Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Previous page Next page Up level
What's New
9/29/17 - All cloud-based operations to end within four years.
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the Complete Control MX-3000 from Universal Remote Control Inc.
Complete Control MX-3000
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 4.74/5.00
Median: 4.67/5.00
9$999
The advanced Complete Control MX-3000 features a 16-bit 3.8" color TFT display, 206MHz processor, 16mb RAM, a lithium ion battery and RF capabilities. It supports up to 255 devices with 255 pages each, nearly unlimited macros, animated GIFs, sound and more!
Get it
at:
Amazon.com


Navigation: [ Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 1 of 2 for
the Complete Control MX-3000 remote.
[ Go to: |1|2 ]

Written by DrNotes from Wisconsin.
The reviewer has used this remote control for more than two years.
Review 9 made on Thursday September 23, 2010 at 11:25 AM.
Also owned:Harmony, tried and returned, never going to handle what I need to do.
Strengths:Great programming capabilities, nice color screen, can use your own graphics files, rechargeable with motion sensitive activation and runs for days on a charge with new battery.
Weaknesses:A few minor issues. Li ion battery, yet still needs to be replaced every 18 months or so, one handed operation not easy. Will lock up a couple times a year requiring a battery unplug to reboot. A bit pricey in my book, should be more like $600.
Review:This WAS a great purchase, when URC allowed the consumer to program it themselves. I believe it is probably the absolute best remote that can be programmed by the user, it has a great programming environment. This is important to me, I cannot stomach shelling out major dollars to someone else to program my remote when I can easily do it myself. Unfortunately, URC has done an about face and refuses to support the end consumer any more with this product, very disappointing. The biggest drawback to this is that I have to work through back channels to get an updated IR codes database when I get new equipment. That being said, this is a great remote, together with a couple of RF extenders and an ISY-99 lighting controller I use it to control literally all of the A/V in 11 rooms/areas of my house, plus all of the Insteon lighting, it even just easily learned the IR remote commands for my new room fan, that's one more remote into storage. I believe that I am using it to replace roughly 25 remotes. I am even toying with the idea of getting an Insteon interface for the sprinkler system so that I can easily turn on any zone to scare away the rabbits using the MX-3000, kind of cool.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Vincent from Long Island, NY.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-2 years.
Review 8 made on Monday July 17, 2006 at 8:51 PM.
Also owned:Various other brands
Strengths:Easy to program
Very Reliable
Easy to use
Durable
Always works
Strong IR
Weaknesses:A bit pricey, but in all honesty, worth every penny
Review:After using this remote for about a year, it is still one of my favorite toys. It is used constantly by the whole family, gets dropped and stepped on by my dog, yet it looks and performs like the day I got it. If your considering getting a high end remote, you won't be disappointed. I am not a professional, so I can't compare it to other units in its class. If you have the typical big TV, cable box, DVD, VCR, lighting (X10), etc., this unit can be quickly programmed to look awesome and perform like magic. I love it.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by JustPlainDon from Memphis, TN.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 3-6 months.
Review 7 made on Saturday July 15, 2006 at 8:53 PM.
Also owned:Memorex clunker, early Sony AV model
Strengths:Has replaced EVERY remote I own, programmability, so far has even learned any non-database remote code that I've thrown at it.
Weaknesses:Pricey and not crazy about the "Star Trek: Next Generation" rounded case style. The style is a minor thing and a matter of personal choice. There is a steep learning curve when it comes to learning the software, BUT once learned your limit is your imagination. Sometimes long pauses have to be palced between discrete codes in macros.
Review:So far I have used the remote to control all the AV equipment, lights, limited PC functions (from a Shuttle remote) and even my remote control Roomba (robot vacum cleaner). Once I understood how it handles images and macro commands I was pretty much able to make it do anything I wanted including working around discrete codes that Samsung had not made for their HLR-7167W DLP TV. Switching between AV devices can be incorporated into each button for a totally seamless operation of your system. As stated above the learning curve for the software is a bit steep, but I got the basics down in a couple of hours with the manual in hand. Also check out the forums here for additional help & ideas. Without a doubt, this is the best remote I've owned and would recommend it to anyone that enjoys techno-toys that work.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Paul from Canberra, Australia.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 6 made on Sunday November 20, 2005 at 2:23 AM.
Strengths:THIS IS AN AWESOME REMOTE.
I am constantly amazed by its quality, design, and performance. This really is a must to tame the most complex system.
Weaknesses:None so far. It is fairly expensive, but then look at what some other brands charge.
Review:This is definately the ultimate remote. Combining a great combination of touch screen and hard buttons.
Screen is bright and clear, unit is extremely well built.
Have used various other universal remotes (Prontopro etc) but this is far superior.
Can make the hardest system a pleasure to use.
Try it!!!!!!
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Lawrence Kowalski from Texas.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 5 made on Tuesday May 24, 2005 at 2:45 PM.
Strengths:Easy of use. WOW factor. Design.
Weaknesses:None yet
Review:Ordered my 3000 from PRO REMOTES and had Damon do the programming also. Worth every cent. Great work. My equipment: SONY DA7ES tuner, SONY NS725P DVD, Polk Audio XM Reference tuner, TIVO HD recorder with Direct TV, Monster AVS2000 and HTS 7000 power units, Definitive Mythos Tower 1s and Center in front, Mythos Gems and center in rear. I sent this information to Pro Remotes (WWW.proremotes.com) along with my order. I received the MX 3000 a few days later along with the initial program files to check individual systems. After I confirmed that all worked and the screens matched each component, Damon wrote the macros and emailed them for download to the 3000. After some modifications and changes back and forth, it was done! My time? About 20 minutes - including checking it all out. Incredible use of the latest technology. The 3000 is a one button selection from the opening activities screen. The screen changes after selecting an activity (DVD, TIVO, XM, etc) to the screen(s) needed to operate the selected device. Watching TV and want to watch a DVD? Press the main button, select DVD and your done. Folks, it doesn't get any easier or better than this! The 3000 is one great piece of engineering and Damon designs one hell of a pretty interface!
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Richard Borden from Maple Shade,NJ, USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 4 made on Wednesday October 13, 2004 at 7:49 PM.
Strengths:Really great product!!!! Way much better than the Prontopro 6000. Which I purchased first. After two bad Prontopro (tsu-6000)remotes. Real straight forward progaming. Very large IR database. 100% easier programing than the tsu-6000. Better display very easy to operate for the technically challanged.
Weaknesses:Need a listing of more Discreet codes. (Ie: Sony KV-40XBR800 Video Ir codes)Documentation is kinda limited. Just the way it's layed out.
Review:I believe this is the superior remote of the gods. I was able to set it up in 2 hours, and I took my time. The tsu-6000 took days and days....If you want the top of the line remote and complete streaming the remote clutter. This should be you choice.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Brandon Johnson from Long Beach, CA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 3 made on Saturday July 31, 2004 at 11:19 PM.
Strengths:Light weight. Nice array of hard buttons. Easy and FAST to program. Great IR database in the software. Software updates via the Internet. Lithium Ion battery and charging base.
Weaknesses:The color screen is not amazing, but definitely on par with every other product in its price range (e.g. Pronto Pro NG). The software could use some more design templates, but that will work itself out over time as this product gains popularity. The remotes form factor is pretty good, but could use some improvement.
Review:This remote is a dream come true for me. I am a custom installer and have used almost all of the custom remote products available including AMX & Crestron. The software for this remote is great. It is much quicker to program one of these remotes to perfection than it is a Pronto Pro NG. Universal Remote has built in a lot of great time saving features. One of the best features of this remote is the IR database that can be easily updated via the Internet. The database actually has model numbers of common A/V equipment, which is also great. This remote pretty much requires two handed operation. It feels a lot like a game controller. However, I wish that it was a bit more rounded out on the bottom so that it would be easier to grip. The color touch screen is pretty much equal to the Pronto series of remotes. Overall, I am very pleased with this product. It is nicer to operate than a Pronto and can be programmed in a small fraction of the time. Only time will tell how durable these remotes are... but if they're anything like other Universal Remote products, they should be problem free.
Quality: Features: Value:


Navigation: [ Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 1 of 2 for
the Complete Control MX-3000 remote.
[ Go to: |1|2 ]

Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse