Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Up level
What's New
9/29/17 - All cloud-based operations to end within four years.
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the Marantz RC5000 from Marantz.
Marantz RC5000
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 4.67/5.00
Median: 5.00/5.00
7$499
The Marantz RC5000 is similar to the Philips Pronto but with a gold finish and an included rechargable battery and docking station. It features a bright touchscreen display, learning capability and nearly unlimited devices and macros.
Find universal
remotes at:
Amazon.com


Written by Tony Yau from Canada.
The reviewer has used this remote control for more than two years.
Review 7 made on Tuesday August 8, 2006 at 11:01 PM.
Also owned:Radio Shack RS 15-1994 with JP1 hack
Strengths:I've had this remote for over six years now. I bought it when most people didn't even have DVD players. People were using laser disks, VCRs, CDs and cassette tape decks. Now hi-def DVD is already out, and satellite radio, TiVos & iPods have taken over.

My a/v system has also grown and changed with the times. The one constant in all this change is my beloved Marantz RC5000.

There have been no failures. Even the original rechargeable battery is still going strong.

The only reason I'll upgrade to the current remote is if someone drops it on the floor. Sure, colour & RF would be great, but they're no big deal.

As of this writing, you can pick up a used one off eBay for less than $100. Really good bang for your buck.
Weaknesses:If you prefer the tactile feel of hard buttons, the RC5000 is lacking.
Review:It controls my a/v, lighting, and HVAC.

It probably took about 40 hours of programming to get it half decent (way back in the summer of '00).

Every time I add or change a component, it takes me a couple of hours to come up with new bit maps and control codes, and to tweak and test the new configuration.

The interface is simple enough so anyone visiting me can control whatever they wish.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Chaz Mills from Chester England.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 6-12 months.
Review 6 made on Wednesday April 24, 2002 at 6:51 AM.
Strengths:I use the 500i and found it easy and simple, unfortunatly I want to upgrade to a colour screen. Any one want to buy, just deduct 25% off the price and its yours. email me!
Weaknesses:Not colour but it was the best when I bought it and also the best price at 240
Review:Over all an excelent remote with all that I want except the colour screen and now my wife likes it she has given me pemission to buy the colour one!
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Jeffrey Bays from Austin, TX 78664.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 6-12 months.
Review 5 made on Sunday October 22, 2000 at 1:42 AM.
Strengths:Programability, Sleek Look, endless macro's and My wife can use with ease
Weaknesses:Without tweaking with Pronto Firmware, it lacks the timers
Review:I fell in love with this remote when i saw it in the box. I went to see my father and he had the pronto. I prefered the Metalic look along with teh included recharging station. I spent many days creating neat buttons and complicated macro's. This remote allowed me to finaly control winamp with buttons that actually made sense. Though it lacks 2 Mb of memory,it is enough for the average user. Ths only 2 things I wish it had was a radio option (maybe a module) and a timer as a stock option.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Jeff Sullivan from Alabama,USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 4 made on Tuesday October 17, 2000 at 4:29 AM.
Strengths:Very user friendly, good range and easy to program
Weaknesses:expensive
Review:I owned a Pronto for about two years until my dog ate it. I have a 5000i and I was very pleased with the new look on the LCD screen. I will never need all the memory but it is nice to know it's there. I have heard that Marantz has better customer service than Philips and the 3 year warranty is great. I highly recommend either the rc5000i or the pronto.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Frank from Laguna Hills, CA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 3 made on Tuesday September 12, 2000 at 12:12 AM.
Strengths:Relative ease of use (User Friendly)
Speaks logical English
Weaknesses:Ergonomics. Very difficult to hold. If you are left handed as I am, you are forced to use right hand to change channels, volume, etc. where buttons are located.
Review:After my wife pushed the wrong button on a Denon remote for the nth time, I went out and purchased the RC5000. Initially, I was looking from the Pronto but a kind-hearted hi end audio/video g.m. convinced me to purchase the RC5000. Have not regretted decision even though I haven't owned it for very long. As he stated, this unit was a marriage saver!

I had to read the instruction guide several times, but the higher order of species thinking took over and I was able to decipher its contents. Thankfully, the unit didn't explode because I did make several mistakes programming the unit. To erase, I just reprogrammed over. It was almost fun!

For individuals who are not programmers -- I never was, the RC5000 is great. Would I recommend it. YES! Even though I had to shell out the hefty $$$, it was well worth it.

I am planning to take the plunge and download the PC programming software as soon as I get enough guts.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by James Tory from London, UK.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 6-12 months.
Review 2 made on Monday August 28, 2000 at 12:58 PM.
Strengths:Very customisable interface
PC Connectivity
Rechargeable Base
Solid Build
Weaknesses:Poor Ergonomics
LCD timeouts too quickly (if you can change that i havn't figured out how.)
Lack of Hard buttons
Poor Contrast LCD - Low resolution.
PC Software has poor instructions
Review:I have had my RC5000 for about six months, I bought it on a whim, thought how cool it would be to program, took one look at the PC editing software and stuck it in a cupboard.

Last week I dug it out, and Persevered. The PC software has a fairly steep learning curve, due to the lack of decent documentation. However despite first oppinions there really is very little to it, and after the first half hour its plain sailing. (Just remember any button you create must do something before you can see it - they don't tell you that anywhere.)

Once the machine is programmed up you will never look back. I have already bought a second one (and remember the programming only needs to be done once.)

So programmable remotes are great, and the marrantz is a very solid capable model. It does have a few issues however.

The machine is too fat, to sit in your hand and be comfortably controlled with just your thumb (my prefference). Also the LCD screen is fairly small, not very high resolution, and has poor contrast. (The dial for which is very soft, and easily gets knocked, making the situation worse.) The LCD also turns off very quickly (10 seconds), which i don't find long enough, particuarly with these digital satelites that require detailed channel selection.

Given these shortcommings If I was looking for a programmable LCD remote today I doubt I would choose the marrantz, however much of this is personal ergonomics, and if these points don't worry you, the marrantz is a competant machine.

Finally it is worth remembering, that as these remotes have been out for a long time, they have a good user base - and alot of stuff is availiable to download. Check out the downloads on this website. A newer model won't have this support yet.

Whatever you choose, enjoy it, and i hope my two cents helped.

James

Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Charles Mountain from Cheshire, UK.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-2 years.
Review 1 made on Thursday August 24, 2000 at 7:46 AM.
Strengths:Large backlit LCD touch display
Customisability change just about everything about it.
Rechargeable base.
Limited only by size of memory.
Weaknesses:Only built in codes for Marantz and Philips.
Requires PC for greater customisability. (Most owners will have one anyway)
Review:The RC5000 allows the home cinema user ultimate control over their system. By using an LCD display users can create their own displays, graphics and buttons giving them complete flexibility in the design of their remote control.

This remote can replace all your existing remotes and still have all the functions available unlike many fixed button remotes.

You can then add macros to allow the operation of say switching a home cinema system on. One button press and the remote does the rest.

Support from the Pronto/RC5000 forums on this site and the availability of designs of remotes enable a new user to easily obtain an irreplaceable system component.

The price whilst relatively high gets you a fully featured remote that to beat would cost you several thousand pounds.
Quality: Features: Value:


Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse