Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Previous page Next page Up level
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the Radio Shack 15-2117 (RF) from Radio Shack.
Radio Shack 15-2117 (RF)
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 4.74/5.00
Median: 5.00/5.00
13$49
The 15-2117 is an RF-enabled version of the 15-2116. It features control of eight devices, an LCD display for ease-of-use, full button backlighting and macros.
Find universal
remotes at:
Amazon.com


Navigation: [ < Previous ]
Now viewing user reviews page 2 of 2 for
the Radio Shack 15-2117 (RF) remote.
[ Go to: |1|2 ]

Written by Joe Schwed from Wharton, NJ.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 6 made on Sunday May 23, 2004 at 11:03 AM.
Strengths:It works very well and it meets my needs!
Weaknesses:None that I have encountered!
Review:I almost could not get it since it has been discontinued! Radio Shack still has a few left at various stores! I was able to get mine for $29.99.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by steve from Arizona.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 6-12 months.
Review 5 made on Thursday March 4, 2004 at 3:39 PM.
Strengths:Programability, full feature, RF
Weaknesses:Macro memory too small
Review:I just love this thing and to all who can't find codes, or the like, check out http://www.hifi-remote.com/jp1/ to supercharge it.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by MickeyD from Mississippi, USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-2 years.
Review 4 made on Saturday December 27, 2003 at 12:21 AM.
Strengths:Looks great, feels great, works great... it's SUPER GREAT!
Weaknesses:Had trouble getting it to work with Sony Reciever but it was fixed with instructions from this site!
Review:I got to go but I just had to tell everyone that I would've previously given this remote a 3.5 on a 5 scale or something but now since i have it working my reciever! ITS FABULOS! woo! everything is great about this remote you WONT be disappointed! .... in the long run :P
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by NZR from Portland, OR.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 3 made on Thursday December 11, 2003 at 10:14 PM.
Strengths:Nice rubberized feel, good RF
Weaknesses:Big, bad macro key design
Review:I was looking for an RF remote that could control my stereo components inside a closed cabinet. The manual says to position the remote pod 12 feet in front of the components with a direct line of sight, but I stuck it inside the cabinet to the side of the components at 90 degrees, and it works perfectly.
It doesn't have the codes for my Onkyo receiver, so I programmed those with IR learning just fine.
There are three problems I discovered, one minor, the other two more annoying. First, the remote supposedly has the ability to "lock in" the controls of one component into other modes, so I tried to lock in the receiver volume controls. Well, apparently it locks in the preprogrammed IR codes, NOT the volume controls I memorized. Not such a big deal, just memorize the same receiver volume controls in all modes.
The second problem is that creating a macro button effectively makes that button useless for anything else. If I want to use each button for their preprogrammed purpose, I can't have a macro.
The third problem is that you can't IR learn the power button. That means I get to use the power button to turn on all my components, except for my receiver, which I now turn on with the "play" button.
But it does everything I need it to, and is slightly more convenient than the learning remote that came with my receiver, so I can't complain too much. This remote is now available for $30, (RS PN 150-2117 online), which makes it a great value.
BTW, the reviewer above was interested in TIVO -- there's a special TIVO code, see
http://www.spring.net/tv/remote/
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Shaun Bohannon from Macon, GA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 2 made on Thursday September 11, 2003 at 7:55 PM.
Strengths:Feels great, looks great, great backlighting, operates everything I have (and learned everything it didn't have codes for). RF!
Weaknesses:Some other remotes may look a bit "cooler"...but well, I like this one's looks too.
Review:I was in the market for 2 things:

1. A universal remote for my system (DVD, TV, Receiver, CD player).

2. A way to control my system from my Zone 2 location (at my PC).

A good learnining remote would have ran me at least $30-40, and then another $30+ for an RF transmitting system for Zone 2 functionality...no need with this beauty. All in one.

I had the whole thing setup with codes and a tiny bit of learning (one or two receiver function and my CD player didn't have a code).

I even set it up to control the receiver volume on every device so I don't have to swtich back and forth for volume control.

All in all, I feel it has all (or more) of the features of remotes twice its price. Possibly the best value out there.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by G. S. Bravo from Virginia Beach, VA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 1 made on Saturday September 6, 2003 at 11:18 AM.
Strengths:Learning capability (See below), Macros, Strong backlighting, Ease of use, Programable (See below), RF capability
Weaknesses:Limited memory, Large size
Review: I decided to buy a "universal remote" after my DVD player went on the fritz and was replaced with a different brand than previous. I have a Tivo in my setup, control of it is a must, and I wanted hard buttons for the Tivo controls.
After looking at several models, I decided to purchase the Radio Shack 15-2117RF. It had the button layout I was looking for, and was reasonably priced (US$50). Most important, it was a learning remote. Also while researching remotes, I learned that it has JP1 capabilities (more on this below).
The 15-2117 is a rather large 8 device universal remote, with RF. The size could be a weakness if you have smallish hands, however, I do not have a problem operating it one handed. The remote has a black rubberized surface, which makes it comfortable to hold, despite the size. Also, it feels cool to the touch, it doesnít make your hand sweaty, like some hard plastic remotes do.
The backlighting is way cool, as the whole remote lights up. Not some of the buttons, but each button on the surface is lite in a blue glow. This of course makes finding things much easier in the dark.
After getting it home, I had it up and running in less than 10 minutes. It controlled everything (TV, VCR, DVD, Stereo)- except the Tivo. No problem, this remote learns.
That brings up the only other weak point, the memory is limited. I had taught it all but two or three of the things I really needed when I got hit with "MEM FULL". Ok fine, I thought, tomorrow we'll see what this JP1 stuff does.
JP1, for anyone who doesn't know, is a computer program that certain remotes can use. It allows you to program your remote on the computer, than upload it to the remote. It is (IMO) an easy-to-use program that certainly makes programming easier. It does, however, require that you make (or purchase) a JP1 cable and download some free files from the JP1 group, after joining the group (again for free).
There are a ton of files for different devices at the JP1 group, I went there, found a file for my Tivo, and basically uploaded it to the remote. Memory usage went from full to almost nothing. Which is great, because those few commands it didn't learn from the other remotes can now be learned.
You can also set up macros on the computer, which again is easier than using the remote. I wasn't too worried about using macros, but now that I can turn everything on with one button- I can't tell you how cool that is.
I haven't really used the RF base station yet, but I did confirm that it works. I can upstairs and control the stereo- with no line of sight to either the RF station or the equipment. Big deal some might say, well, when youíre in the kitchen and you really want to crank a song- it beats running halfway across the house.
I found that overall, the 2117 is very easy-to-use right out of the box, and with the JP1 capabilities, as long as I donít exceed eight components this is the last remote I ever need to buy. As it is right now, I have spent less than $75.00 and have a remote that is completely customized for my system. That, my friends, is a hard deal to beat.
Quality: Features: Value:


Navigation: [ < Previous ]
Now viewing user reviews page 2 of 2 for
the Radio Shack 15-2117 (RF) remote.
[ Go to: |1|2 ]

Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse