Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Previous page Next page Up level
What's New
9/29/17 - All cloud-based operations to end within four years.
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the Sony RM-AV2500 from Sony Electronics.
Sony RM-AV2500
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 4.38/5.00
Median: 4.33/5.00
8$149
Sony's RM-AV2500 improves upon the RM-AV2100 by offering new case design with more hard buttons, 24 macros, aliases and better customization. It also features control of 12 devices, a large backlit LCD touchscreen and excellent code learning capabilities.


Navigation: [ Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 1 of 2 for
the Sony RM-AV2500 remote.
[ Go to: |1|2 ]

Written by Marconi from St. Catharines. ON., CANADA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for under 1 month.
Review 8 made on Saturday July 22, 2006 at 2:02 AM.
Also owned:I just got this gratis free of charge from Sony Canada because I mailed a letter (post mail) to the President and CEO in Canada and voiced my feelings about the completley inadequet remote supplied with my 40 inch Sony
LCD. I will write more as I go along but not having a remote such as this before I found it a bit intimidating and found it took a bit of time to get used to the touch pad. However, I am progressing. As I progress further I will add more. I am having trouble unlearning or clearing commands for my A/V receiver which they entitle AMP so that I can reproram them Maybe someone has some pointers. I think I made an error in programming in the wrong code for my JVC receiver and as a result I do not get all the tunctions which should be available. Any advce will be wlcome. This is the first Universal remote that I have had. The Sony AV-2500
Strengths:I'll report on this later.
Weaknesses:Ditto.
Review:Receiving it just today, July 21st, 2006 I am not in a posiotion to do that yet but I will give a good report fter I get my feet wet with this one..
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Lynsey from Santa Barbara, CA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 7 made on Tuesday July 5, 2005 at 11:57 PM.
Strengths:Works great. Easy to use. I figured out how to program it in about 10 minutes. Easy to use macros. Easy to follow instructions. Just a very cool remote.
Weaknesses:Does not come with batteries.
Review:Works great. I love it. I gets rid of all five remotes sitting on my couch. Works great with scientific atlanta digital cable box. All functions worked immediately including the guide, scroll and info buttons. I really like that you can delete the buttons on the LCD screen you don't use. Learning functions work great and are very nice for equipment that does not have a code. I got mine at amazon.com for $75
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Arron from Cleveland, Oh.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 6 made on Wednesday April 13, 2005 at 3:29 AM.
Strengths:Quick and easy to use. Control all remote oriented devices in the house with one remote.
Weaknesses:Hard Keys are not illuminated. Hard to find in the dark or low light. Don't like that you can't change the touch screen labels. Sometimes there isn't a good description of the key you are going to learn.
Review:Over all I would by it again. At first I thought I was a little expensive for a remote control but figured I could take it back. When I got it home and discovered first hand what I could do with it, I loved it. Few flaws but far better perks, and the flaws are minor.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by KP from New Jersey.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 5 made on Thursday March 17, 2005 at 7:29 AM.
Strengths:Programmable/Learning remote for pretty much everything you need (Even my air conditioner). Customizable controls to run multiple things at a touch of a button.
Weaknesses:Cannot rename LCD Buttons, NON LCD buttons do not light up. They do not come with a code for the PS2 so I need to buy a remote first and then program it in.
Review:Originally I was planning on picking up the RM-AV3100 which is the higher end remote from SONY. After reviewing this website and all the people who have purchased it and rated it, I backed out. But I was still looking for a remote that does it all and I checked out this model. Very few reviews but none are bad. Well, here goes my review..

This remote is great in that it does learn what you teach it, at first glance of the manual I was not looking forward to figuring this all out, however, it was very easy to learn. The remote is designed for a right-handed person (I'm a lefty and now have to learn to be a righty for my remote). I was suprised to find that the remote did not come with ALL SONY CODES since I pretty much all my devices are Sony brand. So I had to teach the buttons to the remote which was pretty easy. Wish I could rename the buttons on the remote (at least the LCD screen button) but you can't. So I'm going to have to remember what I programmed in. I also wish you could add more buttons into a particular device.

Overall this remote does what I needs to do, the standard buttons feel nice (not too hard not too soft and sensative)

I paid $88 at newegg which was a deal, shop around you do not have to pay retail for a brand new one.

I am still learning about this remote but so far, I am satisfied, next step.. MACROS..
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Paul from Indiana.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 4 made on Saturday February 19, 2005 at 6:36 PM.
Strengths:-Easy to use
-Easy to program
-A manual that is actually very straightforward and easy to follow
-Ability to hide unused buttons on lcd
-
Weaknesses:-Not really a weakness, but the ability to rename buttons would be nice
-Cant turn on backlight while programming, or at least I didn't know how
-While programming, all buttons flash off and on, makes it hard to look over the buttons and find what you want
Review:This is the first learning remote I ever had. After years of saying I wanted one I got fed up and went and bought it today. It helped that I just bought a new home theater system this past week, so that was another remote I had to deal with.

Just last night I was watching tv and had all 4 of my remotes near by to do various things. I was thinking "this is ridiculous" so I got on the net looking for a good all-in-1 learning remote.

Ended up going to BestBuy today to get it. Kind of hard to swallow the $150 (can get it for half that online) but I wanted it now.

One of the main reasons I chose this remote was that my tv and cable box both have directional buttons and an ok/enter button in the center, and this remote also has a similar layout.

I got home, entered the codes for my tv, receiver, dvd, and cable box and was surprised to find I was about 75% done. There were a few things that didn't work the right way, but overall most things did.

I spent about a 30min in learning mode programming in some of the buttons that didn't work. Set up 2 macros for powering on/off my stuff, and that's it!

I tried to think of every possible thing on each remote that I have ever used and program it into the av2500, and I think I preety much got it all.

Overall I'm very happy with the remote, although I may buy 1 online at half the cost, and return this one to BB (sorry BB). I only give the remote a 3 on the value rating for that reason, BB being twice as much as a couple of online retailers. But I would certainly give it a 5 for the 79.99 I found it for online.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Jay Bailey from Mass, USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 3 made on Thursday October 14, 2004 at 1:11 PM.
Strengths:Very flexible, customizable, was able to do almost everything I wanted. Looks cool, LCD touchscreen very readable. I especially liked the MANY hard buttons for devices.
Weaknesses:No backlighting for hardbuttons. Touchscreen sometimes didn't. (i.e. had to press buttons more than once to get a response.
Review:Overall, this is a very nice remote, but I ended up taking it back after 30 days. Why? Well, mostly personal preference I guess. Although the Sony could do almost everything I asked, and worked very well, I found that I couldn't stand using the LCD touchscreen for certain common tasks. In my case, that involved my Dish PVR. I was able to program all the functions of PVR perfectly, but because the 2500 has few hard buttons, I had to put the 30sec skip and rewind buttons (or whatever they are called) on two LCD-based buttons. It drove me crazy using those (and some other common controls) on the touchscreen. I really wanted hard buttons for those functions. I could reprogram the cursor navigation or the channel buttons to do the 30sec skip, but then you give other things up. This remote did do a nice job with my components, (Onkyo TX-DS838 receiver, Sony S7000 DVD, Philips DVD recorder, Dish PVR, and Hitachi Ultravision widescreen television). I guess I'm just a hard-button type of guy. I'm going to try the new Harmony 680 now and see if I can make myself happy.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Marcelo Goncalves from Sydney, Australia.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 2 made on Saturday October 9, 2004 at 9:47 AM.
Strengths:easy to use, easy to programme, frequently used keys placed in familiar locations (ie: volume, channel, mute, recall)
Weaknesses:lack of name customisation for LCD keys
Review:A very functional, easy to set up Remote Control - with comprehensive Macro and customisation features available for the advance user. I manage to set up my system (TV, DVD, VCR, Digital Box, Amp, CD Player) AND my Air con within one hour.. I tweeked it for the following day, ensuring the macros worked in the right manner - but it's very easy to set up. Also, the strengh of the infrared is very impressive... my original remotes had to be precisely pointed to my TV unit, otherwise the signal would not reach properly... the Sony RM AV 2500 you just press the button and the signal gets there.... very happy.. it has replaced 4 remotes that I constantly used to operate my set up.. not bad at all. Bought it through ebay, as a refurbished item... extremely good value for money.
Quality: Features: Value:


Navigation: [ Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 1 of 2 for
the Sony RM-AV2500 remote.
[ Go to: |1|2 ]

Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse