Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Previous page Next page Up level
What's New
10/17/19 - Two DACs, a delay module and extender kit highlight new offerings.
9/13/19 - Features push-to-talk voice control of Amazon Alexa and Apple TV via Siri.
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the Sony RM-VL700 from Sony Electronics.
Sony RM-VL700
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 4.12/5.00
Median: 4.50/5.00
22$39
The Sony RM-VL700 is an economical remote control that features control of 5 devices. Its comprehensive learning capability can accept codes up to 500kHz and 250-bits in length on all user keys.
Get it
at:
Amazon.com


Navigation: [ < Previous|Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 2 of 4 for
the Sony RM-VL700 remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3|4 ]

Written by Nikki from North Dakota.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 15 made on Sunday May 18, 2003 at 3:34 PM.
Strengths:Not too many. Will turn the tv off and run the vcr.
Weaknesses:I hate it. It will turn the tv off, but not on, won't work on my DSS or my DVD player or mini stereo/cd player
Review:Would not recommend. Glad I bought it used on ebay instead of paying full price.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Mike Thaler from Berkeley, Ca..
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 14 made on Friday January 31, 2003 at 4:52 PM.
Strengths:Very easy to teach it learned funtions from other remotes.
Weaknesses: If there were pre-programmed codes for either BEV (Canadian system - same as DISH network) or RCA satellite receivers, NONE of them worked. I had to make use of the learning function to plug in EVERY code.
Review: We use it to control the two sat. recvrs. mentioned above, plus two JVC VCRs and a Panny plasma.
It had virtually all the codes we needed pre-programmed in except for the sat. receivers. The main code we plugged in was the "skip search" which we use all the time as most of our TV watching is time shifted via tape.
I would definitely recommend this, altho maybe the next model up that can handle more devices would be more useful.
I had used One for All remotes for years. When the last one died and could no longer be revived, i read about this model on this forum. The idea of learning codes to any button seemed much easier to deal with than digging out "magic" codes on the web to program the One for All remote the way I wanted.
I will probably never go back to One for All. If/when the 4 other remotes around the home die, I'll get another Sony.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by D. McClure from Virginia, USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 13 made on Sunday January 26, 2003 at 6:25 AM.
Strengths:Very easy to configure, ability to learn keys that are unique to other remotes, and have I mentioned TIVO yet? Yeah, let me say it again, TIVO... works like a charm and is less than half the price to replace my failing remote that came with our DirecTV/TIVO Sony box.
Weaknesses:Maybe a little pricey compared to other models that can control more components and also have learning capabilities. Well worth it though to get DirecTV/TIVO functionality.
Review:My first goal for a remote was to control my Sony DirecTV/TIVO box. The other remote was failing and I didn't want to pay $70-$80 bucks for a new one. For half the cost, this remote works like a champ and I actually prefer it to the remote that came with the Sony DirecTV/TIVO box. Very easy to configure with one minor exception (see next paragraph). Definately buy this remote if you are looking for a replacement for the SONY DirecTV/TIVO remote.

My only complaint is that it was not really clear (ok, maybe I'm thick headed and this really is very clear) that you had to change the SAT/CBL button from CBL to SAT mode. The manual does say that the remote is defaulted to CBL mode but this just made me think that it was defaulted for a SONY cable box and I would just need to enter the SAT code for by SONY DirecTV/TIVO box. Well, this didn't work and I became a little distraught until I happened upon this site. You **MUST** first switch the type of component that the SAT/CBL button is using from CBL to SAT (requires putting the remote in learning mode - press set for 3 seconds, then press the SAT/CBL button and then do a combo button press of the PLAY and #3 buttons. Now the SAT/CBL button is ready to accept a SAT code (001 for the sony box). The manual does have the instructions for switching the components buttons from one component to another but it just didn't stike me that you had to do this to get the SAT/CBL button to work for SAT.

FYI on the TIVO part of the integrated SONY DirecTV/TIVO box... once you have the remote configured to work with the SONY box you must have the original remote that came with the SONY box in order to have this remote learn the TIVO keys. This only takes about a minute or two to setup.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Fatsheet from Hong Kong.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 12 made on Tuesday January 7, 2003 at 10:37 AM.
Strengths:Learning ability, small size, silver color.
Weaknesses:No macro.
Review:I have a VL900 in living room and I use VL700 in bedroom.

I teach VL700 to learn the remote of my 14" Aiwa TV (C148) in 5 minutes. My old RM-V211E cannot handle it at all.

Later I will try to program the Micro Macro mentioned in Review.

In a word, I am happy with this small and simple remote. I recommend it to others who need to control less devices.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Nathan from San Jose, CA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 6-12 months.
Review 11 made on Saturday January 4, 2003 at 3:17 PM.
Strengths:The strengths the VL-700 are it's ease of use and that it is easy to program.
Weaknesses:The VL-700's weekness are small buttons for the VCR controls and the lack of back lighting on the keys.
Review:I purchased the VL-700 after reading a review on this site because it was programmable for use with TiVo. but I also found out that I could program it with all my devics, even a Sanyo DVD that is not supported by any off the shelf universal remotes. I custom programed the remote just the way I need it so that I can do most of my day to day surfing with just one set of buttons. If I don't like the way it works then I can just change the buttons to whatever I want. Note for TiVo users: you must have the original remote for this one to learn from as the code for the TiVo does not work.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Brian B from Pittsburgh.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 6-12 months.
Review 10 made on Thursday January 2, 2003 at 11:27 AM.
Strengths:1) Relatively easy to program. 2) Can operate digital cable box guides, menus, etc. 3) Only $30. 4) Minimal buttons (this can go either way).
Weaknesses:1) Only 5 components (so I'm currently maxed out). 2) No macros.
Review:I was tired of off-the-shelf universal remotes that didn't contol my digital cable box and home theater. I was tired of my wife complaining about 4 remote controls for only 5 components.

The saleskid at BestBuy said that only their $199 and $99 remotes would control everything I wanted. I laughed, and then took a gamble on the $30 RM-VL700. I was able to quickly program it (less than 1 hour) to control everything.

It also lets you program a signal into the component select buttons, so with the push of the DVD button (for example), it switches the home theater to DVD mode. Push CBL, and now you have picture+sound for cable. Program it to adjust receiver volume for all components, and you don't have to push different buttons to adjust volume.

Overall, it gets high scores because it passed the 'missus' test (which means my wife can use it).
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Boyd from SanDiego, Ca.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-2 years.
Review 9 made on Monday November 11, 2002 at 3:07 AM.
Strengths:Comfortable, easy to use, has almost everything I want
Weaknesses:Lots of work unprogramming learned buttons individually, no backlighted keys
Review:Can't find instructions? They're right on this site! http://www.remotecentral.com/v...700/program.htm I used these instructions until I found mine.

I had one of the first learning remote with scores of tiny buttons all in rows. I am so much happier with this. I control everything from one remote including obscure components that no pre-programmed remote has.

The one thing I'm looking for now is a remote timer control to turn on my cable box and VCR, change channels on both, and start recording all at a time I preset. I think the Sony RM-VL1000 will handle that.
Quality: Features: Value:


Navigation: [ < Previous|Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 2 of 4 for
the Sony RM-VL700 remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3|4 ]

Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse