Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Previous page Next page Up level
What's New
9/29/17 - All cloud-based operations to end within four years.
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the One For All URC-8910 (A/V Producer 8) from One For All.
One For All URC-8910 (A/V Producer 8)
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 4.30/5.00
Median: 4.50/5.00
18$50
The A/V Producer 8 is similar to the URC-9910 Home Producer, but without the RF basestation. It features a backlit keypad, macros and learning capabilities.


Navigation: [ Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 1 of 3 for
the One For All URC-8910 (A/V Producer 8) remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3 ]

Written by videobruce from Buffalo.
The reviewer has used this remote control for more than two years.
Review 18 made on Tuesday November 14, 2006 at 11:41 AM.
Also owned:Harmony (low end model)
Strengths:IR & RF remote
Learning ability for most buttons (inspite of owners manual that doesn't tell you that)
Upgradeable over the phone
Company will research your remote if not in their data base for free (you just pay shipping one way)!
Batteries last much longer than the power hogging Harmony
JP1 programming for the do-it-yourselfer
Weaknesses:Damn small doughnut
Too narrow
Some buttons too small and close together
Doughnuts' response is a issue probably due to use
Review:Customer service is great. Can talk to support here, not India or somewhere where you can't understand the accent. Even able to tyalk to senior support in California where their research division is located.

RF unit has got 'guirky' and needs to be replaced. $28 for a new unit, no need to try to fix.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Kyle Minarik from New Jersey, USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 17 made on Thursday October 13, 2005 at 1:41 PM.
Strengths:Price, good amount of hard buttons, new B02 revision design for arrow keys (instead of the old disc style)and of course the JP1 interface
Weaknesses:Small learned memory (see review for workaround), small channel up/down buttons
Review:I was at first hesitant to buy this remote due to the fact that it was known to have small amount of memory dedicated to learning. However, I did some research into the JP1 option as I wanted to completely customize the remote to handle even advanced functions for my A/V devices. After making the cable myself, I started using the JP1 by trial and error to learn codes and then transfer them into Keymap Master in order to convert them and upload them back to the remote. Overall, I am very impressed with this capability and for a $30 remote, you can't go wrong. What's even better, is you can transfer the settings to another remote by saving the file. I know there are more expensive remotes out there that come with software and a bunch of extra features, but if you want something that won't break the bank and are willing to put some time into learning JP1, this is the remote for you!
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Bert from Idaho.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 16 made on Monday December 13, 2004 at 6:31 PM.
Strengths:Upgradeable! Easy to program and use.
Weaknesses:Red backlight.
Review:The main reason I bought this remote was the ability to upgrade the codes over the phone. I may still get a JP1 cable, but I am set for now just by calling the customer service number and downloading new codes. I can now control my Outlaw Audio 1050 receiver, JVC TV, DirecTV receiver (D10), and my Pioneer DVD player.

Before I downloaded the codes I was able to experment with using the learning function to get most of the functionality from my other remotes. So even if I didn't get the codes, this remote still would have worked for me.

The LCD is nice for seeing exactly what codes you are entering in, but not much use beyond that.

Overall, this remote does everything I need it to and for $25 it was a pretty good deal.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Francis Reda from Edmonton AB.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 15 made on Saturday October 30, 2004 at 7:25 PM.
Strengths:Has ALL the features you might want in a Learning Remote!
Weaknesses:HAS AN ABSOLUTELY PITIFULLY SMALL MEMORY CAPACITY THAT WILL NEVER EVER ALLOW THE UNIT TO DO EVERYTHING THE OWNER'S MANUAL SAYS IT CAN DO. After just TEACHING it the basic key presses for my unlisted DVD and VCR the memory was full. An I hadn't even begun to use the four Learning keys or the 3 Macro keys.
This is ridiculous and unacceptable. What is the use of offering all these great features and sucky memory that won't even let you exploit more than 1% of what the manufacturers says the unit can do. RIPOFF!
Review:Therefore, this remote is TOTALLY USELESS!
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Gerald from Florida, USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 14 made on Tuesday October 12, 2004 at 1:46 AM.
Strengths:overall nice button layout, slim design fits all hands, inexpensive, lots of features.
Weaknesses:Inadequate IR transmitter, display is hard to read at an angle, curved display cover picks up a lot of light reflections making it hard to see in the daytime.
Review:My previous URC remote was an earlier model 8800 but the channel up key was finally worn out, so I researched their latest models and decided on the 8910. It has a good button layout, except I don't like the fact that the learned function keys are all the way at the bottom of the remote, unlike the 8800, which were easily accessable and near the function keys where they should be. Another minor gripe is that the power key is dangerously close to the navigation keys used for DVD menus, and it would be too easy to hit if not paying close attention.

I like the much slimmer design of the 8910, it feels nice no matter if you are left of right handed.

Two major gripes I have are with the IR transmitter and the display. The 8910's small pimple-like transmitter is inadequate. I find myself at times having to point almost directly at my components, especially when sitting to the side of my TV at an angle at my computer desk trying to change channels or adjust the volume. This is unacceptable, especially when the earlier 8800 model had an absolutely outstanding large-area IR transmitter that would allow me to use it nearly anywhere in the room at any angle, even reflecting off angled walls. Why they went with a tiny pimple transmitter on the 8910 is beyond me.

The other major complaint is with the display. Again, the earlier 8800 had a display that had a good viewing range if you tilted the remote forward while using it. When changing channels, volume, or any other function it is sometimes neccessary to see what component is displayed. Since the 8910 has an inferior transmitter, there are times when I have to look at the display to see what component is selected, then angle it towards the target component to use it. To see the display, you can't tilt it more than about 25 degrees. Others may not mind, but after having used the 8800 for so long, I guess it spoiled me.

One really nice improvement is the fact that the 8910 is about half the price of my previous 8800, and is code-upgradeable. However, with the two drawbacks mentioned above, I find myself reaching for my older 8800 far too often.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Gary Coxey from Pennsylvania, YSA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 13 made on Thursday October 7, 2004 at 2:10 PM.
Strengths:Comfortable, easy to use, good design.
Weaknesses:AAA batteries.
Review:Excellent purchase compared to the "all in one" units I purchased before. Upgraded over the phone with no problems. They should get an 800 number.
Runs all my devises perfectly.
Highly recommended.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Brian from Utah.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-2 years.
Review 12 made on Monday September 27, 2004 at 4:34 PM.
Strengths:Price, Programability
Weaknesses:Toll phone number for upgrade, center disc is awkward
Review:Remote worked well for awhile. Several buttons do not at all anymore.
Quality: Features: Value:


Navigation: [ Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 1 of 3 for
the One For All URC-8910 (A/V Producer 8) remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3 ]

Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse