Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Previous page Next page Up level
What's New
9/29/17 - All cloud-based operations to end within four years.
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the Marantz RC5000i from Marantz.
Marantz RC5000i
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 4.16/5.00
Median: 4.33/5.00
15$549
The Marantz RC5000i is enhanced over the original RC5000 with twice as much user memory -- meaning you can fill 'er up with devices, macros, CD jukebox listings, favorite channels and much more!
Find universal
remotes at:
Amazon.com


Navigation: [ Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 1 of 3 for
the Marantz RC5000i remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3 ]

Written by Umesh Ariyaratne from melbourne,Australia.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 6-12 months.
Review 15 made on Sunday October 2, 2005 at 1:53 AM.
Strengths:This Rc 5000i is a wonderful remote control with the ability of controling massive amount of hi fi equipments. it looks very handy with the gold colour with green LCD panel
Weaknesses:itis not very easy to edid the software. can contorl mainly marantz and philps products. some aspects of labeling and and deleting not very easy for a new user.
Review:When I purchase RC 5000i i did not really understood its capacity over controling hi fi equpments. But after doing some experiments with it, i knew that is a must have remote control for hi fi fans with many audeo visials. it's macro function is unbelevable as I have a seperate home theater room with more than 10 Hi FI equipments with a projector touch of one button can animate the whole room. I am extreamly happy for purchasing such universal remote control from Marantz
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by shyam shah from Denver colorado.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 6-12 months.
Review 14 made on Monday July 14, 2003 at 10:57 PM.
Review:its verry good touch remote to use if you have big theater with lots of components.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Richard from Montreal.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-2 years.
Review 13 made on Tuesday February 25, 2003 at 4:11 PM.
Strengths:It really can just about do anything you could reasonably expect from it. It is big enough not to lose it, yet small enough to be convenient.
Weaknesses:Programing this thing is definitely not for the faint of heart. You absolutely need to be a dyed-in-the-wool tweakaholic of you are going to take any pleasure whatsoever in the business of setting this thing up.
Review:I bought this unit as part of my first ever home theatre installation. The salesman told me that I would not be able to live without it, but that I probably would not be able to live with it either.

Two years down the road, I absolutely know what he was talking about. It is the ultimate jack-of-all-trades and master of none. The main problem is that it is basically very slow. If you make two keystrokes on the touchscreen in rapid succession, chances are one of them will not register. Entering a three-digit channel number for my sattelite receiver, for example, will rarely work. One of the keystrokes almost inevitably fails to register.

There is a practical limit to the number of controls you can put on any one screen, so you will find it is necessary to jump from screen to screen quite frequently. This is an achingly slow process. Like running Windows XP on a 486. You will get fed up with it very soon. Despite what you might read here, this thing is NOT FAST.

I will typically rely on the Marantz for most of the function that it provides, but I will keep the original remotes handy for specific purposes. For anything other than regular channel surfing, I'll pick up the sattelite remote. To navigate my way through a DVD's menus I'll pick up the DVD remote. To skip through the commercials on my VCR, out comes the VCR's remote.

So, in summary, I have got to hand it to the original salesman. I bought the thing, and I would be very disappointed if it ever broke, but it still frustrates the heck out of me most days.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Jim O'Neal from Michigan.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 3-6 months.
Review 12 made on Friday June 28, 2002 at 3:34 PM.
Strengths:The massive ammount of memory, the GUI (Graphic User Interface), and this web site, which is about the best reason to buy one, thanks to Daniel Tonks.
Weaknesses:It can be hard to learn to use the computer programing option, but it is well worth it. And, the user manual leaves alot out. You MUST have good common sense and logic skills.
Review:This remote is more than i thought it would be when I ordered it, but now that I am learning all of the ins and outs of it, I am very pleased with the capabilaties that this remote offers. Plan on many hours of programing time to use the full potential of this small wonder, OR K.I.S.S. (Keep It Simple Stupid) and use the built-in pages and simply teach your new remote the IR codes with the Built-in eye.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Pierre Gauthier from Montreal, Quebec.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 6-12 months.
Review 11 made on Saturday January 26, 2002 at 7:52 PM.
Strengths:Extremely versatile, good battery life between recharges, solid feel. When programmed with a PC, the remote can do just about anything including learning anything I have thrown at it so far.
Weaknesses:Varying screen contrast under different temperatures. Poor contrast altogether. Must use backlight to see properly under most lighting conditions.
Review:I work for a home theatre company here in Montreal and am called upon to program all RC5000, Pronto TSU2000, RAV2000 remotes (yes, we carry the Marantz and Yamaha lines). I have been programming these remotes now for 10 months. The general feedback from my customers is they love their remote but find it difficult to navigate through it. What I normally do is create a whole bunch of macros so the remote becomes "One button operation" and put them in the home page rather than the macro page so they cannot be accidentally altered.

I rarely get any recalls so I can assume that the remotes work well under most customer operating conditions (my customers are for the most part very wealthy people who are usually technically challenged when it comes to using their home theatre gear).

In conclusion, I can say that the RC5000 et al. are excellent remotes (I personally own an RC5000i) and would recommend them to anyone... even the technically challenged.

One note I'd like to add is the software seems unreliable at times. If you go too fast it creates an error condition and then shuts down therefore losing any unsaved data. It does this when you try to learn IR commands through the remote into the PC. I use Windows XP so this may have something to do with it. I would appreciate any kind of input relative to this so if anybody reading this article knows anything I don't (which shouldn't be too hard), please E-mail me your ideas. Thank You.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Mark Powell from Washington State.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 10 made on Monday December 31, 2001 at 2:02 PM.
Strengths:Versatile, connectivity to the PC went all right.
Weaknesses:Easy to interface with other Marantz Products. Have not been able to find codes for my RCA DVD player or my VCR. More Importantly, have been unable to get the remote to LEARN from my current remotes. I have tried between 1/2 inch to Six feet apart with half-inch incrememts and all I get is failure. Very disappointing. I do not know what to do from here.
Review:All in all, the weak documentation and non-existing support, along with the problems I have had getting the unit to Learn from my current remotes has made this a poor investment for me.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Fernando Di Lonardo from Argentina.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 3-6 months.
Review 9 made on Wednesday November 28, 2001 at 12:21 PM.
Strengths:Easy to use.
Solid Build.
PC Connectivity.
Weaknesses:Poor Contrast LCD - Low resolution.
Only built in codes for Marantz and Philips.
Review:This remote can replace all your existing remotes and still have all the functions available unlike many fixed button remotes.
The best for home theater.
Quality: Features: Value:


Navigation: [ Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 1 of 3 for
the Marantz RC5000i remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3 ]

Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse