Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Previous page Next page Up level
What's New
9/29/17 - All cloud-based operations to end within four years.
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the Radio Shack 15-2117 (RF) from Radio Shack.
Radio Shack 15-2117 (RF)
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 4.74/5.00
Median: 5.00/5.00
13$49
The 15-2117 is an RF-enabled version of the 15-2116. It features control of eight devices, an LCD display for ease-of-use, full button backlighting and macros.
Find universal
remotes at:
Amazon.com


Navigation: [ Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 1 of 2 for
the Radio Shack 15-2117 (RF) remote.
[ Go to: |1|2 ]

Written by abxnightpilot from California.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-2 years.
Review 13 made on Saturday February 18, 2006 at 7:51 PM.
Strengths:Good price, Good look, Easy to program, JP1 compatiable.
Weaknesses:Very limited memory for macros. I can't use this remote for my Home entertainment center. The only use I have for it is to program my other remotes with it.
Review:Good price, Good look, Easy to program, JP1 compatible. BUT it has almost no memory for Macros. Since my wife can't figure out how to press the input button on the TV or the AV. receiver I need macros. I do not recommend this remote for anyone who has a home theater because of this. It is a JP1 remote so I can download discrete codes. This feature also lets you control devices that are not in the Radio Shack manual
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by nasdaq from Sunny California.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 12 made on Wednesday August 25, 2004 at 5:25 PM.
Strengths:Price of $14.99 on clearance @ RS
Programable to control almost everything I have audio, video wise.
LCD screen on the remote telling you what is being used and accessed when using it
Weaknesses:none so far, but it's just been a week or so of useage.
Review:Got this at Radio Shack for $14.99 on clearance and it's been wonderful knowing that will control almost everything I have that has a remote. I like the screen on the remote that gives the time and the functions being used.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Mark from CT.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 6-12 months.
Review 11 made on Wednesday August 25, 2004 at 3:04 PM.
Strengths:Good RF range. Lots of buttons. Great programmability.
Weaknesses:Noisy RF interferes with other remotes.
Review:I bought this remote to allow me to control my HDVR2 (DTV/Tivo). The Tivo feeds my living room TV and one in the basement. I use the RF remote in the basement, and the standard Tivo remote in the living room. It does a great job of controlling the Tivo from the basement. However, the RF receiver seems to pick up alot of noise which results in alot of false IR pulses being generated (you can actually see the IR LED blinking for no good reason). This in turn makes the living room remote practically unusable, since these intermittant IR pulses confuse the Tivo.

To combat this, I use the included IR extension, and cover up the IR LED when I'm using the upstairs TV, then uncover it when using the basement one. Somewhat inconvenient but it solves the problem.

Overall, it's a nice remote but be aware of the potential interference problem if you have several remotes controlling the same device.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Mark Morgan from Douglasville, GA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 10 made on Wednesday August 11, 2004 at 1:50 PM.
Strengths:Controls Everything! More than enough buttons to replace most remotes. Much brighter backlight than my old 15-1995 (Which this is an update of). Learning (again unlike the 15-1995). JP1, of course.
Weaknesses:I don't think I'm the only one who has noticed the smell... Smells like a chimney.
Review:Just bought the last two of these from my local Radio Shack stores. $15 on clearance! It's a big remote, but with the number of buttons it has to be. Too many of the newer remotes have TINY buttons that big fingers like mine have a hard time with. The clock on the LCD is handy. Now I don't miss the fact that my ReplayTV unit doesn't have a clock like my VCR used to.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Renard from Antioch, CA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 9 made on Sunday August 8, 2004 at 1:42 AM.
Strengths:Nice feel, looks like it will be able to do everything, if I can get it to control my JVC receiver. JP1 programmability. PRICE!!! 14.99 at Radio Shack now, if you can find it. There are 5 at my local store.
Weaknesses:No code for my JVC HT receiver? Won't change CD's on my Kenwood multi-disk CD player, though it is over 10 years old.
Review:Great remote especially for the price $15 dollars, but it has been discontinued as other said so get it now. Nice look and feel, lots of functionality, even controls my Dishnetwork PVR and all its funtionality.
Only problem is at this point there is no code for my JVC HT receiver, which my Dishnetwork PVR does, so I know it whould be possible.

The RF is a nice option, though I haven't used it yet.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Matthew Jennings from Houston, TX.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 8 made on Friday July 2, 2004 at 11:28 AM.
Strengths:Sounds like this thing will do all that I need. I've wired everything I can in my house and this will finally allow me to change music through my TIVO from the patio while having a cool one!
Weaknesses:It has been discontinued like several other very useful products from Radio Shack.
Review:RADIO SHACK (at least the ones that still have a few of these remotes) have them on clearnace now for $24.97. Awesome deal...the remote without the RF kit is right beside it for $32????Hummmm
Love the look and feel of it. Great technology and perfect for the wife too! My coffee table will like it too as it is completely covered up with remotes...
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Harry from N.C..
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 7 made on Sunday June 13, 2004 at 2:13 PM.
Strengths:Great reange Even without RF extender
Macro's, Learning, Great feel and solid too! Rubberized exterior. Works with TIVO right out of the box with supplied code. Great value!!!
Weaknesses:None found yet
Review:You might still be able to get one of these babys at Radio Shack, but go quick as they are discoutinued. I had to have them search the whole surrounding area to find me 2 at 24.99 each!! (was $50)
Quality: Features: Value:


Navigation: [ Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 1 of 2 for
the Radio Shack 15-2117 (RF) remote.
[ Go to: |1|2 ]

Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse