Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Up level
What's New
9/29/17 - All cloud-based operations to end within four years.
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the One For All URC-8811 (Cinema 8) from One For All.
One For All URC-8811 (Cinema 8)
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 4.38/5.00
Median: 4.67/5.00
7$29
This all-hard buttoned remote can operate up to 8 devices. It features a backlit keypad, learning capabilities, "Theater" mode, 10 favorite channels and macro functions.
Find universal
remotes at:
Amazon.com


Written by randy J. from layton, ut.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 7 made on Wednesday March 31, 2004 at 12:40 AM.
Strengths:low price
Weaknesses:unable to program even 1 entire remote through learning process when not found in database
Review:Thought I'd give this a try from the glowing reviews. Paid $19.00 @ walmart, looking for a great value, unfortunately I have a lot of components not in the data base and therefore would have to enter manually using the other remotes. I found the memory so limited I couldn't even get 1 other remote entered before the learning memory was full. My onkyo remote that came with the reciever had no problem in that regard, finally tried a phillips/magnavox pmdvr8 from circuit city @ $29.00. It took all my remotes that were not in the database (3 in all) plus the other 5 that were in the database with extra tweaking no problem. If you have hi-def tuners or other newer or high end components that aren't going to be found in the database, you're going to need extra memory to get everything manually entered and the one for all isn't going to get the job done from my experience. Otherwise if you just need the more basic stuff this should be ok.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Glen T. from Vancouver, BC.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 6 made on Sunday October 26, 2003 at 7:21 PM.
Strengths:- macros, learning ability, 8 devices, PC programming at a great price
- dedicated hard buttons for satellite guide and other functions
- lots of extra buttons
Weaknesses:- tedius to program without using the JP1 interface
- sometimes gets lost when programming and has to be reset
Review:I bought the 8811 after returning the Harmony SST-768, which I found to be a disappointment for the price. I learned that the 8811 has a diagnostic/upgrade interface behind the battery door that resourceful users have hacked. Programming tools for this interface are available on the web at no charge, thanks to a community of JP1 users.

JP1-equipped remotes include all the high-end One-for-All remotes (with learning ability) and some Radio Shack models (with learning ability).

The remote worked with my Toshiba TV, ExpressVu satellite, and Sony VCR out of the box - no surprises. My Sony DAV S500 did not work - and this was not a surprise. All of the 'universal' remotes that came with my other systems had failed to have codes for the Sony DVD/Surround sound combo. That's why I chose the 8811 - for its learning ability.

I built a JP1 programming cable for about $5, following the directions found at hifi-remote.com. Armed with the configuration spreadsheet, IR.exe programming interface, and several text file configurations for the DAV S500, I soon had support for my DVD/surround.

Then, I began to experiment with tuning the functions and implementing macros. I set up the main power button to start up three devices for the most popular activity - watching satellite TV with the surround sound on. Then I added custom functions such as sound field control for the DAV S500. I set up punch through functions, so that the volume control runs the surround sound, while the channel changer runs the satellite in Theatre Mode.

The JP1 programming interface software is reasonably easy to learn. One of the best parts is that you can export your current configuration to a text file. This means you can load and export configurations easily, saving working sets while you experiment. You can also load other people's device files to add support for devices that the remote does not include by default. There is a master spreadsheet that translate device codes to the specific JP1 remote that you are using. Then you just cut and paste the code and program it with the IR program.

An unexpected bonus of using the JP1 interface, is that programming macros and learned functions takes up less memory than doing it key by key on the remote. You can cram much more functionality into the remote using the JP1.

I had to resort to learning a couple of keys from the Sony DAV S500, and this proved to be a bit of a chore. In the process, I corrupted the learning e-prom a couple of times, and the remote would no longer learn or reset. However, it was easy enough to remove the batteries and ground the terminals for a few seconds, then reprogram the 8811 fromt the save configuration file (a 1 minute job).

In my case, the JP1 interface makes all the difference. I wouldn't want to be faced with learning all the functions of the DAV S500 key by key. But with the ability to program from a PC, this remote turns into a super bargain (C$40).

This is not a perfect remote, by any means. However, it has enough hard keys that the wife and kids can pick up the main functions easily (such as satellite guide navigation). It is so inexpensive, that I won't lose any sleep if the kids drop it on the floor once too often. And if I have to buy a new one, it will only take about 1 minute to restore all my configuration via the JP1 interface. You can't beat that!
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Ryan from Ohio, USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 5 made on Saturday October 18, 2003 at 12:35 PM.
Strengths:Massive amount of codes and learning ability, Price, $19.87 at Wal-Mart, Macros, Back-lit
Weaknesses:On the large side, Some buttons too small,No LCD or Touch, but what do you want for under $20!
Review:Let me preface this by saying, this is my first REAL venture into REAL home theater. I've had DVD, VCR, Digital cable, for several years, Also have an Aiwa shelf system with 5.1 surround, which has not been used for several years due to the wife not wanting surrounds hanging on the living room wall. Well I just remodeled the basement and now I have my own little world to work and more importantly, play, in.

I've never really had a universal remote except for the one that came with my digital cable, controls tv, vcr, cable, and didn't really need one since I wasn't allowed to hook up surround sound. Well I've moved to the basement, hooked up everything, using the Aiwa for surround till santa brings my yamaha 5560 for christmas, and now I have 5 remotes staring me in the face.

Here's what I'm working with:

Sharp 32" Flat screen
Toshiba SD-4900 DVD
Sharp 4 Head HiFi VCR
Pioneer Digital Cable Box (Time Warner Cable)
Aiwa CXNMT720 Shelf system w/ 5.1, 3 CD

The first few days I lumbered through the remotes, then came to the realization that most of the time I spend down there will be watching movies and sports in surround, I need a universal remote. My first choice was something out of the Pronto line, but the wife put the nix on that for the time being. Which is understandable considering the money that went into the remodeling, new 32" flat screen, new DVD, new speakers, etc.

So I started bargin hunting, My requirements were the ability to control, at least, all the functions needed for watching movies in surround from one remote while not spending more than $30. Well I hit the jackpot!

After hours of looking online, and at the local stores I found the URC-8811 at Wal-Mart for $19.87. Based on package info, you get 4 learning keys, 4 macro keys, surround sound control, control of up to 8 devices, and upgradeability via a 1-800 number where a computer talks to your remote and gives it new codes. I was a little hesitant at first, considering, I had seen remotes with the same features at Best Buy for around $50. I figured for $20 let's try it.

I got it home and started entering the codes in the manual.

TV worked great, all buttons from original remote without learning anything.

DVD, pretty good, missing a few functions, eject, dimmer for display, minor things.

VCR, everything with one major exception, for some reason, the arrow keys wouldn't navigate through the VCR menu, for setting the timer and such. (Starting to get worried)

Cable box, o.k., except the A, B, & C keys, which are used to navigate some parts of the TV guide, and parts of the menu. And the VCR type controls used for Video On Demand(Starting to get mad).

Now I'm dreading the Aiwa, cause it's an all in one system CD, Tape, Tuner, Surround. Well I was surpised, most of the functions worked with the exception of base and trebble control.

Then I realize I've only got 4 learning keys and at least 20 functions I can't use.

Duped again by the corporate machine, Right?

Wrong, come to find out, that not only can the learning keys be programmed for each device you are controlling, but almost every key on the remote can be used as a learning key, the device keys are the only ones you can't assign functions to. You just follow the instructions for learning a key and instead of using L1 you use what ever key you want. You can also use Advanced Function codes, which supposedly take less memory than learning, (found at www.hifi-remote.com).

The macro keys are great, push one button and my TV turns on, goes to Input One(DVD viewing), mutes TV, turns on DVD, turns on Reciever, turns to 5.1. now I'm ready to watch a DVD in surround. Excellent for the wife who really dosen't have the whole concept of home theater yet. Plus, like the learning keys, you can have more than four macros, just program them to other keys.

It also has a Home Theater Key, which allows you to select different groups of keys for different devices without having to switch back and forth. Under home theater, I have the Volume keys going to the reciever, the menu and play keys to the dvd, so when I watch a movie, I don't have to change devices on the remote.

You can also use punch throughs, which assign a set of controls from one device to function while controling another device eg. when under the cable device, my volume keys control the volume on the TV.

This has to be the best remote out there for $20. It has a great learning capacity, I currently have learned 24 keys to the remote, and have 7 macros set up.

The only downfalls are that some of the keys are pretty small, macros, learning, etc. which for me do get a lot of use. And there are a lot of buttons which can seem overwhelming to your wife and kids, Although it is backlit, it can be hard to use when you first get it and have not learned a feel for the keys.

Since it doesn't have a screen, you have to write down all the macros and all the learned keys so your family knows what they do.

Since I've only had the remote for a couple of weeks, I gave quality a 4, Features, on a scale of 1-5, 100 same for value!
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Steve Parisi from Wilmington, DE.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 4 made on Friday August 29, 2003 at 8:22 AM.
Strengths:Price, Learning, WEB Help, JP1
Weaknesses:Seeing buttons with my bad eyes. Once I "learn" the locations it will not be a problem.
Review:I first ordered this remote as an inexpensive way to get into JP1. It has quickly replaced my Sony 2100. ALl my equipment works perfectly (SonyAudio, VCR, DVD and Panasonic RPTV. It has learning on almost every button and the advanced code features mentioned in other reviews. My real reason for writting this review is to talk about the JP1 interface. I have not even started to program with it. It is worth the money just as a backup device for your remote. Last night I accidently learned on a key where I had stored a macro. Went over to the Computer, restored the remote and I was back in business. Nothing to write down, nothing to remember. This is great.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by RacerX from Texas, USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 3 made on Sunday July 13, 2003 at 10:09 AM.
Strengths:Learning ability.
4 Macros.
Home Theater Mode.
Look and feel.
Illuminated buttons.
JP1
Weaknesses:None that I have experienced.
Review:I bought the 8810 from Walmart for $20 also. It looks identical to the 8811, and I see no difference in functionality. When I bought it, I thought that it could only learn functions into buttons L1 through L4, but that is not the case. I tought the "Exit" button to exit from my sattelite receiver's Guide screen. It then learned how to enter and exit "Timed Recording" mode on my Toshiba VCR, a function that requires two simultaneous button presses on the original Toshiba remote. This allowed me to set up a macro to turn on/off my sattelite receiver, TV, VCR (including entering "Timed Recording" mode upon powering off), and audio receiver all with the push of one button.

Another great feature is the "Home Theater" mode, in which you can assign a group of buttons to each component of your system so you can control each component without hitting each component's button at the top of the remote. You can also "lock" the volume controls to a particular component so that no matter what mode you are in, the volume is controlled by that component.

All in all, you will not find more functionality and flexibility for the money. I highly recommend this remote!
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Nick Vazquez from Dallas, TX.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 2 made on Wednesday June 25, 2003 at 9:03 PM.
Strengths:8810: Ease of Use, # of Codes, Ease of Prgramming, Learning Capibility, Backlit
Weaknesses:Size, Layout of butttons, Button Size...All Minor Issues
Review:I bought this 8810 at WalMart for $20 since it looked exactly like the 8811. I was able to use the codes to program my Panasonic HDTV, Panny DVDXP30. The JBL/HK codes did not work for my JBL ESC 333 but I was able to teach the 8810 using my original. Now I have one remote to do it all.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Gromit from Vancouver, Canada.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 1 made on Saturday March 1, 2003 at 10:08 PM.
Strengths:Very inexpensive, easy to program.
Nice backlighting.
Lots of buttons, M1-M4, L1-L4.
Extensive code library, learns remotes not in library.
JP1 connector if needed.
Weaknesses:Recessed Set/Shift button.
Flimsy manual, No discussion of extended codes, very tiny printing.
A touch unbalanced, most used buttons just a bit too far forward.
Review:Wow, can't believe I'm the first to review this remote, it's a really popular model. I bought this remote based on the discussions here. I was choosing between the RS-2116, and the URC-8811. I chose the 8811 because it had some extra keys the 2116 didn't have. This is my first remote, so what follows is my experiences etc for other newbies.

FEATURES:
o 8 in 1 remote, has modes for TV, VCR, DVD, AUX, SAT, CD, CBL, and RCVR/AMP. Also has HOME THEATRE mode, which allows simultaneous use of these modes.
o Backlighting, that can be turned on only when needed.
o Lots of buttons. Built in PIP buttons, extra set of Fwd and Rew buttons for DVD chapters etc, M1-M4 for macros, L1-L4 for four new functions for each mode.
o Extensive code library, with learning mode for those remotes not in the library. Manual says that there is even an upgrade process they can do to add codes from your remote if they can capture the code from you.
o Built in JP1 connector, if you feel the need to get even fancier. The remote does everything I need it to out of the box, however.

PACKAGING/CONTENTS:
Inside a hard to open blister pack is the remote, and a tiny manual, a single sheet of paper 16" x 9", printed on both sides in very tiny print. The second side is dedicated to codes. I'm in my 30's, so could read it, I imagine older eyes would need some assistance. The manual is decent, but needs some work. It discusses macros, but makes it sound like they can only be put on the M1-M4 keys. It shows you how to learn codes, but again makes it sound like they can only go on L1-L4. It discusses key moving, but only shows how to move an existing key, and not how to use extended codes to put a new function on a key.

EASE OF SETUP:
Once you get the remote out of the blister pack, it's very easy to set up. Insert four AAA batteries, and start following the manual. The first thing it tells you is enter a code for each device you have. This is very quick and easy, and after half an hour or so, you'll find that the remote can already do 90-95% of the 6 or so remotes you currently have on your table.

ADVANCED SETUP/CUSTOMISATION:
The next part can be a little overwhelming, but it's not too bad if you're organised. You need to go through each device, and test each function and compare it to your original remote, to see what's missing, what doesn't work and so on. For example, on my cable box I found that though the number keys worked, the Enter button didn't. The Favourite button didn't work the same way. I found that the Page Up and Page Down buttons were reversed from the old remote. For my TV, I found that the PIP buttons worked great, but that the new remote didn't have any way to switch between listening to the main screen and the PIP screen.

I made a spreadsheet, and listed each function that was needed or missing, which mode and which key on the remote to put it on. I then went through the various online resources to find the extended codes needed to do that function for my devices. Some extended codes didn't exist, so I marked those keys as LEARN. Once I had done all that, I could step back and see just where I was, how many extended codes did I need, how much learning etc. At the end, I needed 4 macros, 25 extended codes, and 18 learned keys. I didn't know if everything would fit into the memory, so I started down the list, entering each one until I was done. As it turned out, I had room for everything.

EASE OF USE:
Once everything is set up, actual use is very easy. You have to remember where you put some of the lesser known functions, but that's the same for all these remotes. The Set/Shift key is recessed, which means that it's a little less easy to press. This makes doing shifted keys a touch harder than it needs to be, but it's no biggie.

This is a large remote, my only ergonomic complaint would be that the most used buttons - the volume, channel, directional, and Guide, Info, Exit keys - are just a hair forward of the centre of balance. So when you hold the remote balanced in your hand, your thumb falls just a bit short of these common keys. So you either need a long thumb, or to hold the remote a bit forward, which can lead to the occasional slippage. The backlight works very well, so you can see all the keys nicely if you're watching a movie in total darkness.

FINAL THOUGHTS:
I am extremely happy with the remote. My six original remotes are gathering dust in the closet, there's not a single thing I can't control with the 8811. For $25 US, this is an incredible value.
Quality: Features: Value:


Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse