Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Up level
What's New
9/29/17 - All cloud-based operations to end within four years.
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the Proton iRemote iR800 from Proton Communications.
Proton iRemote iR800
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 3.67/5.00
Median: 3.50/5.00
6$159
Proton's iRemote is capable of controlling up to 16 devices, with 46 LCD touchscreen or hard button commands for each. The iR800 also features full backlighting, infrared learning, macros, timers and easy programming.
Find universal
remotes at:
Amazon.com


Written by Jim from Australia.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 3-6 months.
Review 6 made on Wednesday May 11, 2005 at 9:36 PM.
Strengths:Looks, build, macros, learning ability, ease of use, multiple devices
Weaknesses:No repeat codes, can't label button, LCD, dual use buttons
Review:I picked up this remote a few months ago and it's been great overall. Had it all set up in about 15 minutes. It's very easy to use as all the buttons are easy to get and labelled well. There are a few issues with it though. The main one I have is the ability to repeat the code if the button is held down. For example. if you want to increase the volume you have to keep pressing the button until you reach the desired volume. You can't just hold the button down like a normal remote. Also, the LCD buttons can't be labelled. You need to select ones that match the command you want to assign (which is not always there). One last issue is there need to have a seperate volume up/down and channel up/down button. Currently it's a dual use button. The volume up is also the Stop button for the VCR. So if you want to increase the volume you need to press the TV button, then volume up, then back to VCR.
These are not major issues though and I do enjoy this remote. It's a million times better than having 7 remotes.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Jay from Portland, ME.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 5 made on Wednesday June 23, 2004 at 2:30 PM.
Strengths:Easy to navigate, built well, handy-dandy stand.
Weaknesses:Flakey, LCD hard to read, buttons cannot be custom-labeled.
Review:Bought this as a successor to the UCommand626 and wish that the Ucommand was still available. For what we do we need to be able to label the buttons anything we want and this remote simply doesn't do it. It is also a bit flakey with coding, it seems to actually forget codes (Volume Up works today, not tomorrow, relearn it, it's fine.) Overall not bad, but a step backwards IMO and with the competition out there this could spell trouble for Proton.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Berndt from Hamburg, Germany.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 4 made on Tuesday June 1, 2004 at 4:00 PM.
Strengths:Combination of hard keys and touch screen,
size and form factor
Weaknesses:LCD backlight
Review:I had been looking for a remote with hard keys and touch screen for a while as a replacement for my Maranz RC2000MkII, which did not learn the codes for my Cyrus AV system properly.

Compared to the Maranz, the iR800 is much more comfortable to use. The batteries, and thus the main part of the gadget's weight, are in the bottom of the iR800, whereas they are beneath the LCD, i.e. at the top, in the Maranz. This has always been a nuisance and I am very happy with the way the iR800 feels. This also applies to the general feel of the keys.

I like the way the iR800 handles up to 16 devices through the five special keys beneath the LCD touch pad. You can simply toggle your way through them by repeatedly pressing those keys.

I would have liked a little more flexibility concerning the labels the touch keys can show. They each have three to four pre-set labels, and you have the option to show no label at all ... just a square to show the key is programmed. The Marantz allows flexible label naming of its eight hard keys adjacent to the LCD (not touch screen).

Overall, I am very happy with my purchase, made from www.cdiscount.com in France. They sell it as Peekton iR800, but it is the Proton iR800 in original packing with English manual (additional french quick start instructions).
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by RS from New Jersey, USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 3 made on Thursday April 15, 2004 at 9:02 AM.
Strengths:Size, hard buttons
Weaknesses:back lighting, auto codes
Review:Got my ir800 in the mail yesterday. Seemed pretty easy to program, except that the "scan" for pre populated codes didn't work so well. Had to keep a close eye on the remote to see which code it was using, and still many times enter the code manually. Also, the backlight is hard to see in poor lighting, or unless you angle to remote away from you. Overall, I think this is a good remote for the price, and I look forward to spending many years with it. I recommend buying the USB cable in addition, as it seems to make programming easier. Hopefully, this will be the last remote I ever own!
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Rick from Orlando, Fl.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 2 made on Friday March 26, 2004 at 11:45 AM.
Strengths:Timer, Macro, price, looks, features.
Weaknesses:I can't find it anywhere. I came across the site in Australia or something, but that doesn't help me.
Review:I'd love to be able to see this remote or read more about it and maybe purchase it. However, as noted above, it's mostly non-existant. I've contacted the owners of RemoteCentral about reviewing a remote that isn't available and where I can see or get it but received no response :(
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by F. Sanchez from Texas, Dallas/Ft Worth.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 1 made on Saturday January 31, 2004 at 10:36 AM.
Strengths:Reviews look great. Right size and price.
Weaknesses:Can't find where to purchase one. Internet search isn't helpful. Does Proton really manufacture this dream remote?
Review:Would like to find local retailer for this product.
Quality: Features: Value:


Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse