Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Previous page Next page Up level
What's New
9/29/17 - All cloud-based operations to end within four years.
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the URC-300 "Customizer" & RF-30 from Universal Remote Control Inc.
URC-300 "Customizer" & RF-30
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 4.19/5.00
Median: 4.83/5.00
12$200 / $150
The URC-300 is a 15-device learning and preprogrammed remote control that features numerous macros, a large LCD touchscreen display with customizable button labels, favorite channel macros, 5-way menu controls and an optional RF extender.
Get it
at:
Amazon.com


Navigation: [ Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 1 of 2 for
the URC-300 "Customizer" & RF-30 remote.
[ Go to: |1|2 ]

Written by J.J. from S. Cal..
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 12 made on Wednesday December 27, 2006 at 1:21 AM.
Strengths:number of devices it can handle
learning capacity (capability is...another story)
looks, price, operation in general
it's backlighted
quite flexible renaming and reassigning procedure
Weaknesses:learning could be more reliable, it's incompatible with some original remotes (frequency limitations?!)
no computer control available, thus the lower price
with 15 possible devices to control, it could become a hassle to 'teach' program
it takes a little while to get used to its operation, LCD steps, etc.
cloning is 'all' or 'nothing', but it clones perfectly each time (even the $30 bucks Sony VL-RM900 can 'do that in so many good ways')
Review:I'm 85-90% satisfied with the URC-300. First the 'most negative': LEARNING from some other remotes, which sometimes it barely can accomplish...or, simply...can't. You might get lucky with your devices, but if you are planning on mostly 'teaching' the remote the commands, be ready to find some hurdles. For me, there is no other key negatives taking into consideration that I only pay slightly over $50 total for mine (2 actually, so around 100 bucks). I really like most of the rest: the operational system (which it took me a while to 'accept') included. It looks nice, the buttons have a responsive tactile feeling (better than the the LCD display for sure). I can now control my 13-14 components with this one remote unit, use many macros,
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by mtgriff from Texas.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 3-6 months.
Review 11 made on Sunday October 22, 2006 at 9:04 PM.
Also owned:Sony RM-AV3000 and Philips Pronto NG 3000.
Strengths:Nice one hand remote with lots of hard buttons that are easy to find and well lit.
Weaknesses:Wouldn’t learn codes easily. Died a sudden death.
Review:I gave up my gianormous Sony AV3000 for a smaller one hand remote with more hard buttons. I found the Customizer on eBay for about $100 brand new. I liked the feel of the remote and the hard buttons were easy to find. It also had a good backlight. It seemed like it had a lot of potential.

This frustrating remote drove me to drink. I had a very very hard time learning codes. I made do with the most of codes I absolutely had to have and forgot about the rest.

The remote lasted about four or five months then it died an unexpected death. I searched the forums here for help and quickly figured out that a lot of these remotes have suffered the same fate as mine and there’s nothing that can be done about it.

I now have a Philips Pronto. It’s smaller than the Sony I had but the computer programmable screen makes it possible for me to be creative and make the remote everything I want it to be. My only regret now is that I miss the form factor and the hard buttons on the Customizer but it wasn’t meant to be.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Carlos from Illinois, USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 10 made on Saturday September 17, 2005 at 2:15 AM.
Strengths:I just bought this product and within 15 minutes had it working with a satellite and TIVO system that I can access through my whole house. Setup was a breeze
Weaknesses:NONE - so far
Review:I have had other Universal products Masater 9000, Mx500 and I love the ease, technical capabilities and ergonomics, the URC 300 didn't disappoint.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Bob from PA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 9 made on Tuesday September 6, 2005 at 5:14 PM.
Strengths:Looks cool I guess.
Weaknesses:Absurd user interface.
Review:I'm sorry, but I have a masters in information science and human computer interaction and though this may tend to make me hyper critical of any user interface, I simply do not see the hype of this remote. I need a remote that can satisfy my needs to have all sorts of control and options but to also allow my wife to simply watch TV or a movie when she pleases. This unit fails on both accounts. I have a somewhat high end Rotel AV receiver and this thing simply will not control it correctly.

Take it from me, there is simply no single good universal remote out there. No mfg. can seem to balance power with ease of use. All present too many compromises. There is simply no need for peopel to have to hire an "expert" to set up a home theater id mfgs. simply did a little usability testing with their products. Logitech and Harmony offer the super ease of use end, but it fails when your equipment does not meet their programming scheme. I am simply disgusted with universal remote offerings and t
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Mark Zgonc from St. Louis, MO.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 3-6 months.
Review 8 made on Saturday July 16, 2005 at 3:14 PM.
Strengths:fairly easy to set up and program/customize
Weaknesses:cannot operate or learn to operate Motorola cable boxes including my Motorola Moxi Box DVR
Review:Basic functions of most remotes are easy to set up with pre-programmed data. Tweaking the menus and learning all the functions from your original remotes is relatively simple but fairly time consuming. Battery life is a bit short since the lcd screen is always on.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Russ Keefer from Pennsylvania, USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 7 made on Monday May 2, 2005 at 3:18 PM.
Strengths:"As Advertised". Easy to program and easy to use. Instruction booklet is very readable and understandable. Has a nice weight and feel to it.
Weaknesses:Nothing at this point
Review:I purchased the Harmony 688 a year ago. Nice remote and I wanted the ability to use it online (USB) to program. All worked very well. However, in just a few days, I was NOT using it because the keys were just to small and inconvenient.

I felt gulity (my wife helped the feeling... rightfully so....) buying another new remote. For several months I researched and read all the reviews here on Remote Central and purchased the URC-300 "Customizer". I have the following components: Sony TV; Cable Box/DVR; JVC DVD, Sony Audio Receiver and Sony Multi-CD player.

The URC-300 was really great buy. The price was right and it works exactly "as advertised" In less than 30 minutes it was fully programed. There was only one pre-programed JVC DVD code and it did not work for my DVD. However, I used "Learning Mode" (very easy to use) and now it is fully compatable with the DVD player.

I decided on the URC-300 over the URC-200 just for the flexibility of having additional functionality. I am not sure that I have really used any more than what the URC-200 offers, but as my wife said... if feels good to have the "latest and greatest" even if I do not necessarily need it.............

The reviews here on Remote Central are great and I would recommend the URC remote to anyone that wants ease of use, along with features and flexibility.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Andy Anderson from Georgia, USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 6 made on Saturday April 16, 2005 at 3:48 PM.
Strengths:Great customization ability. Really like the ability to edit labels, allowing you to organize functions in an order you are familiar with from your old remote. Great backlight that stays on as long as you want.
Weaknesses:It would be nice if the remote controlled a single device as a default without having to press a button - this would be great for volume, etc. You have to select a component (audio for my receiver in my case) before you can use the volume button
Review:This is my first good universal remote, and I like it's flexibility. It did not get all the functions of my components from the built in codes, but any missing functions can be added. Love the text editing and learning functions. Like I said in weaknesses, the only thing I would add would be a default setting for the volume and channel buttons so that you do not have to select a component (t.v., cable, etc.) before using these funtions.
Quality: Features: Value:


Navigation: [ Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 1 of 2 for
the URC-300 "Customizer" & RF-30 remote.
[ Go to: |1|2 ]

Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse