Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Up level
What's New
9/29/17 - All cloud-based operations to end within four years.
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the Marantz RC9200 from Marantz.
Marantz RC9200
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 3.60/5.00
Median: 4.33/5.00
5$1299
The RC9200 is the first color remote from Marantz. Featuring the RC5200's case design and enhancements, the RC9200 also includes a rechargable battery and built-in RF capabilities.
Find universal
remotes at:
Amazon.com


Written by Doug Maxwell from NZ.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 5 made on Tuesday July 5, 2005 at 6:12 AM.
Strengths:RF link provided in box
Weaknesses:Clunky to hold, veryslow to program, original configuration very limited in button shapes, no support for XP so be prepared to buy a win98 computer again, major difficulty in getting RF output to work, grid location feature requires far too many button clicks to get something useful
Review:I have done lots of prontos and others, but I hated doing this one. Nothing was easy, changing codes from XP to 98 took at least 16 mouse clicks per button because local supplier charged $100 to fix crashed remote that he was adamant was caused by me using XP to do initial program. Graphics "stuck" when I tried to move them, the emulater crashed repeatedly, half of a button would disappear into the bakground for no apparent reason, it took me ages to find out how to change delay times etc etc etc. First remote that has ever crashed on me, hopeits the last one I ever do
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by P K Radike from Atlanta.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 3-6 months.
Review 4 made on Friday September 5, 2003 at 11:05 AM.
Strengths:Great versatility thorugh use of macros
Great screen presentation
Great comfortable design and size
Hanldes virtually any equipment controls
Weaknesses:Requires some reading for programming
Review:This unit is for the true Home Theater owner who wants customized, yet simple control of all equipment. The ability to set up hundreds of macros using icons and buttons means you can virtually set up any kind of control screens.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by J Crean from Naperville, IL.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 6-12 months.
Review 3 made on Thursday September 19, 2002 at 3:57 PM.
Strengths:Color screen is bright and easier to see. Larger screen unclutters. Hard keys mean you don't hav to take up screen space with navigation, etc. This means less pages to scroll. Also, hard keys mean navigation is standardized-- same place for every device. easier for customer to get used to and learn.
Weaknesses:The default configuration and provided buttons/backgrounds. Many button images overlap different backgrounds so you can't move them easily without white background space around them. You must either do a completely custom layout (more time and money) or use the strict and limiting Marantz layouts.
Review:Overall, I think the remote is excellent. I have drawn my own custom backgrounds and buttons, so I don't have the problems a casual user would have. The larger screen size, together with standardized menu, navigation, and exit buttons mean I can do many devices with only one page-- eliminating scrolling.
Also, by using the powerful macro and "jump" capabilities of the device, scrolling becomes altogether unecessary-- making this a very user-friendly device.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Derek Trulious from Dallas, TX.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 6-12 months.
Review 2 made on Saturday August 24, 2002 at 12:53 AM.
Strengths:More hard buttons so there is tactile feedback for cursor controls. RF capability so macros work more consistently. Larger Screen.
Weaknesses:Sides are slick and customers tend to drop it.
Review:This remote is a vast improvement over the previous generations.

With the addition of more hard buttons it now allows for more tactile feedback when using commands that require you to keep your eyes on the TV (i.e. DVD menus, sat guides, etc.).

The now larger screen helps to unclutter the layouts, however this means that you canít just copy in a Pronto Pro file without resizing to look correct.

The ability to send codes as a RF transmission now adds the ability to control several identical components without adversely affecting each other (by simply adding a second RF base set to a different transponder frequency). Also macros work much more reliably due to the fact that you no longer have to keep the remote pointed at your equipment while the macro commands are initiated. One other obvious advantage is that you can control items located in a remote location, such as whole house audio components and theater gear located in an equipment closet, without wiring in an IR repeater systems.

The color screen of the RM-9200 is far easier to read that of the 4 shade monochrome variety used on the RM-5200.

Like the above poster I also do a lot of programming. Unlike him however I feel that Marantz has hit a homerun with this product. I would however like to see Marantz using a USB port instead of the now archaic serial port for the interface, but that gives them something to work on for the next update.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by J Miller from Orange Co. CA..
The reviewer has used this remote control for 3-6 months.
Review 1 made on Monday May 6, 2002 at 1:34 PM.
Strengths:Color screen. Computer programmable, works with older CCF files making the web and this site great benefit.
Weaknesses:Its a Marantz!!!! Too bad they had to go and change it!
Oh Ya Its wayyyy UGLY!!
Review:I program remotes for a living and I have to say we stopped using Marantz because of there poor customer support and they changed a perfectly good product!!
Quality: Features: Value:


Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse