Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Previous page Next page Up level
What's New
9/29/17 - All cloud-based operations to end within four years.
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the Philips Pronto TSU2000 from Philips Electronics.
Philips Pronto TSU2000
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 3.88/5.00
Median: 4.33/5.00
52$399
Based on one of the most popular LCD remote controls in the marketplace, the TSU2000 doubles the amount of memory over the TS-1000 and includes a huge new built-in library of infrared codes.
Get it
at:
Amazon.com


Navigation: [ Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 1 of 8 for
the Philips Pronto TSU2000 remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3|4|5|6|7|Last >> ]

Written by TimH from Dana Point, CA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for more than two years.
Review 52 made on Tuesday September 13, 2005 at 5:59 PM.
Strengths:Flexibility!
Reliability.
Weaknesses:Steep learning curve
Review:I've had my Pronto for a couple of years now. It took me several days of dedicated work to get the remote functioning the way I wanted. The ProntoEdit software while powerful wasn't intuitive. Since the initial programming effort I have only revisted the configuration twice. Both times was to tweak a small change that made it more intuitive to get to the appropriate button. I did run into a weird issue. I had the charging station and rechargable battery but the charging station partly melted the contacts (both on the station and it singed the back of the remote). I think the rechargable battery started to short. Fortunately, I was able to simply remove that battery and go back to using AA batteries. It turns out that the newer Lithium photo AA batteries last for months! Thank goodness because I wasn't looking forward to returning/replacing the device or the battery. This thing is still working like a charm and has simplified the whole remote control jungle. My fiance was mystified at first, but within a couple minutes of showing her the menus (hey I created the menus for me not her) she caught right no. Now we fight over the remote (typical). I've been looking at replacing it, but am not convinced that there is anything particularly better. I don't really need a color display and the cost of the new units is still pretty dang steep. All in all, I love this thing. I'm pretty dang happy that I bought it. I just don't relish the idea of replacing it.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Joe from Chicago.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-2 years.
Review 51 made on Monday March 22, 2004 at 11:21 PM.
Strengths:Lots of great on line downloadable interfaces. Once you program this puppy, you can forget about the hassel you went through to do so.
Weaknesses:Battery charge indicator never shows a full charge. Putting the unit in the charging cradle gives it a 5 minute charge then I've got to lift it off the charger and put it back on to continue charging. This has been my biggest complaint...the charging of this unit sucks. For faster click click clicking, I still use the original remote (ie: TIVO) because the Pronto interface just does not make it.
Review:I purchased this unit because I had way too many remotes. I spent many hours getting the units to learn my remotes. I also recall spending a great deal of time doing the programming on my PC. I was thrilled that I could download great graphic interfaces and use those to plug in my signals. However, I have not programed this unit in several months, and am about to splurge on a whole new entertainment system. I am loathing the tasking of relearning how to program the unit. If I decide to spurge more, I will get a new universal that is not a Pronto unless the newer Prontos' are easier to work with.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by KT Kelly from NC.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-2 years.
Review 50 made on Wednesday November 19, 2003 at 1:37 PM.
Strengths:Customizable (not easily though).
Weaknesses:Requires a lot of effort to program, not a end user friendly remote. But then, how many really elaborate remotes are?
Review:I had a TSU1000 prior to this, and have programmed a few ProntoNeo's as well, so I had a handle on the programming side before getting started.

Yes, this remote is not for the feint of heart. Programming it WILL tax your nerves, if you don't plan ahead. But, the end result can be a remote that is so simple to operate that it's scary.

As with ANY programmable remote, the action plan needs to be carefully laid out, before any attempt to program the device. You just can't do this on the fly.

After all is said and done, having a one button system on/off is the whole deal.

I hand the remote to a prospective customer and say "tap the button that says system on". And the WOW factor begins, as all the equipment, the lights, the fireplace and the drapes begin there individual sequences.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by rjk from Seattle,WA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 49 made on Sunday March 23, 2003 at 3:18 AM.
Strengths:Looks kinda cool
Weaknesses:horrible manual and software. screen shuts off after a few seconds. not bright enough. for the amount of time it would take to program, I could hire a kid to be my remote!
Review:I should have done more research...but thought, I've got to do something about having 5 remotes to use. After three hours of set up, I had enough. Says it can handle cable boxes...but it isn't on the main device menu, so you have to create it and manually program. Tried using learning mode...no go at all. Now if I could go to a website and load all my devices up, then download I'd consider keeping. Good idea....and for computer geeks with tons of time on their hands, it may work fine. For 98% of the population, you will hate it.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by John Herrero from Oakland, CA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-2 years.
Review 48 made on Friday February 7, 2003 at 6:20 PM.
Strengths:Reliable signaling, extremely flexible, fun and quick to program, accepts hand-edited codes, good hard-button layout
Weaknesses:Hard to read, can't operate by touch, emitter at right angle to screen (so it points at the ceiling when you hold it in front of your face!), slow screen switching, contrast control easily moved by accident
Review:I really tried hard to like this remote. It was a lot of fun to create graphics for my Pronto and design the interface, but I eventually grew weary of the dim screen, its unpredictable touch response and the need to gaze constantly down at it.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Har1 from Seattle, USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 6-12 months.
Review 47 made on Wednesday January 15, 2003 at 6:26 PM.
Strengths:Easy of Use, Easy to create macros, cutom graphics, nearly indestructable
Weaknesses:slightly hard to read without back lighting
Review:This has been an awesome remote. I have been using it for a year and once I learned to ropes on how to program it, everything else was a breeze. Use the Pronto Software to create your screens on a PC, then download to the remote. Very simple. It also allows changes to be made very easily and quickly. The macro sequencing is very strait forward and provides unlimited customization. I have mine set up for one touch configuration for Movies, XBOX, TV with Audio, and music. Another macro button to configure the tv back to watch cable with no hassel. Also, with the infrared light switches, you can impress your friends by dimming lights from the chair. Also, my wife has dropped this remote more times than I can remember, and it always works. Just wish I could program it to get me a beverage. Love it! Worth the money if you have a home theater set-up with many remotes.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Claude from Northern VA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 46 made on Monday December 30, 2002 at 5:33 PM.
Strengths:small, customizable
Weaknesses:screen hard to read at times. touchscreen sometimes not sensitive enough. Was nice while it was working.
Review:Spent a few hours programming the unit, then it froze up! I had to re-boot. Lost all my programming and then it failed to re-set. It's being returned. Definitely leery of the quality of this product. Back to the drawing board...will probably try the Sony 3000 next.
Quality: Features: Value:


Navigation: [ Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 1 of 8 for
the Philips Pronto TSU2000 remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3|4|5|6|7|Last >> ]

Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse