Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Previous page Next page Up level
What's New
9/29/17 - All cloud-based operations to end within four years.
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the Sony RM-AV3000 from Sony Electronics.
Sony RM-AV3000
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 3.72/5.00
Median: 4.00/5.00
102$199
As Sony's top-of-the-line remote control, the powerful RM-AV3000 features control of 18 devices, 45 macros, full learning capabilities, timers, a large LCD touchscreen and a good complement of hard buttons.
Get it
at:
Amazon.com


Navigation: [ Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 1 of 15 for
the Sony RM-AV3000 remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3|4|5|6|7|Last >> ]

Written by Coop51 from Seattle.
The reviewer has used this remote control for more than two years.
Review 102 made on Wednesday October 14, 2009 at 4:26 PM.
Also owned:First gen sony AV remote - not very rugged
Strengths:Very rugged and flexible, if code can not be found, it can be learned
Weaknesses:The rubber buttons take a progressively firmer touch to activate over a long period of time.
Review:The main reason I wanted to enter this review is to let people know the rubber buttons can be cleaned to restore their operation to normal. The part I have not found out yet is what type of grease is on the buttons. I am going to find this out and hopefully post it later, or if somebody knows, please post it. It is easily disassembled, there are six screws on the back once the battery compartment cover is removed, and two very small screws at the top edge. This is the only problem I have had with this remote. It seems alkaline batteries are a must, rechargables don't seem to work very well. The other problems mentioned in the other reviews, I have not experienced at all.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Rhialto from Canada.
The reviewer has used this remote control for more than two years.
Review 101 made on Thursday December 14, 2006 at 7:42 PM.
Strengths:Programmable Touch screen and powerfull learning of any remotes IR signal.
Weaknesses:May be heavier that what you hoped for. CHANNEL and VOLUME buttons malfunction after a few months, just so you cannot get repair on warranty.
Review:My 1st true universal remote. My gf and I went the big price to get what we tought would be a killer remote.

Pretty excited back at home with the instruction book at hand, I managed to easily program what I needed. I went with easy setup using already known remote codes then I had the remote to learn some IR signal from a few remotes and that was impressive!

We both enjoy the illuminated large touch screen. I don't even have to look at screen now to press buttons I need but gf need to. I can use the remote from one hand, my gf prefer 2.

Then later I bought a IR wall light switch that came with a remote and the Sony learned it no problem, again that was impressive for us and friends! ;-)

My only grip is the fact that I must buy another remote anytime soon because the CHANNEL and VOLUME buttons are working very bad, need to press REALLY HARD to get any output from it. This suck considering the price I paid for a premium remote more than 3 years ago. We both really thought we were buying that remote for close to 10 years.

You have read it here many times here and elsewhere about that problem but a call to Sony and they say they are not aware of the problem. That is clearly a design flaw with the rubber keypad deterioring.

When I saw the 3100 came out I was almost jalous thinking it woud be better than the 3000 but I was wrong since it's about the same remote. I don't know about the keypad problem though.

So that's it, an EXCELLENT remote UNTIL you get the keypad problem.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by surffish from Maryland, USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 100 made on Friday February 24, 2006 at 7:39 AM.
Strengths:Many great features
Weaknesses:the manual is a little tough to understand,,,fingerprints,,,naturally you cannot change the actual component hard button names, but you can on the display, which is fine with me.
Review:I was really debating whether to get this remote after reading many of the reviews, but to be honest, for $74 new, I figure I would give it a shot,,,I am not sure why there were so many bad/marginal reviews on this remote,,,this is an excellent remote with so many great features,,,no lock ups with mine,,,some codes didn't work for some of my equipment, but it had no problem learning from the other remotes,,,one thing I like is that you are able to delete unwanted keys from the screen,,,the manual is tough to read, but once you get going, it's quite easy to use all the features,,,it just takes a little trial and error,,,trust me, I have no patience when it come to this kind of stuff, have no fear folks, using the features are not as complicated as the manual makes it,,,just an excellent remote and once everything is set-up, it's the easiest remote I have ever used,,,I love having the only the keys I use show up on the display,,,alot less clutter on the display,,,macros are easy to program,,,when you do get it, I would delete the preprogramed macros from the system key1 and 3,,,I am not sure why the preprogrammed system 1 did not work for me, and was worried that I had a defect,,,it should have at least turned off the equipment on the codes that did work on my equipment,,,once the macro was deleted, I put in my own power down macros and had no glitches,,,this is a great remote once you get the hang of programming and playing with it!
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by mrdrake from Charlotte, NC.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-2 years.
Review 99 made on Friday December 2, 2005 at 12:50 PM.
Strengths:* Cool Look.
* Many Operating Features.
Weaknesses:Buttons quickly worn out for up and down channel & volume control. Also not a dot matrix screen so no custom labels.
Review:At first I was impressed with this remote and all of its capabilities, however after only 4 months I had to take it apart and clean the rubber from the buttons off the PCB on a regular basis. I have not used this remote excessively so I am dissapointed in its longevity as the buttons stopped working completely at about 11 months old. For $229.00 USD the remote lasted only 4 months before problems and 11 months before total disfunctionality. It was treated with kit gloves and still broke. I called Sony and they admitted there have been many design problems with this remote but it only had a 60- day warranty so I was out of luck. They wanted to repair it if I paid shipping and an $85.00 USD charge but thats a waste of money for a year old remote. I won't buy another Sony after this experience.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Jason Powell from Regina, Sk, Canada.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 98 made on Wednesday April 20, 2005 at 11:29 PM.
Strengths:-Look Cool Factor
-Works everything great
Weaknesses:-Remote Locks up BIG TIME
Review:The remote was great but I took it back because it kept on locking up and the only way to reset that was to take out the battery and put it back in..... but that is kind of a pain in the but.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by linda from Massachusettes.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-2 years.
Review 97 made on Saturday January 29, 2005 at 8:03 AM.
Strengths:Great programming
Weaknesses:buttons no longer working. the channel up/down and volume up/down buttons no longer work.
Review:Although this is a pretty cool devise, and we love it, you would expect it to last for a while for $200. As of now some of the buttons are no longer working. the channel up/down and volume up/down buttons no longer work. These are key buttons, used alot and I feel - what a waste unless I can find a fix, I won't buy a new one.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by cshipley from Kansas City.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-2 years.
Review 96 made on Wednesday December 8, 2004 at 3:30 AM.
Strengths:Excellent hard button layout.
Solid build quality.
Decent IR strength.
Incredible battery life.
Weaknesses:Touchscreen buttons are way too small.
Impossible to use one-handed.
Very expensive if you pay the MSRP.
Review:I've had this remote for about 14 months now, hoping that it would be the cure all for the multiple remote blues. Sadly it is not. Currently I have three remotes on the coffee table and the AV3000 functions only as the on/off remote even though it's programmed and can do everything I need.

Why? Because for casual use it is just too inefficient. The remote itself is a little too heavy to pick up off the table by your finger tips and the LCD screen is difficult to see in any light. I'm a channel surfer and this remote is just not the type you can kick back on the couch and use with ease.

I absolutely love the hard button layout, unfortunatley the size and weight of the remote requires two hands when stretching your thumb across to the buttons on the opposite side. If you need a function that is not on the hard keys you will have to squint to see the LCD buttons as they are small and tightly packed together.

I find myself turning the backlight on to see the display even in a well lit room. So even though I was initially pleased with the remote but with everyday use began to find problems with it. Problems that ultimately caused the return of my OEM remotes to the coffee table.

If your going to keep your remote planted firmly on the table and won't need functions beyond the hard buttons you might like this remote. If your a channel surfer and HT tweaker you should look elsewhere!
Quality: Features: Value:


Navigation: [ Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 1 of 15 for
the Sony RM-AV3000 remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3|4|5|6|7|Last >> ]

Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse