Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Previous page Next page Up level
What's New
9/29/17 - All cloud-based operations to end within four years.
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the Radio Shack 15-2107 Touchscreen from Radio Shack.
Radio Shack 15-2107 Touchscreen
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 3.78/5.00
Median: 4.33/5.00
9$99
This LCD touchscreen remote control can operate up to eight devices. It includes macro keys, a "Home Theater" function, hard buttons for common commands and is expandable to include missing or unique device functions.
Find universal
remotes at:
Amazon.com


Navigation: [ Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 1 of 2 for
the Radio Shack 15-2107 Touchscreen remote.
[ Go to: |1|2 ]

Written by TIm from Texasl USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-2 years.
Review 9 made on Monday July 19, 2004 at 2:14 PM.
Strengths:Good size, clear display, multifunction.
Weaknesses:Grossly lacking in memory! Should be able to learn EVERY key, not just 30 or so . . . ran it out after four devices! That, or they need to put a h**l of a lot more stuff in their know list of codes . . . .

Battery life kinda short, buttons sometimes hard to hit - especially when want repeat functions like fast forward.
Review:For the price, this did pretty well, but for some reason, Radio Shack cannot figure out how to either put enough memory into their product to learn my system, or to have those devices included. Nothing oddball, just Lexicon surround processor(s). When trying to fast forward video, etc. The thing seems to have a random time that it will keep sending on a keypress . . . sometimes 1-2 seconds, sometimes more like 5, sometimes as long as held. ???? Clock crashes on every battery change, too . . .
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Scott Hattery from Ohio.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 8 made on Saturday September 13, 2003 at 6:26 PM.
Strengths:Able to program all devices quickly, Learns all functions. Look Great when someone asks for the remote. (techie). Programable macros and other fuctions.
Weaknesses:Have to press the button twice, once to wake it up, the second time to activate the feature. Not bad.
Review:I LOVE it! Have had it for only one day, but managed to program tv, two vcr's dvd player(s) in a matter of minutes. Moved many of the 'key' functiosn from the other devices, can now control EVERYTHING from one panel. Set up macros to access and set devices for different types of viewing situations. Set up the Theater options and so much more! Very AWESOME for $19.99 marked down price. No trouble with tilt auto-on feature. (noticed it more sensitive when Sounds were turned on. I Love it! Been looking at these since they were $150.00.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Wade Scott from Worcester, MA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 6-12 months.
Review 7 made on Tuesday May 27, 2003 at 11:03 PM.
Strengths:* Hard buttons for vol. and channels

* Large easy to read display

* Easy to program/setup
Weaknesses:* Backlit display shuts off too soon

* Uses a LOT of batteries if using it in a dark room

* Not enough memory for learning other devices

* Not enough buttons to completely program all the funtions from another remote

* Activates to the slightess vibrations

* Sometime a key has to be pressed twice before a signal is sent
Review:I was hoping that this remote would replace all of the other remotes that I have lying around the house. I have several remote with quite a few button on them, the DVD remote and the tuner remote just to name a few.

This remote can replace up to 8 devices and one of the first devices I tried to use using the auto search was the DVD, which there was no code available for my brand. So I had to use the learn feature to program all the DVD keys. I guess that this used a lot of memory because while trying to customize other buttons for the other devices I ran out on memory, very, very, flustering.

I donít understand why the used AUX1 for the TV, AUX2 for the DVD, AUX3 for SAT, and AUX4 for the CD. Why not name them as so? As it is now, you have to look at the top of the screen to name sure you have the right device selected.

I also wish that there were a separate button for the backlight, as the slightest movement or vibration even from a speaker will cause the unit to lit up since this unit is located in a dark room. (if the room it light enough the back light will not light up) And it seems like I always have to change the batteries.

Even though this device should replace 8 other remotes, I find that I still have to keep the other remotes around to use special functions that I could find room on the 15-2107 or was simply not enough memory. Oh, and once you change the batteries the clock always needs to be reset although the other buttons keeps there settings.

I have to admit that other people find the remote fascinating to use, I just picky because I canít get the remote to do all that I want it to do.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Ross M. from Texas.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 6 made on Friday April 11, 2003 at 4:38 PM.
Strengths:JP1 programmability. Good backlighting, hard buttons for most used buttons. Tilt sensitive to turn on when picked up. Macro capability, Fav Channel Scan.
Weaknesses:Wider than usual hard button remotes. Have to look at to press buttons. Device names are still archaic VCR/DVD, CAB/SAT, AUX1, etc.
Review:This is a great remote, especially at the current discontinued price of $29.97 at Radio Shack. It makes a very useful remote and with the JP1 port, anything can be accomplished. Great tactile coating as in the other RS remotes. I would've preferred rockers for the volume and channel up/down buttons. All hard buttons could use backlighting, but the screen provides enough light to find them pretty easy.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by norm from san jose, ca.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 5 made on Wednesday April 2, 2003 at 2:43 AM.
Strengths:well i guess potentially it can control all your devices if u would even want this huge unorganized clunker to do so.
Weaknesses:Slightly oversized, not as convenient as it may first seem, normal remotes are just easier to use without having to look at what you are pressing each time.
Review:don't recomend buying it, i had it for only one day and soon realized it needs to be returned. bad layout, with combonation buttons, should be tottaly programable but what do you expect from radio shack.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Mike McCarthy from Cincinnati.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 4 made on Saturday March 8, 2003 at 9:12 PM.
Strengths:Who cares? It's going back.
Weaknesses:8 devices, but logically they make no sense.
Review:This is an 8 device remote. How about 8 devices like "TV" "VCR" "Sat" "Cable" "Receiver" "DVD" etc.?

NO. Instead, Radio Shack chooses to group devices like DVD/VCR and SAT/CABLE on ONE button. That makes NO sense.

True, you can set the remote up such that the DVD/VCR button is for the DVD and then use AUX1 for the VCR, or vica versa, but why not have a DEDICATED button for EACH component instead of "combo" buttons and four AUX buttons.

It makes little sense. It's going back.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Brian Fitzpatrick from Atlanta, GA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 3 made on Sunday December 29, 2002 at 11:29 PM.
Strengths:-Hard buttons for volume, channel,
mute, macros
-Very flexable with screens and set-up
-Worked with all my devices, including
X10 and Tivo
Weaknesses:-No tactile feel for the soft buttons
Review:I have cross-posted the following review from the one I wrote for the Kameleon. I picked up each from Radio Shack and kept the one I liked best.. since they are the same price after the 2107 rebate, I thought that others might also be looking at these side-by-side like myself and wondering which was the better of the two.

I kept the 2107 and returned the Kameleon.. this is hands down a great remote and has eliminated the 6 or so remotes from my coffee table.

-------------
Review:

I wanted to submit this review as I picked up the Kameleon and the Radio Shack 15-2107 at the same time and kept the one I liked best. Consider this a "side-by-side" comparison from someone who has owned them both and looked at the pro's and con's of each.

The Kameleon had a nice, easy to read display. The tactile response to a button push was also a plus, but you can't actually feel a particular button without looking at the remote. So for me, all in all, this negated any real usable gain of that feature.

I was able to get it up and going with all my devices, including Tivo and X10 without a call in for an update. I found that after looking at the two remotes, the update option over the telephone is a nice sounding sales pitch, but in the end is almost useless (except to help you find a code which you probably could have found anyway with search). You should be able to circle through with a search to find a suitable code which are universal across remotes.

Also, as others have mentioned, there is a hum with the Kameleon which happens any time the display is on. It is noticable, and it did get annoying.

I ended up keeping the 2107 and returning the Kameleon because of the following reasons:

(1) The 2107 had hard buttons for basic functionality such as volume, channel, mute, and macros which you can find without looking at the remote.

(2) The hum.. sorry, but this was annoying, especially when put side-by-side with the absolutely quiet 2107.

(3) The 2107 worked with every device I had, including Tivo and X10. Also, it controls eight devices versus 6 with the Kameleon, plus, it offers 4 additional screens you can custom build with buttons from the other 8 (ie. keep your DVD on one button, but also have a master screen which might combine your DVD, Tivo, and X10. Also, the Kameleon doesn't offer a default screen for X10, whereas the 2017 does. (You can still do X10 with Kameleon though)

(4) The 2107 seemed to have more buttons on the screen, which is especially helpful when you may want to "learn" a missing feature.

(5) The 2107 was a little more friendly with programming.. for example, when you plug in a device number in the Kameleon, you don't see a read-out whereas with the 2107 you do. This may seem small, but apply it across the board for most of the remote's features.

(6) They were both the same price. The 2107 seems to do everything the Kameleon does, plus more, minus the hum.

The Kameleon was good.. the 2107 was better.
Quality: Features: Value:


Navigation: [ Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 1 of 2 for
the Radio Shack 15-2107 Touchscreen remote.
[ Go to: |1|2 ]

Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse