Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Up level
What's New
9/29/17 - All cloud-based operations to end within four years.
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the Harmony 676 / H676 from Logitech.
Harmony 676 / H676
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 4.72/5.00
Median: 5.00/5.00
6$199
The Harmony H676 remote control features simple Internet-based programming via USB, Smart State control for easy system automatation, full backlighting and a redesigned button layout ideal for DVR users!
Get it
at:
Amazon.com


Written by hmbmd from California, USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for under 1 month.
Review 6 made on Wednesday December 19, 2007 at 4:10 AM.
Also owned:Several Home Theater Master remotes
GE universal remote
Kamelion
Denon Universal Touch-Screen remote
Strengths:Activity Based operation is awesome
Even my wife understood it quickly
Super Easy to program with on-line software connection
Control goes beyond original equipment remotes
Weaknesses:Buttons slightly small, and could benefit by being of different shapes
Review:I purchased this remote on Ebay, and immediately began to set it up. Initial setup was VERY simple (as long as I knew my component model numbers). Yes, I've had to do a little tweaking, but that, too, was simple. People have complained about the software, but I have NO COMPLAINTS in that department. Once programmed, it has done everything I could want it to do (except was the floors). Quite simple to switch back and forth between activity and device mode. Status memory is terrific. Layout is reasonable and intuitive to learn. I would highly recommend this remote to anyone.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Chuck_IV from Connecticut, USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 5 made on Sunday June 11, 2006 at 1:58 PM.
Strengths:Solid construction
Easily programmable
Good prositioning of the Transport keys
Bigger(when compared to the 659) LCD side buttons
Weaknesses:VOL/Channel UP/DN and Number keys too low.
OK button takes a bit of pressure to work and thus can fat thump the ring surrounding it.
Logitech's web based programming - Bad, Bad, Bad, because of the web's down, your remote is unprogrammable. That should never happen. Get with the times Logitech, give us a STANDALONE programming interface.
Review:The 676 is a nice and I got it since many people recommended it, with the repositioned transport keys(compared to the 659). I do like the position of the transport keys and the extra >>| and |<< keys(plus the A and B) and I like the larger LCD side buttons too. However, I'm not thrilled with a few things about the remote. One being the lower positioning of the VOL and Channel UP/DN rocker keys, along with propotionally lower number keys. The remote feels a bit awkward in my hand when I'm using the channel up/dn rocker. I feel the number keys, as well ad the "E" for enter key are just awkward to press, on the 676. On top of this, I find pressing the ring a bit difficult, at times, as well as sometimes fat "thumbing" the ok button, to where I accidentally press the ring, as well.

I'm actually surprised nobody has really mentioned anything about the possible fat thumbing of the OK button(I have small fingers/hands too, I can't imagine having a big hand with this remote), as well as having issues with the lower rocker buttons and number buttons(although I did see one other person mention this, elsewhere).
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by rlouis90 from West Virginia, USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 3-6 months.
Review 4 made on Thursday June 8, 2006 at 10:36 AM.
Strengths:The limitless programming ability lets users create the perfect combination of functionality and system control.

The remote is very flexable and with some fudging can be programmed to fit anyone.
Weaknesses:The out-of-the-box setup is weak and someone without a good knowledge of computers etc. may find it cumbersome.
Also, the default setup of devices is not good. Some commands work while others do not. To much junk to cleanup such as the labels are way to long for the screen.
It took me a few weeks to get it setup the way I wanted it, but after that you will never need to do it again.
Review:Overall this has been a great remote and does everything I want it too and more. Its flexibility give users endless possiblities.

I find new things about it everyday and it still amazes me.

The battery life is also amazing, I have had it since Feb until now Jun and it still has the same batteries.

I highly recommend this remote for someone that wants a great remote without breaking the bank.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by illinialumni from Florida.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 3 made on Thursday December 15, 2005 at 8:11 AM.
Strengths:Very easy to set up. Logitech support was immediately available on the phone when I had a general question. The learning capability is quick and painless using their software (see my comment below in the main review with regards to the software interface).
Weaknesses:Their software seems to be ignoring the "Pic" button on the remote. I don't see how to program that one button.

The pre-programmed buttons are not all correct, but this is very easily remedied by the excellent learning capabilities. This is a software issue from their website, not a remote problem, and as stated, easy to overcome.
Review:About a month ago I bought the 520 model from Walmart for our bedroom that has a pretty simple setup. My wife loves that remote, and I have been very happy with it. However, for the family room, I wanted a remote with a few more buttons, because that is where the TiVo is going, and I wanted the extra flexibility. After lots of reading and looking at the pictures, I thought that the 676 offered everything I needed. Additionally, it was on Walmarts website for not much more than the 520 anyways ($140 including tax & expedited s/h). I took it out, and it really works great. Having been through the experience of programming the 520, I was able to set up and tweak this remote pretty quickly.

The button layout on this remote is great, and like the 520 (and despite the different shape), it fits great in your hand, and is balanced such that moving from the bottom to top with one hand doesn't feel awkward. The directional rocker and "select/ok" button have a nice feel to them, and the center selec/ok button is a separate component from the rocker ring, so there is virtually no chance to accidently move in a direction when trying to select.

This remote also stores TV program's schedules in its memories for channels that you want, and displays what is currently on TV on its screen. This was a nice feature that I wasn't even aware of that the 520 does not have. One button push and the remote will change the channel to the program on the remote's screen.

For those wondering why I called the logitech help line, I was wondering if I could set up my account to have two different remotes. Turns out I had to create a second account, but this was easy, and my computer system doesn't get confused by having two different remotes associated with the same computer.

One comment on the software interface. I know that a lot of people have had issues with the software. What I have found is that while you must load the software that comes with the remote, there seems to be two different interfaces. One is web based through explorer, and the other one is a logitech based interface. When you plug in the remote to the USB, this secondary interface pops up. This secondary interface sucks, and should just be shut down. On the other hand, the web based interface works great, and therefore I would strongly recommend just using this.

My ratings for the features is a 4 because there is no RF capability. I knew this before I purchased the remote, and for the price it is not a complaint, just an observation. For about double the price I could have bought the 800 series with RF capacity, but that's just now worth it to control a fan.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Jim Huffman from Colorado.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 2 made on Wednesday November 16, 2005 at 12:36 PM.
Strengths:Web configuration, accessible from multiple computers (Harmony stores your configuration on their web site), incredibly customizable, good button layout
Weaknesses:User manual and intro guide are sparse.
Review:My kids couldn't get used to button switching on my MX-500, so still used 2-3 remotes. I didn't like the manual programming method and wanted something that was Windows based. Unfortunately, all of Universal Remote's consumer remotes, either didn't connect to the computer, or if they did, connected via RS-232 (yuck). The Harmony connects via USB, learns from their extensive database, and also learns from existing remotes ALL thru the same web interface. I was a bit confused at first, so I called tech support. After holding about 10 minutes, they not only answered my questions (and fixed my existing issue), but took another 10 minutes to explain overall programming/configuration. And, they called me back on my cell! Fantastic experience with tech support. 30 minutes after their call, I had the remote reliably controlling everything in my kids theater, with EASY button pushing scenarios. I have owned Theatre Master, Pronto, Sony, and for ease of use, button layout, build, and programming, my favorite is this remote by Harmony!!!
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Greg van den Dries from CA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 1 made on Sunday January 9, 2005 at 8:33 PM.
Strengths:Flexibility, layout
Weaknesses:Complicated
Review:Just purcahsed and integrated into the following:
Delta AV-3100 Projector
Denon AV Rvcer
Dish 6000 HD rcvr
Replay TV 2000
Vewsonic N6 scaler
JVC DVD
JVC VCR
HP laptop

Biggest concern i had was the Delta projector since it's an off-brand and a factor PVT unit i obtained for testing. Harmony didn't have it in its database but the wizard walked me thru the learning (IR) process. All was well with it.

Next big conern was getting it to work with Replay TV - no problem what so ever as the device is already in the database - all buttons including guide, menu, exit work flawlessly.

Next big issue was the Viewsonic N6 - had a real problem with making it work with various inputs - tired all tricks i was aware of but had to call tech support. Spent 2 hours with a great support tech who knew tons and wouldn't give up! Finally tracked it down to an error i had introduced in setting up the input descriptions (make sure you have them in the right sequence). BASED ON HIS SUPPORT, I'D BUY ANYTHING FROM THIS COMPANY - SIMPLY THE BEST SUPPORT I'VE EVER HAD!

Rest of the config was simple and all works great - i'm about to toss the Sony commander finally and use the 676 exclusively.

It really is a treat for me and the wife and kids to be able to touch one button fro HiDef, Std Def, DVD, Computer, etc.

Highly recommend
Quality: Features: Value:


Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse