Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Previous page Next page Up level
What's New
10/17/19 - Two DACs, a delay module and extender kit highlight new offerings.
9/13/19 - Features push-to-talk voice control of Amazon Alexa and Apple TV via Siri.
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the Radio Shack 15-2117 (RF) from Radio Shack.
Radio Shack 15-2117 (RF)
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 4.74/5.00
Median: 5.00/5.00
14$49
The 15-2117 is an RF-enabled version of the 15-2116. It features control of eight devices, an LCD display for ease-of-use, full button backlighting and macros.
Find universal
remotes at:
Amazon.com


Navigation: [ Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 1 of 2 for
the Radio Shack 15-2117 (RF) remote.
[ Go to: |1|2 ]

Written by streetskater from NYc.
The reviewer has used this remote control for more than two years.
Review 14 made on Saturday January 5, 2019 at 8:21 AM.
Also owned:Oh a virtual museum of Rat-Shack Universals and Other URC'a and of course hundred more that came wth various devices.
Strengths:I love my Radio-Shack 15-2117's. All 20 of them. most are cryogenically stashed in cool, dry, quiet places so they will be like when one wears out.

I'm very used to the general shape and layout, as I started being an active member on JP1 when the 15-1994 was their workhorse.

Biggest single strength is these guys come with 6 pin connector near the batteries---and we figured out how use those pins to interface these remotes with Computers--First Centronics Parallel ports and old fashioned serial ports. Now we have USB interfaces. Hooked up to a computer, virtually every single bit is able to be mapped to do whatever the programmer is able to conceive. That they are Programmable and can learn are their biggest assets. Their great layout, in my opinion, IMO is another Huge plus.

It took a GLOBAL village to suss all the different Protocols--Like Sony's 4 combo protcol for one device and the different IR patterns and and signal types, but as global village we did JUST that.

I would NEVER trade a well laid out button remote for a touch screen. I don't need light to work my remote. We have a very touchy feelly relationship. I know every bottom and it's function by feel alone. I once programmed my Palm Pilot to be an extensive touch screen remote. It never won me over---it remains a useful device for programming these remotes. I not aware that anyone anywhere, has turned a "smart"phone into a useful device to program UCR's.
Weaknesses:The back-light template has never been very robust on the Rat-shacks. Across many models from the 15-1995 and earlier they are interchangeable. One they lose their ability to carry current, I'v found no way to revive them.

Yeah, as has been mentioned the scan button isn't well conceived. and we needed some thoughtful extenders to augment the macro capabilities--but are minor issues. When there we hundreds of us actively contributing our various skill sets, focused on JP1--almost NOTHING we, collectively couldn't conjure up.
Review:It's 2019 and as a one time active member of JP1, I've been programming every last bit of these remotes for years. My 15-2117 still controls EVERYTHING for me--Home Theater (2 of them) lights, appliances, PC Media apps, Camcorder, HDMI switches, AC, All my Streaming devices of which ROKU is a MINOR player

I may finally be hitting the upper limit--i have no more bits left to program. YES it has GREAT IR strength and great RF--that can go through cement walls. I've programmed functionality to be the across devises. them to have as close as possible to the same functionality across all devices. I can run things in total darkness.

Sometimes I have remote in hand and my significant other gives me a wary look and says, "DON'T EVEN THINK ABOUT IT" Truth is, about all I'd want would be a mute switch :-)

As mentioned above it's the fact that we figured out how to program these things on PC's that is their main strength---and THAT is HUGE Their ability to learn codes from other remotes is very handy too-although we have workaround for remotes that cant learn.

I forget what I originally paid for my first 15- 2117. I didn't buy it until it was discontinued-Maybe $25 at clearance prices. I used to scope out every Radio Shacks in 5 NYC Boroughs. At the very end those store managers had no use for them--they'd dig one out of back storage and just give it to me.

When the Shack truly ran out they became kind of dear on Ebay---then out of the blue, they came up, sitil in original packaging for as little as 15 20 bucks again--free shipping.

Then on Ebay they got very dear for awhile---but then out-of-the-blue, they began to come up frequently, still in original packaging going for 10 and 12 bucks again---free shipping too. I bought 'em wholesale. I have 20 of them in what I consider pristine condition. Maybe they'll last my life! :-)

'Course I have a virtual remote museum of all different Radio Shack all-in-ones, and other URC and all the remotes that came with stuff and got replaced. The Ball and Chains says, "I thought the whole purpose of a Universal Remote you could program was to get RID off so many of these things. Yeah--you have ONE that you use--but that entire dresser over they if full, every damn drawer of remotes.! It's true. I've been in Enterprise IT my whole life. I have an affinity with things electronic and mechanical.

All my family and friends have been coming to me for years to setup their various "smart"phones. I don't even like those things but I know how they work. I'd say--WHY Did you feel compelled to get an iPhone XS-- You never really figured out how fully use your iPhone 4s. And they give me, their OLD phones, their 6's & 8pluses and HTC One 9's and Galaxies--even their iPads. I have a museum of those too. They can also control just about everything. I prefer my 15-2117 over the most Rooted and hacked Android I've ever cobbled together.

Truly I like my 2117 so well that I find hard to nit-pick about hypothetical cons. Some people find things NOT to like about them. They prefer their Harmonies--to each his own.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by abxnightpilot from California.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-2 years.
Review 13 made on Saturday February 18, 2006 at 7:51 PM.
Strengths:Good price, Good look, Easy to program, JP1 compatiable.
Weaknesses:Very limited memory for macros. I can't use this remote for my Home entertainment center. The only use I have for it is to program my other remotes with it.
Review:Good price, Good look, Easy to program, JP1 compatible. BUT it has almost no memory for Macros. Since my wife can't figure out how to press the input button on the TV or the AV. receiver I need macros. I do not recommend this remote for anyone who has a home theater because of this. It is a JP1 remote so I can download discrete codes. This feature also lets you control devices that are not in the Radio Shack manual
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by nasdaq from Sunny California.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 12 made on Wednesday August 25, 2004 at 5:25 PM.
Strengths:Price of $14.99 on clearance @ RS
Programable to control almost everything I have audio, video wise.
LCD screen on the remote telling you what is being used and accessed when using it
Weaknesses:none so far, but it's just been a week or so of useage.
Review:Got this at Radio Shack for $14.99 on clearance and it's been wonderful knowing that will control almost everything I have that has a remote. I like the screen on the remote that gives the time and the functions being used.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Mark from CT.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 6-12 months.
Review 11 made on Wednesday August 25, 2004 at 3:04 PM.
Strengths:Good RF range. Lots of buttons. Great programmability.
Weaknesses:Noisy RF interferes with other remotes.
Review:I bought this remote to allow me to control my HDVR2 (DTV/Tivo). The Tivo feeds my living room TV and one in the basement. I use the RF remote in the basement, and the standard Tivo remote in the living room. It does a great job of controlling the Tivo from the basement. However, the RF receiver seems to pick up alot of noise which results in alot of false IR pulses being generated (you can actually see the IR LED blinking for no good reason). This in turn makes the living room remote practically unusable, since these intermittant IR pulses confuse the Tivo.

To combat this, I use the included IR extension, and cover up the IR LED when I'm using the upstairs TV, then uncover it when using the basement one. Somewhat inconvenient but it solves the problem.

Overall, it's a nice remote but be aware of the potential interference problem if you have several remotes controlling the same device.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Mark Morgan from Douglasville, GA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 10 made on Wednesday August 11, 2004 at 1:50 PM.
Strengths:Controls Everything! More than enough buttons to replace most remotes. Much brighter backlight than my old 15-1995 (Which this is an update of). Learning (again unlike the 15-1995). JP1, of course.
Weaknesses:I don't think I'm the only one who has noticed the smell... Smells like a chimney.
Review:Just bought the last two of these from my local Radio Shack stores. $15 on clearance! It's a big remote, but with the number of buttons it has to be. Too many of the newer remotes have TINY buttons that big fingers like mine have a hard time with. The clock on the LCD is handy. Now I don't miss the fact that my ReplayTV unit doesn't have a clock like my VCR used to.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Renard from Antioch, CA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 9 made on Sunday August 8, 2004 at 1:42 AM.
Strengths:Nice feel, looks like it will be able to do everything, if I can get it to control my JVC receiver. JP1 programmability. PRICE!!! 14.99 at Radio Shack now, if you can find it. There are 5 at my local store.
Weaknesses:No code for my JVC HT receiver? Won't change CD's on my Kenwood multi-disk CD player, though it is over 10 years old.
Review:Great remote especially for the price $15 dollars, but it has been discontinued as other said so get it now. Nice look and feel, lots of functionality, even controls my Dishnetwork PVR and all its funtionality.
Only problem is at this point there is no code for my JVC HT receiver, which my Dishnetwork PVR does, so I know it whould be possible.

The RF is a nice option, though I haven't used it yet.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Matthew Jennings from Houston, TX.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 8 made on Friday July 2, 2004 at 11:28 AM.
Strengths:Sounds like this thing will do all that I need. I've wired everything I can in my house and this will finally allow me to change music through my TIVO from the patio while having a cool one!
Weaknesses:It has been discontinued like several other very useful products from Radio Shack.
Review:RADIO SHACK (at least the ones that still have a few of these remotes) have them on clearnace now for $24.97. Awesome deal...the remote without the RF kit is right beside it for $32????Hummmm
Love the look and feel of it. Great technology and perfect for the wife too! My coffee table will like it too as it is completely covered up with remotes...
Quality: Features: Value:


Navigation: [ Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 1 of 2 for
the Radio Shack 15-2117 (RF) remote.
[ Go to: |1|2 ]

Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse