Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Previous page Next page Up level
What's New
9/29/17 - All cloud-based operations to end within four years.
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the Philips ProntoPro TSU6000 from Philips Electronics.
Philips ProntoPro TSU6000
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 3.49/5.00
Median: 4.00/5.00
23$999
The ProntoPro upgrades the Pronto TSU2000 with a bright 256-color LCD screen, 8 megabytes of memory, a pickup sensor, sleek new case design, more hard buttons, optional RF basestation and an improved user interface.
Get it
at:
Amazon.com


Navigation: [ Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 1 of 4 for
the Philips ProntoPro TSU6000 remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3|4 ]

Written by R Tart from Atlanta.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-2 years.
Review 23 made on Wednesday May 25, 2005 at 2:31 PM.
Strengths:Screen resolution is great. Programs just like previous Prontos; it can do basically anything. Plenty of memory for anything I want it to do.
Weaknesses:Programs just like previous Prontos! ProntoEdit is a pain to learn, but very powerful once you figure it out. Takes hours and hours to set up well for a average application, even when cutting and pasting .ccf files.
Review:I bought this unit used on eBay from someone who got it as a gift and couldn't figure out how to program it. It was fairly easy to transfer my existing TSU2000 files to this machine, but I tossed them soon after to add color. Not a lot of color gallery files available, but the ones I found were adapted pretty easily. I like the unit, but would not have paid retail for it, just for the color Wow factor. I am, however, looking at an MX-3000 sinc ethe programming interface is supposed to be easier.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Jay Keller from California, USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 22 made on Saturday January 31, 2004 at 2:55 AM.
Strengths:Just like everyone says, this is a very powerful unit and there are some nice screens written for it that are easy to find on RC.
Weaknesses:Reliability / customer support policies.

ProntEdit software is slow especially downloading to the device. The software simulator would actually be useful if
it triggered the Pronto to generate the IR signals, but it doesn't.
Also not enough hard-buttons. The lack of joystick-like hard-buttons is a big drag.
Review:I was totally sure I'd like this remote so I asked my wife to get it for me for Christmas. By two weeks after I opened the box I had a fairly nice CCF file well under way and I was near the point where I could retire the pile of remotes I was using for my new system. I'm controlling a Panasonic Plasma, SAT-HD200 DirecTV tuner, Yamaha RX-Z9 receiver, DVD, DVD-R, CD jukebox, VCR, plus another Hi8 VCR, Laserdisc, and Phono in another room, all connected to the RX-Z9. The second room also has output devices served by the Zone 2 feature of the receiver. There's also a couple of lights and an antenna rotator I want to control eventually. I also bought the RF extender for the Pronto Pro so I could hide the TiVo with it's noisy hard disk, and maybe other things too.

During a programming session I was downloading my CCF to the unit and I hit "Cancel" after realizing that I had forgotten something I wanted to add. This was fatal to my unit. It locked up and wouldn't even take the hard reset. I even tried leaving the battery out over night but this thing was deader than a door nail. Customer service recommended that I reset it, and take the battery out over night if that didn't work. After hearing that I already tried those actions, they had me send it to them.

To their credit, they are pretty quick, they'll ship the replacement even before they receive the return, as soon as they can verify the UPS or FedEx tracking number online. I was Pronto-less for about 6 days. Oh well, I didn't mind so much.

Then the box came and my heart sank when I saw that the unit they sent me had some small scratches on the display. "No way I can live with this" thought I. I take good care of my stuff and even if I did scratch it, they would be MY scratches, not somebody else's. After what I paid for the Pronto Pro I figured I deserved better.

Planning to call them the next morning, I hooked the replacement unit up and charged it, then downloaded my CCF. I could hardly believe it when I realized they had sent me a broken unit, and it made me a little :-) mad. this second ProntoPro had NO response to the touchscreen at all -- none! The software d/l'ed okay and the hard buttons worked, but there was no way to get it to respond to touch. Also, the left half of the touchscreen changes color when you touch it, my firsst one never did that...

After a week of phone calls back and forth during which I was very patient and tried not to lose my temper (they were also pretty matient, at least most of the ones I talked to), they appreciated my frustration and now have agreed to get me a full refund somehow (I'm not sure yet how that will happen, I bought it from B&H Photo).

Anyway their policy isn't too cool, buy a new one and if it's defective they'll send you a used one in its place, with stickers on it saying "refurb". Since used ones (refurbs) go for $200-300 less than new ones on the Internet, I felt like I was taking a bath. They seem to feel my pain now, although it was fairly time-consuming to deal with them. I hope they follow through.

Anyway I'm torn... Porbably if I get the refund I'll go with the TSU-7000. Philips says the 6000 is discontinued now so the only reason for anyone to buy one now is if htey are getting a really good deal, otherwise you'd want to look at the 7000 I think.

- Jay Keller

At this point
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Greg Klein from MICHIGAN.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-2 years.
Review 21 made on Monday August 11, 2003 at 11:19 PM.
Strengths:Endless macros anywhere and everywhere you want them, finally a remote that works our equipment the way we think, all with the press of one button. You can make it look any way you want it to.
Weaknesses:Pretty expensive! Pronto Edit software is hard & slow to use. You are left with a boring plain Jayne remote unless you use Pronto Edit software! Can be made so complex you may forget why you made it so complex in the first place!
Review: I sure hope Philips ProntoPRO engineers read all of our reviews and can finally see the light in the end of the tunnel, Pronto Edit is just plain too slow and complex.
1999, my boss came by and asked me what I knew about computers? I replied NOTHING! I was then in charge of the majority of the busines' computers! Swim or Drown! I still work there and Thank God, computers came natural to me. If you are the type of person who cannot figure out computers, complex software or thick manuals, this remote may not be for you.
December 2001, I started shopping for a remote. Majority of my search enginges directed me here to Remote Central. I have never shopped around as hard as I did for the most important part of our home theater. I have been to EVERY web sight, super electronics stores,and talked with other home theater owners. With that being said this web site is the very best for research. You are in the right place!
I made the choice to get a ProntoPRO regardless of the negetive reviews here. First I found out that you can download Pronto Edit for FREE from philips pronto. I also found out that you can download the manuals for ProntoPRO and Pronto Edit for FREE there as well. That was my first step in really determining if I was willing to put the cash on the line (FREE is a great word in my world!!!). I actually created my very first configuration before I got the remote! I will say that if you are considering this remote, you may want to consider this FREE dowload at philips to see if Pronto Edit is for you or not. If you fail to use Pronto Edit, you will have a very boring remote. You want this remote to be the coolest remote ever, so you have to build it.
I have never posted my configuration on this web site as I'm still fighting with the remote. It will not upload into my computer, however, that does not mean it does not work! It works great for my application.
Final word is this web site has the very largest CCF and bitmap files available anywhere. Thanks to EVERYBODY with a ProntoPRO posted on this web site, you all made my ProntoPRO look the way it does.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Robert Stephens from California.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 20 made on Saturday May 10, 2003 at 10:50 PM.
Strengths:Umm, it has a nice plastic shell. It should replace about six remotes. Other than that, I cannot really say. Maybe that the firmware update took only a little bit longer than it takes me to update the BIOS on my computer. Who knows.
Weaknesses:Well, it died on me within 24 hours of opening the box...that seems pretty significant. For something a bit fatter than a PDA the buttons seemed to feel smaller.
Review:Okay, first, I bought this from RefurbDepot.com. Caveat emptor and all that. Fine, I takes my chances and rolls the dice. Still, even at $600, it was not quite a no-brainer. But my friend has had the TSU1000 for quite some time and he was pretty happy with it, so I thought I would go one up and get color. Wanted the big ego, got the big fall.

So the box arrives, about ten days after my credit card was charged, and it is pretty beat up. I was concerned that it wouldn't even work from the get go. But I set up the charger and hook it up to my computer and let it sit for a couple of hours. Finally, my curiousity gets the better of me and I start to play with it. What do yo know, it works...more or less. The first thing I try to operate is my TV, which happens to be a 2002 Philips model. I figure it should be no sweat. Yes...and no. I could change the channels, but just about every other button acted like an On/Off toggle. None of the available options were close to ideal, which I find really bewildering. I didn'teven try to get it to accomodate my Philips cable box.

So I decide to see what updates were available. I know about electronics and patches and such, it is all a part of the game. I download the latest firmware update and software, which all went well enough. Then, because it was getting late, I set it on the charger and head off to bed.

Next day, I get nothing. The backlight on the mute button glows like it wants to say something, but the rest of it seems to be apathetic to my concern. I hit the reset button...no good. I disconnect and reconnect the battery...nada. So I start to comb the Philips website. If you were to base your assesment solely on their content, you would think that the only difficulty with the unit is the complications of programming it. I looked to the users groups (all three of them). Their advice appears to be let it sit overnight, or even for a day, unpluged. My problem with this advice is that is sounded like they were saying, "Oh yeah, this happens to me all the time, but if you do this it should clear it right up...until you need to do it again." That is like having to pull you car over for fifteen minutes out of every hour of operation because the battery gets overcharged, just ridiculous. But you know that hope springs eternal, and dammit I wanted to make my friend jealous.

In the end, all was for naught. I am now faced with the decision of an exchange with Philips after having read a nightmare story or two, or trying to return it outright to the company that sold it to me even though they have made communications as difficult as possible.

Still deciding...couldn't I just get my fingernails torn out?
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by JEFFREY DIEHL from AUSTIN, TX.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 3-6 months.
Review 19 made on Thursday December 26, 2002 at 1:56 PM.
Strengths:Color screen
Customization
Weaknesses:Price
Programming
Review:This remote is definately the top dog of remotes. I can't think of anything that it can't do with a home theater system. The only problem is figuring out how to make it do those things. It will take a lot of time and patience to program but once all is said and done, it can't be beat. I saw alot of recommendations for bluedo.com

http://www.bluedo.com/bluedocg...&model=TSU-6000

so I checked them out. They shipped it in no time and ALL their remotes are NEW. Unlike e-bay where you will be lucky to find one that isn't refurbished.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Mauricio from Morgan Hill, CA USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 18 made on Thursday October 24, 2002 at 4:13 PM.
Strengths:Flexibility to program and make the screen look the way you want it, shuch as change the size and location of the bottoms. Very bright colors. And it turns on when you pick it up. I love that.
Weaknesses:PRICE...PRICE....PRICE, if this device was under $300 they would same thousands, at that price, they will only get few folks buying. The ProEditor is very user unfriendly, it is not easy to copy move or edit icons. I have not been able to use the supplied gallery of bottons supplied with the program. The device does not display them when you download them. It would be nice if they supply a link with bottons and graphics such as backgrounds that are easy to download.
Review:I got the remote two weeks ago, it has taken me that long to get it to my satisfaction, but, I had a great time playing with it, because the results are very satisfying. The graphics are great, the ease of learning and manipulating your screens is quire a feature. Even if the ProEdit program sucks it still give you the flexibility to create a great display. I have not found anything that I can't program yet. I did not mind the time that takes to get it to look the way I wanted, because at the end it looks great.

I also loved the programmable hard bottoms, it allows me to uses them separately of each device...very nice. Also the colors are bright and easy to see for some of us who are getting a bit older every day. My friends love the fact that you pick up the remote and it goes ON.

The device fits the hand well and it is easy to operate. The screen can be a little larger since you can only fit a small set of buttons otherwise they would have to be too small and hard to press. I found a good price for a refurbished until under $500, I would have never paid more than that.

Can someone provide link to existing websites where I can download more buttons or screen profiles...!

I did have problems connecting the device to one of my computers, it appears that if your computer is using COM1 it doe not connect.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Cory Helms from Colorado, USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 17 made on Tuesday September 10, 2002 at 4:20 PM.
Strengths:Flexible interface. Love how you can customize the graphics.
Weaknesses:Out of box experience was a nightmare! Takes forever to set up devices.
Review:At such a high price, you'd think that this remote would be user-friendly with a quick way to set up basic devices. This is definitely not the case. The UI is extremely confusing and the ergonomics are subpar. After it has been set up, it's not a bad remote, but why not make the initial experience easier? The customization of the interface graphics is great. I wish the screen wasn't so muddy.
Quality: Features: Value:


Navigation: [ Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 1 of 4 for
the Philips ProntoPro TSU6000 remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3|4 ]

Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse