Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Previous page Next page Up level
What's New
9/29/17 - All cloud-based operations to end within four years.
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the One For All URC-9910 (Home Producer 8) from One For All.
One For All URC-9910 (Home Producer 8)
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 4.43/5.00
Median: 4.67/5.00
10$90
The Home Producer 8 is similar to the URC-8910 A/V Producer, but includes an RF basestation for through-the-walls control. It features a backlit keypad, macros and learning capabilities.


Navigation: [ Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 1 of 2 for
the One For All URC-9910 (Home Producer 8) remote.
[ Go to: |1|2 ]

Written by videobruce from Buffalo.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-2 years.
Review 10 made on Tuesday April 24, 2007 at 9:27 AM.
Also owned:URC-10820,
Harmony 659
Strengths:Price,
Learning,
RF (with the RF version),
Manufacture can add new codes if you send them your remote),
Now with 4 'joystick buttond instead of the dreaded 'doughnut (but, see below).
Weaknesses:Power button too close to the top 'joystick' button.
Remote could be wider
Review:This is the "RF" version.
Update: That dreaded "doughnut" has been replaced with four separate buttons as with most remotes. BUT, the power button is too close to the top 'joystick' button. I have turned off equipmrnt tooo many times because of this.

But, still the best deal out there even if it doesn't have all the bells & whistles of the other more expensive models.

I wish they would add more memory since this is a 'learning' remote, but limited to 22 or so additional learned keys.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by tonyJP1 from arizona.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 9 made on Thursday October 19, 2006 at 3:41 AM.
Also owned:urc-9910 B01
urc-8011
urc-6131
OEM
Radio Shack non JP1 learning remote
Strengths:IR/RF
Extender
JP1
Learning
Price
Weaknesses:none
Review:I got his remote after my horible harmony 520. This JP1 remote can do it all. It can learn and then download via JP1 so you can create your own remote deffinition with all the keys. It can be used and in my case came with a RF extender. The extender works very well i can chage the chanel from 2 rooms away. Not that it would do me much good to do that but i won't have to move the pillows off the couch anymore to change the chanel. It comes JP1 ready no having to open the remote or solder.
The IR on this remote is just average but that isn't a weeknes. The JP1 software takes a hour to get use to. For full funtion you would need excel as some JP1 tools are writing in a spred sheet.

I like this is the best remote i have ever had and at $35 cheeper then a Pronto.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Bruce from Buffalo.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-2 years.
Review 8 made on Friday November 18, 2005 at 2:36 PM.
Strengths:Price.
Upgradeable over the phone.
JP1.
Decent cumtomer support.
In Ohio.

Weaknesses:To narrow.
Buttons too small and close together.
Buttons at the bottom can't be reached using one hand.
"Doughnut".
Hard to read display.
Review:I have the RF version.

Company will search for your unknown device, but you have to send the remote and the device in to California for them to do so.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Jason Smith from Houston.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-2 years.
Review 7 made on Friday September 9, 2005 at 3:01 AM.
Strengths:Great overall remote. Easy to use, buttons are laid out logically and it is JP1 programmable! RF base allows you to use it anywhere in the house! A great bargain, this remote can be found for as little as $25 including shipping on ebay.
Weaknesses:None that I can find.
Review:I bought this remote after reading about the ability to program it with a computer using the JP1 port. This meant that no matter what device I owned I would be able to upgrade the remote to work with it. It also allows me to re-arrange the buttons on the remote to my liking since many times the presets for devices are not to my preference.

The battery life is very good even if you use the backlight feature. Ive had to replace batteries about 3 times in a year.

The RF repeater has great range. I have had it placed in several pllaces in my living room at many different angles and it always reaches and operates my equipment from anywhere in the house. For a $40 remote, this sure is a bargain!
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Scott Brummond from North Carolina, USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 6 made on Wednesday January 26, 2005 at 8:24 AM.
Strengths:Does exactly what it advertises. For the $ you pay, you will get an excellent remote that can control just about anything.
Weaknesses:None so far.
Review:I bought this remote after the touch screen remote I had bought started going hay wire. After only having this remote for about 6 months, the touch screen remote started basically working on it own! After spending about $60 on the touch screen, I did my research here about which remote would be worth my money this time around. I compaired price, function and user ratings and decided to get this remote. Even though it's backlighting is red and not the green shown in the picture (no big deal for me)I LOVE THIS REMOTE! It only took me 5 min to get it setup to control everything. My TV, VCR, DVD,Satellite and stereo. The touch screen I had before wouldn't control my stereo but it did work on everything else until it went berserk! If you are looking for a remote that does what it says this is the remote for you. I am not a "home theater" person so I don't have a lot of fancy equipment to control. I HIGHLY recommend this remote.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Chas from CT.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 5 made on Saturday April 17, 2004 at 6:13 PM.
Strengths:Works with JP1
Weaknesses:None
Review:I bought this because I wanted hard buttons, learning capability, JP1 programming capability and an LCD for some info.

I first used this remote simply using the setup codes for the devices and for learning the codes that were not there otherwise. For this, the remote worked very well. It has the ability for the OFA people to download a new device setup code to the 9910 by telephone but I did not use this.

I got involved in the JP1 community on the internet and used JP1 and an extender to totally make this remote do exactly what I wanted it to. And it was all pretty easy and did not take more than a few hours learning time. This community is extremely helpful and responsive - especially to new learners.

This remote is a good value if you dont want to program it and just want to control some standard devices.

But, if you are willing to spend a little extra (fun) time, (and especially if you have some oddball devices), the value that this remote gives versus the cost is tremendous. This remote accomplishes what would have cost several 100s of $$ done differently.

The build quality seems quite adequate and while a bit heavy - its because of the 4 AAA batteries mostly. I dont find it to be too large, but having all of its buttons (which I wanted) and room for the LCD does make it largish.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Evan Walton from Victoria, Australia.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 4 made on Friday January 23, 2004 at 5:10 PM.
Strengths:JP1 Programming, RF Extender.
Weaknesses:The dreaded "donut", but it's not too bad unless you need to get at youe equipment set up menus all the time.
Review:Bought this remote cheap on E-Bay as it is the old style 9910 with the dreaded "donut" menu control. I'm extremely impressed with the unit, especially the RF repeater. I use the extra plug in IR eye to spread the signal over a wider area by shooting under the coffee table. Remote works from all over the house via RF! If you're not from the US (like me!) you really need to be prepared to use JP1 to program the remote as OFA's international support sites are apparently unable to upgrade this remote. The Australian agents were extremely helpful but couldn't get a .wav file for me and referred me the the US agent. Still waiting! In the meantime I've JP1'd everything I need.
Quality: Features: Value:


Navigation: [ Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 1 of 2 for
the One For All URC-9910 (Home Producer 8) remote.
[ Go to: |1|2 ]

Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse