or the guy just unfortunately not being educated enough to provide an accurate quote...

If you came to me and had a super complex system and wanted to change one device to another it'd probably end up being $300 but I'd have it in writing that I take no responsibility for the quality of the system unless you reprogram which would easily approach the $6k-$8k figure... I'm sure they did the same thing and made you feel that there was no other option but to start over as part of their sales pitch... which is the smart thing to do but not necessary.