Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Previous page Next page Up level
What's New
9/29/17 - All cloud-based operations to end within four years.
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the Harmony 768 / H768 / SST-768 from Logitech.
Harmony 768 / H768 / SST-768
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 4.27/5.00
Median: 5.00/5.00
32$299
Available in three stylish colors, the H768 is the ultimate Harmony remote. Featuring a large number of hard buttons, the compact SST-768 makes no compromises with its blend of powerful programming features and ease-of-use.
Get it
at:
Amazon.com


Navigation: [ Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 1 of 5 for
the Harmony 768 / H768 / SST-768 remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3|4|5 ]

Written by pinkrobe from Calgary.
The reviewer has used this remote control for more than two years.
Review 32 made on Sunday October 29, 2006 at 9:34 PM.
Strengths:Compact, good battery life, red
Weaknesses:Not durable, Logitech made the web interface harder to use
Review:I got a killer deal on this remote way back in late 2003. It was new, red and held such promise. The initial setup went fine. I had the TV, cable box and DVD rocking and rolling. Life was good.
FFWD a year...

Just after the warranty ran out, the remote started to behave strangely. Not all the buttons would work, and it would simply shut down randomly. This was a huge PITA since all the equipment was still on, but now I had to turn everything off so the remote could turn it all back on again. This was happening 2-3 times each night. I thought it might be the batteries coming loose, so I tried some tissue and foam to try and keep them jammed in there, but that didn't seem to work. Ultimately, it would turn on and off by itself, so we stuck it in a drawer and went back to multiple remotes.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by adamak from New York City.
The reviewer has used this remote control for more than two years.
Review 31 made on Monday August 14, 2006 at 12:19 PM.
Strengths:Small. Like the feel of buttons. Able to set up through website.
Weaknesses:Easy to set up, but hard to get everything working perfectly. never turn appropriate devices on, despite help from support. Back of the remote pops out. LCD screen goes on and off.
Review:Got this remote because of good reviews on this website. Had it for about 2 years and finally had had enough. The back of the remote constantly popped open, which resets the remote. I had to tape it close, and even then the remote goes on and off frequently. Battery life is short. The remote just doesn't feel very well made, and not worth $200+.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Pete from Shakopee, MN.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 30 made on Friday April 22, 2005 at 3:13 PM.
Strengths:Easy Online Setup
Ease of Activity based remote
TV Guide
Versatility
Cool lcd screen
Weaknesses:ergonomics not the best
bad codes in database
Review:I just got my Logitech Harmony 768 activity remote and i love it.

Setting up the remote was easy on their website, i just wrote down the model numbers of my 6 components, and then walked through setup of each one. It took only an hour or so. Once the update was downloaded to the remote through the usb cable, it was a pretty easy process to learn the remote.

Within a short time I was able to operate all my components/activities without any problems.

The only problem i had in setup was some of the ir commands in their database weren't working correctly, however, that was easily overcome by the easy remote command ir learning process on their site.

I do have a little bit of setup left to do - reassigning buttons/commands to places that are more intuitive for me.. So there will be a bit of a refining process.

So far i love this remote, and the TV Guide feature on the remote's LCD is coming in more handy than i thought it would too.

I know the price is a bit hefty for some but it is definitely worth it in my opinion.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Sean from Savannah, GA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 29 made on Friday January 7, 2005 at 10:54 AM.
Strengths:Online setup, thorough understanding of customer needs,
Weaknesses:Endless tweaking, more tweaking, and did I mention tweaking? Simplicity does not replace ease of use. Too many combinations to get to a function. IR troubles with macro commands (granted, every remote has these).
Review:A great idea, and great potential. But doesn't every remote claim to be "the last remote you'll ever need?". I bought this remote enthusiastically, and spent what I felt was all the time necessary to conquer it. The whole computer interface with the remote went well (but I have to admit my Mac has never had a problem syncing with a device).

In fact, I found the options on the website to be very knowledgeable (at the time, I was "passing through" a signal from my satellite box through my VCR and into my receiver). All connections could be configured through the website (such as listening to the digital sound of the sat whie watching the SVHS signal of the VCR).

I got it to recognize all my devices except my Sony receiver. I'm sorry, but going to the computer, spending time downloading something into the remote, going back to my system, finding out it doesn't work, and repeating the cycle got tedious. This all became moot when I realized I hated using the remote itself.

The problem is, because the 768 has so few buttons (at the time supposedly for "expert users"), this means less can be mapped out to each button and everything else has to be accessed through the small LCD display. Because it IS a small display, you have to scroll down to access a certain function.

If you look at the Harmony 659, (at the time, the supposed remote for the "common man"), ironically, you'll see a lot more options for the experienced user when it comes to mapping out buttons to the remote. Unfortunately, a friend of mine had that one and it had even more IR problems.

A lot of review here extoll the virtues of Harmony's excellent ideas. However, if you take off the rose colored glasses, you have to ask "is it functional?" and "does it work?". I look forward to improvements on the design, but right now I have to say no.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Tom from Ocean City.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 3-6 months.
Review 28 made on Wednesday December 22, 2004 at 10:53 PM.
Strengths:Simple. Great customer service.
Weaknesses:Having a little trouble getting remote to work seemlessly with an infra-red remote extender.
Review:My system is complex so I have needed to speak to several customer services reps. Every single one of them has been very friendly and extremely knowledgable. Harmony not only has a great product but their customer service people set the bar for how all consumer electronic companies should treat their customers. With the increasing complexity of TV's and home theater componants today, Harmonys'products "simplicity" should make their company successful for years to come!
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by RPUU from California.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 27 made on Wednesday November 3, 2004 at 11:05 PM.
Strengths:Beautiful metal case
Weaknesses:Beautiful metal case seems non-ergonomic in my hand. Hard to see display. Very difficult to set up.
Review:I purchased this remote because of the great reviews on this site. I know all of you are pros, but I am not. As a non-pro, I found the internet site non-intuitive and frustrating to use. "Activities" don't seem to work for me. I am ready to return to my four independent remotes, which are easily understood and work well.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Charlie from NJ, USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 3-6 months.
Review 26 made on Tuesday April 20, 2004 at 9:37 PM.
Strengths:Design, customization, user friendly, internet updating capabilities, simple to operate, best technical support ever
Weaknesses:none to report
Review:I am so glad that I purchased this remote for my home theater. It is exceptional and fully customizable. I am operating a Denon AVR 5700, Samsung HLN567W DLP, Samsung HD DVD Player, Panasonic VCR, Dish Receiver. I also have XBOX and PS2 connected. The remote can handle many inputs flawlessly. Harmony made the internet setup as simple as possible. It is activity based and there are wizards that help you in setting up the activities. It is step by step. If you have any problems programming the tech support is exceptional. They will not only help you with any problems, they will even setup the remote to operate exactly the way you want. They are patient and very experienced. They know the remote inside and out, not some call center that is reading notes from a computer. Time delays can be set through the remote which was very helpful for me because it take 10-15 seconds for my television to come on after the power button is pressed. If for some reason one of your components didn't get the signal or you aren't seeing the picture or sound, you can press help on the remote and it will guide you through a quick Yes/No answer session which will get everything working in no time. Very Simple and well worth the money!!!
Quality: Features: Value:


Navigation: [ Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 1 of 5 for
the Harmony 768 / H768 / SST-768 remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3|4|5 ]

Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse