Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Up level
What's New
9/29/17 - All cloud-based operations to end within four years.
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the One For All URC-8780 from One For All.
One For All URC-8780
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 3.78/5.00
Median: 4.17/5.00
6$59.99
The One For All URC-8780 8-device remote is a more cost effective version of the URC-8800, lacking the "Home Theater" button but still providing learning capabilities and an LCD screen.
Find universal
remotes at:
Amazon.com


Written by BreT from CT, USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-2 years.
Review 6 made on Saturday June 26, 2004 at 1:11 PM.
Strengths:Controled my Onkyo TXSV-545 turned on and off all my items at once.
Weaknesses:only lasted about 1 to 1 1/2 years and the buttons don't work any more. Junk. Won't buy again. Looking for a better one.
Review:Worked good when I first got now it stoped working after 1 1/2 years.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by b wallace from canada.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 5 made on Saturday July 13, 2002 at 3:39 PM.
Strengths:backlit, LCD screen with clock.
Weaknesses:not as many functions when compared to cheaper one for all units (see below)
Review:I had the oneforall cinema 7 and you could not only learn to the four learn buttons, but also reprogram any other key, ie cursor arrows, keypad, etc. so it the codes weren't just perfect, your could fix it by learning the proper command. also, i found i could not use the learned buttons in a macro. i e-mailed the manufacturer to see if i just had a lemon unit, but they haven't bothered to e-mail me back. i am tempted to return the unit and buy the cheaper cinema 6 or 7, but i really like the lit keypad and lcd screen. it's too bad, with the programming abilities of the cinema 7 and the extra features of the theatre plus, this remote would be great.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by David Christensen from MA, USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 4 made on Sunday December 2, 2001 at 6:12 PM.
Strengths:Controls all my equipment OK, and is likely to work with your equipment, also.
Weaknesses:Only one macro key with limited programming capability.
Review:Well, I'm happy with it. A remote control will only be good for you if it controls most functions of all your equipment. The only way to really know that is to try it yourself. If you are considering this remote, you might want to download the owner's manual from www.oneforall.com to see if it at least has codes listed for all your equipment. That's no guarantee it will work, but if you do NOT see a code listed for your equipment, you might want to consider trying some other remote first.

In case you have similar equipment, I'm using it with an Onkyo TX-DS494 A/V receiver, Philips TP2785C 27" TV/monitor, Philips DVD711 DVD player and Sony SLV-675HF VCR. This universal remote control is not perfect, but it's close enough that I consider it a keeper.

Some minor glitches: While it controls the Onkyo receiver just fine, it has no control button to select DVD input or Surround Mode. It DOES have buttons for all other Inputs. (so why did they leave out the DVD?) So I set up "L1 - L4" with the learning function to be DVD, TV (vid 1), VCR (vid 2) and Surround. That way, I've got control of the most common functions in an easy to remember sequence.

Another minor glitch is that if you "lock" the volume control to control one particular component (Onkyo receiver, in my case), the volume control won't work at all if you select DVD. The workaround for this is to "move" buttons from receiver/tuner mode to DVD mode. It's kind of tedious, but it works great when it's set up.

The third minor glitch is that I can't get the sleep function to work with my Philips TV. I've even tried the "learning" function with the factory remote control, but the URC-8780 simply won't do "sleep" with my Philips TV. The best I can do is get the URC-8780 to turn sleep "OFF" . . . I can not turn it on or adjust it. This is the one function of ALL functions on ALL my equipment that I can not get to work at all with this remote.

The macro function would be handy if it had more storage room. If you have to control more than one component, or a component with on-screen menus, the macro button is practically useless. (only 15 buttons, which is not a lot) Also, the macro plays back at a fixed speed, so it doesn't always work well for perfoming on-screen menu functions. (the macro gets ahead or behind the menu itself)

Anyway, all my "problems" with this remote are very minor. Considering the price, and the fact that I got rid of four remotes with this thing, I think it's overall a good value, and I'm happy with it.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Jim LaBundy from Farmington,Mo.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 3 made on Monday July 9, 2001 at 9:27 PM.
Strengths:Ease of programming; Ease of use; many codes; backlight;
Weaknesses:The directions on programming timed sequences are confusing.
Review:I need assistance in learning how to program it to turn on digital cable box and vcr, and record different channels while I'm away. I know it will do it, as I can get it to, but only on a random basis, as I really don't understand the language in the directions ("sat + sat + vcr + 275 + record +.."). I think this may be one of the only answers to timed vcr use with high-numbered digital channels.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by earl from MI.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 2 made on Monday March 12, 2001 at 11:42 AM.
Strengths:Well built, well designed and button well layed out
Weaknesses:Did not feed my cat
Review:I have been using this remote for about 1 week now, and I must say that I love everything about it. The only problem that I have found is that I have not be able to figure out is how do I program it to feed my cat. The previous reviewer likes this feature but I can not get it to work. How nice it would be to come home after a hard day at work and click a few buttons to watch a great DVD and have my cats fed at the same time.The manual does not go into much detail about this cat feeding option. other that that this is in my opion the best remote on the market in it`s price range.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by felix the cat from ohio.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 1 made on Sunday March 4, 2001 at 12:22 PM.
Strengths:very well built
Weaknesses:none yet but I only had it for 2 weel\ks.
Review:He best remote I have found to date. I replaced 7 remotes with this one. And I programed it to even feed the cat twice a day. great product.priced right. If you need a do it all remote and own a cat this is for you.
Quality: Features: Value:


Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse