Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Previous page Next page Up level
What's New
9/29/17 - All cloud-based operations to end within four years.
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the Sony RM-AV3100 from Sony Electronics.
Sony RM-AV3100
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 2.87/5.00
Median: 2.83/5.00
10$199
The powerful RM-AV3100 improves the RM-AV3000 by adding aliases, key macros, key hold times and multiple backlight brightness levels. You still get control of 18 devices, 45 macros, code learning, editable key labels and more!
Get it
at:
Amazon.com


Navigation: [ Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 1 of 2 for
the Sony RM-AV3100 remote.
[ Go to: |1|2 ]

Written by Will Chase from Farmington Hills, MI.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 3-6 months.
Review 10 made on Sunday November 6, 2005 at 12:07 PM.
Strengths:Looks Nice
Weaknesses:Product never worked right. I bought this product from E-Buyer where there is no exchange or return. You must deal directly with tech support which is not Sony, it's contracted out. First unit would freeze & lock up. Then you could only change the batteries and lose all your meticulous programming. The second unit? It's not usuable, light is very faint and when you can get it to come on, the grid disapeers. There is no recorse when buying from E-Buyer.
Review:Do not buy this unit. Product support is horrible, unit is complicated to use, for heavens sake, don't let the batteries die on you on this one. In general, I'm a fan of Sony but this product is Junk and that's Junk with a capital J.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by EVAN TAUDIEN from FL.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 9 made on Monday August 29, 2005 at 6:35 PM.
Weaknesses:PRODUCT CANNOT READ MY SANYO DVR OR MY KLH RECEIVER. TALKED TO SONY TECH AND CAME TO CONCLUSION THAT PRODUCTS USE DIFFERENT TYPES OF INFRARED. THIS REMOTE IS USELESS!
Review:UNLESS YOPU HAVE ALL THE SAME INFRARED TYPES ON ALL YOUR EQUIPMENT YOU WILL STILL NEED MORE THAN ONE REMOTE.

TOTALLY OBSOLETE
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Rick from New Jersey.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-2 years.
Review 8 made on Tuesday March 15, 2005 at 6:22 AM.
Strengths:I first got this out of the box and sat down with all my remotes figuring I would have to learn a ton of commands however the code library took care of most of my stuff. This remote is so quick to program after getting used to it that I changed things around and eventually found my own set up.
Weaknesses:the inability to change the hard buttons labels for the devices, Minor gripe I know but I figure with a remote like this I don't want to hit CD to control my Tivo.
Review:I love my commander however My volume up button has died and I have reservations about getting another because of it. I am in no way a remote abuser and it even gets put away at night so the fact that a major button no longer works is a definate red flag to me. Prior to this button going the thought of getting a new remote had not even crossed my mind.

For all you gadget freaks out there with spouses who have to use this stuff as well this remote does have a intimidation factor however once that was gotten passed my wife handles this like it was second nature using macros switching devices changes pages and such.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by chris camelio from florida,usa.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-2 years.
Review 7 made on Tuesday December 21, 2004 at 3:25 AM.
Strengths:This remote looks cool and is very capable.hard buttons,lcd,macros.good price.
Weaknesses:It could have more lable editing capabilities but that take 1/2 a point.
Review:Ive personally used this remote for a couple of years.Ive sold it to many customers who didnt want to spend 5-$600 on a remote.I never had any lock up problems during programming or use.You can do just about anything with the macros.This remote will also learn almost anything you point at it,where i had problems with more expensive controllers,this was a breeze.The manual is a bit confuzing,but if you are familiar with this kind of stuff its not hard to figure out.They are very simple to program.I can have one done in 1 hour with custom labeling multiple macros and learning many irs,and it works every time.It also has great range. Highly recommended!The case is solid.If you drop it dont worry,pick it back up and it works.The lcd buttons work good too.All buttons are very responsive.Learned ir's,(AS LONG AS U TEACH IT PROPERLY!)work great.My favorite for the money.If i needed rf then i would go with a mx-800
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Tony Bencina from St. Louis, MO.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 6 made on Wednesday December 8, 2004 at 5:20 PM.
Strengths:It looks cool and can do a lot once you learn how to use it.
Weaknesses:I've taken upper level college courses in Quantitative Analysis that was much easier than learning how to program this thing after reading the awful instruction book.

Can't customize the smaller labels on the touch screen to match the features of my TV: split, index, sound, video status, etc. The hard button arrows don't work when I have a menu pulled up on my TV
Review:PAIN in the butt. My little sister was more of a pain in the butt than this thing. I spent 3 hours programming, deleting, reading, being confused, etc last night when I got this.

I like the macros to turn things on and off and to operate several components at one time.

If your reading comprehension is poor or if you did not write this manual then you will have a hard time learning how to use this thing the first time.

Works great for the functions I was able to program. I'm still working on those extra TV functions though.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Marcus Keeler from UK.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 5 made on Tuesday September 28, 2004 at 9:17 AM.
Strengths:Hard keys
Weaknesses:Programming, battery backup, crippled button labels, handbook is a joke
Review:Anybody want a Mint condition RM-AV3000 POS ?
Why can't you change the button labels?

The most unintuitive interface I have EVER seen, without the book, even repetitive jobs are impossible.

The threat of no battery backupo and loss of memory during battry swap is frightening. I WILL NOT try to reprogram, when the batteries die, I will throw the unit in the bin rather than attempt to reprogram the few things I have in it now.

The idea that this is an evolutionary remote defies belief, what on earth were the previous models like ?

AAAARRRGGGHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by RW from Virginia Beach.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 4 made on Thursday August 5, 2004 at 9:36 PM.
Strengths:Great Display, good ergonimic design, lots of features, key labeling
Weaknesses:Limited key labeling but its better then nothing
Review:This remote does it all, I have 3 seperate components from different manufacturers. Although the initial preset code did not give me alot of my funcion, I could program any command I wanted without a problem. Although I did have one lockup on a PIP Move command, quick fix though just took out a battery real fast and put it back in, all my codes I had entered and learned functions were unharmed. I am very satisfied with this remote, not to mention new egg has this one for just over 100 bucks, was$111.00 including shipping versus Best Buy selling it and others like it for $199.

Bottom line this remote learned all the keys I wanted from my original remotes without a problem, every command worked as if it were my original remote. I cant recommend this one enough if your searching for a good remote or upgrading your current one.
Quality: Features: Value:


Navigation: [ Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 1 of 2 for
the Sony RM-AV3100 remote.
[ Go to: |1|2 ]

Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse