Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Up level
What's New
9/29/17 - All cloud-based operations to end within four years.
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the Marantz RC3200 from Marantz.
Marantz RC3200
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 2.57/5.00
Median: 1.67/5.00
7$329
The Marantz RC3200 is a new economical remote based on the popular Pronto series. It features a graphical touchscreen display and numerous hardbuttons. With the PC software you can fully customize the remote with bitmaps, macros and more.
Find universal
remotes at:
Amazon.com


Written by Dennis Carlson from Charlotte, NC.
The reviewer has used this remote control for more than two years.
Review 7 made on Saturday September 18, 2004 at 5:23 PM.
Strengths:Can use with one hand. Entire family can operate the system with ease. Software is fast and works on almost any PC.

This is the perfect remote for someone that wants to KEEP IT SIMPLE, STUPID.
Weaknesses:Requires NeoHacker to use Discrete Infrared Hex Codes and allow Home Page macro commands, although it is simple to use.

Does not remember Date and Time, not that it has ever mattered for the person using it.
Review:We always recommend this remote with any system we sell. We have programmed this remote for systems with various Receivers, DVD players, TV's (plasma, CRT, DLP, LCD alike) and have not had any problems with learning from other remotes, nor Discrete Codes, except for brands that do not use those codes (which we stay away from for all remotes).

As I mentioned before, NeoHacker is another piece of software required to translate the Discrete codes into the RC3200's form, but it works very well when coupled with Marantz's software.

If you only let the LCD screen stay on a max of 60 seconds, the batteries will last a long time. It is not difficult to "wake" it back up when it goes to sleep.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Pedja Glogovac from Norway.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 6 made on Tuesday March 16, 2004 at 3:34 PM.
Strengths:...nice design, feels good in hand,very easy and fast to learn commands from other remotes, even your girlfriend can do this,can remove some comands (like laser disc,tape etc )if you don't have (and don't need them )them in your stereo...
Weaknesses:...changing batteries every mounth, but who cares, if you have money to buy marantz reciever or this r.control then you have also money for batteries...sometimes "freeze" butons but not big deal...
Review:I don't know why other guys complaning so much about this rc, I like it A LOT and don't need better, at least in this price range !
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Dale Burns from Georgia.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 6-12 months.
Review 5 made on Wednesday October 1, 2003 at 7:49 PM.
Strengths:Does "almost" every thing
Weaknesses:won't accept X10 codes and won't take my Panasonic RP82 DVD codes. Battery life is too short.
Review:The remote came with my SR 9200 which I love. The remote however eats batteries like they were M&Ms. It needs batteries nearly every time I pick it up. I find myself using my Sony RM-LV1000 most of the time.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Remote Madness from California.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 3-6 months.
Review 4 made on Wednesday December 4, 2002 at 1:10 AM.
Strengths:Fits well in the palm of your hand, easier to read than some LCD remotes.
Weaknesses:see complete review...
Review:I have to agree with Robert Walker. I have been programming this remote for customers for the past 6 months, and the software needs an update. Especially frustrating is the remote and software inability to clean up codes.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Max Power from Ottawa, Canada.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 3 made on Friday May 10, 2002 at 12:30 PM.
Strengths:Came with my receiver(SR8200)
Weaknesses:Has a learning disability.
Review:
I have owned the Marantz RC3200 "Learning" remote control for about a month now. Marantz or whoever actually makes it did a piss-poor job on it. It has a significant learning disability (can't learn Lutron Dimmer remotes, some Panasonic buttons), and is not packaged with a library of IR codes or a piece of software to enter codes in manually. Also, the non-touch screen buttons, or "hard buttons" are just that - hard - not so good on the thumb if you surf a lot.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Todd Nelson from Ft. Lauderdale, FL.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 2 made on Monday March 11, 2002 at 10:28 AM.
Strengths:can't find any in particulaar
Weaknesses:It will not accept IR codes from Panasonic or Fujitsu. Both code strings are too long. Marantz is aware of the problem. The one I tried came with a SR 8200 and was supposed to be used for a customer using a Panasonic Plasma. WHen it would not take Panasonic codes from a RC 5000 that I had programmed in, I contacted Marantz and they said they are aware of the problem.Hopefully this will stop someone else from buying this useless piece of garbage.
Review:Useless, as part of a system using most Plasma monitors, it doesn't work
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Robert Walker from VA,USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 1 made on Wednesday March 6, 2002 at 12:08 AM.
Strengths:High CLF (cool light factor)
2-way status feedback including radio station, etc.
PC programmable.
Beep pitch & length can be incorporated in macros... pronto music!
Weaknesses:A multitude of problems...
- see complete review -
Review:Here are my technical criticisms of the programming software:

Pros:

1) The properties window may remain open when selecting buttons, pages or devices. The properties window reflects the properties of the newly selected item. In fact, the properties window is intended to remain open during the entire programming process. This is a significant improvement over previous versions of RC[xxxx] and TSU[xxx]programming software.
2) There are GREAT controls for modifying beep pitch and length. Welcome back pronto music! I'm sure some people (I, as well) will have fun with this! (Despite the fact that previous Cabernet Configuration Files are incompatible)
3) The software and related help files are end-user PC programming friendly. This, too, is a significant improvement over previous versions (specifically the help files).


Cons:

1) The software (from a professional viewpoint) is limiting. The HOME page (called 'device overview') is automatically generated when the program is saved in the setup software. No alterations are permitted to this page, effectively eliminating the ability to set up HOME page macros. This is a major design flaw.
2) IR codes cannot be manipulated in the software. Codes are to be taught directly to the RC3200. All codes uploaded to the software after being learned to the device must remain as-is. This means that 'dirty' IR codes cannot be cleaned up, nor can codes be changed from repeating to non-repeating (nor vice-versa). Also, codes cannot be cut and pasted. Codes MUST come from the proprietary device remote, or possibly from a pre-programmed 'Master' containing clean codes. In my opinion, extra time should be allocated to thoroughly test new device codes! These codes need to be treated like gold, and kept separate from all other files.
3) Device templates cannot be 'merged', they must be cut and pasted. This, possibly, is not a real problem. In fact this could potentially be an advantage.
4) The bitmap selection process doesn't allow selection by double-clicking. Additionally, there are no right-click context menus anywhere. Some valuable keyboard shortcuts are available. This is definitely an area for improvement.
5) There is no zoom for panels in the page view. I find myself leaning closer to my monitor to move and place buttons. Aesthetics is of second-level importance, but definitely an integral part of a well designed product.
6) There is no button location display in the status bar. Typically, I use this extensively when fine-tuning button placement.
7) Buttons cannot be moved in greater increments than 1 pixel.
8) The program occasionally crashes due to invalid page faults (look at Win98+ advanced menu features). All programmers should save frequently.


Glitches / Problems:

1) Bitmaps must be deleted before selecting new bitmaps of dissimilar size.
2) Special characters do not display correctly in 8 point size.
Quality: Features: Value:


Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse