Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Up level
What's New
9/29/17 - All cloud-based operations to end within four years.
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the RCA RCU800MSL from RCA.
RCA RCU800MSL
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 3.50/5.00
Median: 3.33/5.00
6$49
This 8-device all-hard buttoned remote features code learning capabilities and built-in control of many original device functions.
Get it
at:
Amazon.com


Written by al po from Los Angeles, CA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-2 years.
Review 6 made on Friday June 25, 2004 at 12:46 AM.
Strengths:Remote has lots of options. Controls all of my TV functions especially with the learn buttons. Works great on DirecTv and Dishnet too. Even controls my Magnavox Audio system.
Weaknesses:More learn buttons.
Review:This is one of my favorites. Has all the standard butons plus lots of extras.
if you need the manual here it is.
http://www.rca.com/documents/R...l_200792_25.pdf

Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Andy Cool from Ft. Lauderdale, FL.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-2 years.
Review 5 made on Tuesday November 4, 2003 at 8:52 PM.
Strengths:cheap, relatively easy to use
Weaknesses:Battery dies and you are screwed. Keep the manual handy
Review:I have had this remote for quite some time and recently the batteries died and I lost the learning capability altogether. Real drag. Other than that, I guess I shouldn't expect too much from a $30 remote.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by ethan insley from toronto.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 3-6 months.
Review 4 made on Sunday July 13, 2003 at 12:12 AM.
Strengths:gets most of my stuff working on one controll, now from 5 remotes down to two??
Two???


Weaknesses:well i stll have two remotes? one rca and one panasonic which is the heart on my home audio system, most the numbers in the instruction book dont work so i had to program with out the numbers using program seach button.(code search).

but the controll will not do anything with my audio reciever
Review:good controll if you get the control to work every component you have, but what about things it does not do? is their a fix comming out or new codes to type in the manual that has had been left out...what do you do when you tried every code in the book and did the code seach which i hade to you for most my other components(which worked) because the numbers i needed are not in it. its a big name panasonic...good remote except this.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Trio from Indiana.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 3 made on Sunday May 18, 2003 at 10:15 PM.
Strengths:See previous
Weaknesses:Slow button response, especially on learned buttons.
Review:I ended up returning it after I started noticing how slow it was sending learned signals. It seemed to send the full 1-2 second signal it learned when the signal was actually just a repeating series (which I found out after getting a different remote and going JP1).

It worked, but if it didn't have native support for something (and it didn't have all of the Replay buttons, for starters) there was no chance in getting good response out of multiple button presses, especially when you pressed the same learned button more than once.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Robert Marie from Oak Bluffs, MA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 2 made on Tuesday April 29, 2003 at 1:58 PM.
Strengths:Via my RCA hometheater RC2350, does control the TV.
BTW The internal label is :'RC800L-A, date code:1123' even if the associated photo is 'visually correct'.
Weaknesses:Using VCR1 on the remote , does not power down JVC HR-S4800U. Further, 'learn' didnt do it even though there seemed to be a 'handshake'.
Review:I retried all the JVC codes numerous times and got identical results. The tv turned off but the VCR did not.

I hope someone can assist. Disapointing
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Trio from Indiana.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 1 made on Wednesday April 2, 2003 at 9:11 AM.
Strengths:Enough buttons for most jobs, good ergonomics, good preprogrammed code base, seems to have plenty of learning memory.
Weaknesses:Can be picky about learning some signals.
The "vcr" buttons can't be reprogrammed for TV use.
Not a problem for me, but no macros.
Review:I actually bought it yesterday and replaced 5 remotes with it including:
TV - HD WS Mitsubishi
DVD - JVC 7 disc changer
RCVR - Pioneer
VCR1 - ReplayTV
Cable - Motorola DCT5100 / DCT2XXX

Not only was I able to get all the buttons I needed/wanted, I was also able to get some I didn't have before. The built-in code for the receiver included direct input selection buttons which I didn't have with the original remote.

After finding the right codes (I had to code search the cable box) I figured out which buttons were there and which needed to be learned. The learning process is quite simple with regards to the steps that must be taken, however, I did have a couple of buttons which did not seem to want to be read. I did eventually get them in, but it was a tad frustrating. I am not sure if it was a battery strength issue on my original remote(s) or the nature of the signal that was used. In the end I was able to get everything programmed including all of the buttons from my ReplayTV remote (except the R button, but I don't use it often and I think I might have duplicate key assignments which could be changed to add it).

Time will tell if the memory is actually large enough, I didn't get any errors adding learned buttons, but I did lose a couple during the process though that could have been an error on my part. If there are any problems that I can blame on the remote now that I have it fully programmed, I'll submit another review.
Quality: Features: Value:


Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse