Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Previous page Next page Up level
What's New
9/29/17 - All cloud-based operations to end within four years.
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the UCommand 616 from Crisp Solutions.
UCommand 616
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 4.13/5.00
Median: 4.50/5.00
10$199
The UCommand 616 learning remote features control of 10 devices, an LCD touchscreen with custom button size, placement and labels, as well as macros and timers. An optional docking station allows you to hook the remote up to a PC.
Find universal
remotes at:
Amazon.com


Navigation: [ Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 1 of 2 for
the UCommand 616 remote.
[ Go to: |1|2 ]

Written by Håvard Wangensteen from Norway.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 10 made on Friday January 23, 2004 at 4:38 PM.
Strengths:Very Programable...
No preprogrammed codes, needs to learn everything.
Easy to customize buttons.
Weaknesses:Very short battery life... (Better with the backlight off)
No charger available in Europe.
Not working through my Philps Wireless AV receiver.
Very hard to get the remotecomm software to work.
Review:I own a Sun-Wave SRC-2010.
I got this from my wife this christmas. She is always nagging about all the remotes on our table, so she thought this was a nice present.

Anyway the remote is working great, the only problems I have had is linked to the pc-cable and the lack of documentation with the remotecomm software.
I'm an IT engineer so I know my way around computers...

I tried all different port settings on my com1 port but nothing helped. Then I discovered that if the speed setting was 9600 and both the remote and the cable was totally untouched during syncronization it worked.... (Some times..)

BR Håvard W.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Joe West from UK.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 9 made on Thursday February 13, 2003 at 5:04 PM.
Strengths:Looks
Price
Flexibility
Weaknesses:Options for the UK (no docking station)
Problems with satellite positioner
Software (Menus and buttons OK, codes no!)
Upload/download times
Review:I live in the UK and I have the Sun-wave src-2010 which is the same as the UC626.

I was looking to replace 7 remotes with a programmable one that had to have a PC link if only for backing up.

Let me say this remote is great and I agree with all the other reviews, so I am only going to focus on the negatives.

I have an IRTE OmniSat positioner and I know this is a pig because I have a 1 for all and it did not even get close on learning from the original remote.

This baby did manage it with one quirk. I can't press the same key twice in a row. This is not a major problem, just anoying.

I would liked to have the [MENU] button closer to the LCD so you don't have to move the remote up and down in your hand.

And although I have only had the remote for 2 days I love it.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Alberto Campanini from Italy.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 3-6 months.
Review 8 made on Sunday April 7, 2002 at 3:55 PM.
Strengths:Nice design.
Very easy to program menu with PC
Very good lcd and touch screen
Weaknesses:Battery life is very short, Slow response from push button to send command by IR, low angle/range of infrared beam
Review:If you don't use PC to reprogram the icon MENU is long and difficult.In case of PC programming is very easy and intuitive.
It's also easy to assign (learn) the IR comand to button, in a few minute you are able to use Ucommand 616
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Geoffrey from Maryland.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 7 made on Tuesday January 15, 2002 at 12:05 PM.
Strengths:Resizable button with custom labels.
Weaknesses:Weak IR transmitter.
Review:I purchased the PROTON SRC-2000 which is the same as the UC616. I spent about 90 minutes setting up the lcd, learning my remotes and creating the macros. Unfortunately, in my environment I use infrared repeaters because the rack of equipment is behind the couch. The repeaters let me point the remote toward the TV, and they send the signal behind the couch for me.

Unfortunately, although the remote operated the equipment directly without too much difficulty, it only worked about 20% of the time through the repeaters, even though all the original remotes work through the repeaters perfectly.

I have also found that I don't really like the LCD-only system for the majority of the buttons.

I have sent it back and ordered the MX-500.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Lambert from New Jersey.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 6 made on Friday December 7, 2001 at 8:27 PM.
Strengths:Looks.
Customization.
Learning ability.
Ergonomics.
Weaknesses:Atrocious rechargable battery life!

Must have original remotes for devices you want to program.

Software becomes useless once your satisfied with your LCD layout.
Review:The remote is also known as the Proton SRC-2000. Just an FYI since I found usefull FAQs and free download of the software at the Crisp Solutions web site instead of the proton-usa web site.

Anyway, this was the best $100 bucks I've spent in a while. Luckily for me, I saved all of my original remotes for my devices.
I was able to program my TV, Sony STR-845 receiver, DVD player, CD player and VCR easily. The learing ability of this remote is pretty sweet.

The only problem it had was learning how to choose the soundfields for the receiver. Luckily the FAQ on the crispsolution web site answered my problem for me.

The feel of the remote is great. Not too many hard buttons, but just enough to satisfy a channel surfer like myself.
using the LCD is a breeze once configured to your liking.

Modifying the LCD layout was easy with the software(Note: Its a pain without it.)
But once I was satisfied with the layout the software became useless. I'd suggest downloading it for free since companies are still selling it.

Creating macros is a snap. The only issue I have is you cannot program a command within the macro to switch input to a device.

Overall, this remote, surprisingly, put to pasture every other device/universal remote I had. The only unsatisfactory thing about it is the battery life of the rechargables included.
They last, at most, 2 days!!.
Totally unacceptable, but I see it as just an offset for this otherwise impressive, "lives up to its billing", peice of hardware.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by John C. Cook from Ohio,USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 5 made on Wednesday October 3, 2001 at 1:09 AM.
Strengths:Ease of Programming.
Good display, Stylish looks.
Good one hand operation.
WIFE FRIENDLY!!!
Weaknesses:Battery Life is very short even with rechargables... about a day and a half.
No independent button for backlight(I just left the hard power button unprogrammed).
Timers will only program one device button.
Review:I did alot of research before purchasing this remote. I had Seven remotes that were cluttering up the livingroom, and these had to be sifted through each time we wanted to watch the DVD, VCR, TV etc(and that drove my wife batty). I was desperate to find ONE remote that would do it all!
Well I did - the 616 alowed me to pack all the other remotes up and put them in the closet.
First the criteria used in making this selection:
Learning Capability
Ease of Programming
Ease of use
Low cost
Looks (ya' know techno geek stuff)
'wife friendliness'
(Not necessarily in that order)

This remote is absolutely a joy to setup program - I had all seven device screens created and learned (along with six macros) in about two hours. Most of the time was spent deciding how to lay-out the menus.
There is no punch through feature so you will have to learn each button for each device. But this remote is so easy to program it did not even bother me.

NOTE: This remote does not come with any preset codes - you MUST learn everything into it. So if you don't have the original remote you are out of luck. Fortunately for me this was not a problem.

It is very stylish, maybe just a tad long, but it is not unwieldy. The backlight is bright and the buttons and text are highly readable. The hard buttons are nicely plaaced and are comfortably operated in conjunction with the touch screen.

The most important feature of all is that my wife loves it - the only problem, is now I can't get it away from her.

Later,
John
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Brendan Mc cormack from Dublin, Ireland..
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 4 made on Monday July 9, 2001 at 2:04 PM.
Strengths:Looks good
Soft and hard keys close together
Clear screen
Very easy to program
Nice and solid
Weaknesses:Not many to a first time learning remote user
Review:I bought this remote in Dublin,Ireland but its called a SCR-2000. The only thing different is the name. As I live in Ireland no one knows what a learning remote is. Most hifi stores didn't know either. So you could imagin that my choice was limited. I read the reviews on this site before I bought it and the seemed quite good but most of all the price was right at 125 irish pounds(132USD).
I think this remote is great it does everything I needed it to do and more. I have read about its limitations but I don't care some people are comparing it to more expensive units. It was very easy to program, infact I only had to look at the manual once or twice. You can reach all the buttons without sliding the thing up and down your hand. It feels like a normal remote and with the programable hard keys you dont have to look down when navigating through a dvd menu or just flicking through tv channels.
It doesent have a dedicated light button but I just didn't program anything into the hard button marked off and it brings on the light without changing any of your equiptment
To finish this is a great little remote for those of you that don't mine the fact that it doesent make coffee and do the laundry.
Quality: Features: Value:


Navigation: [ Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 1 of 2 for
the UCommand 616 remote.
[ Go to: |1|2 ]

Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse