Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Previous page Next page Up level
What's New
9/29/17 - All cloud-based operations to end within four years.
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the Sony RM-AV2000 from Sony Electronics.
Sony RM-AV2000
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 3.83/5.00
Median: 3.83/5.00
10$179
The Sony RM-AV2000 touchscreen LCD learning remote control can control up to 12 components along with several macros and excellent backlighting.
Get it
at:
Amazon.com


Navigation: [ Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 1 of 2 for
the Sony RM-AV2000 remote.
[ Go to: |1|2 ]

Written by killfactory42 from USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for more than two years.
Review 10 made on Wednesday August 23, 2006 at 10:53 AM.
Strengths:Versatile learning capability, good LCD contrast and brightness, excellent battery life for a touchscreen remote. Practically future-proof.
Weaknesses:Inability to customize soft-button labels. A few more hard buttons, especially a directional keypad (a-la RM-AV2500 or RM-AV3000), would have been nice.
Review:I originally purchased my RM-AV2000 "commander" back in 1999. It was THE cutting-edge remote back then, and I was so pleased with how well it was able to replace all of my other remotes without limiting my ability to control my home theater with ease. Fast-forward seven years later and this thing is still every bit as useful as it was back then.

Over the years, the commander slowly began to see less and less use. My wife stopped using it altogether (and consequently didn't get the benefit of the home theater's audio system). But this only happened because of my incorrect assumption that because the commander was getting so old, that it was too outdated to be able to control our newer components, such as our LCD HDTV and video-on-demand service.

I was just about to start shopping around for a new universal remote, when I decided I better at least give the old commander a try, to see if it could still be programmed to control out newest, fanciest gadgets. I cleaned off all the dust and gunk that had accumulated on it during the years of neglect, dug up the old user manual and started reprogramming it.

Now that I've finished reprogramming it and restoring it to its original luster, I've been pleasantly surprised to find that I'm just as pleased with it now as I was back in 1999. It handles our new TV and our video-on-demand just fine. I can once again control my entire home theater with a single remote.

The bottom line is that the RM-AV2000 remote commander has such versatile and robust learning and programming features that it is practically future-proof.

My only wish now is that, with the proliferation of directional keypads for navigating menus (for DVDs, TVs, STBs, etc), it would have been nice if the commander had hard buttons for the directional keypad since they get used so often (and it would also free up many soft keys for all of those devices). Maybe if I find a really great deal on the AV-RM2000's newest successor, the AV-RM3000, I'll consider upgrading. But even if I stick with the AV-RM2000, I suspect it could easily last another ten years.

As a final wrap-up to this long-winded review, I though I'd mention that originally the RM-AV2000 sold for about $200.00 (if I remember correctly). Back then, that seemed to me like a LOT of money to shell out for a remote (actually it still does!). I doubt it is still available in retail stores today. But if you are on a budget, I suspect it's possible to find an RM-AV2000 floating around somewhere (on eBay or such places) for far less than any new universal remote. With it's powerful learning/programming capability, and low price because it is so old, I'd say the RM-AV2000 is an unbeatable value today if you can find one in good condition.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Nick Deeming from Birmingham, United Kingdom.
The reviewer has used this remote control for more than two years.
Review 9 made on Saturday July 10, 2004 at 3:00 PM.
Strengths:Easy to use, Easy to setup. Batteries last ages even with heavy use from the backlit screen. Good Value for money.
Weaknesses:Heavy and cumbersome. When you hold the buttons down, they dont repeat the function, you have to repeatedly lift your finger on and off. Especially frustrating when wanting to turn volume up and down quickly!
Review:Very pleased with it over the time owned. Easy to use, other people pick up how to use it quickly. Only reason i am going to change it would be because i fancy one of the new models!
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Jason from Oregon,USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-2 years.
Review 8 made on Monday January 6, 2003 at 6:20 PM.
Weaknesses:could not learn the volume control on one of Sony's very own high end ES receivers
Review:Just wanted to say I purchased this remote to consolidate several sony remotes into one. I run all Sony AV components except for the speakers. I was extremely disapointed to find that to no avail, the remote would not learn the volume up or down function from my sony receiver remote. So if you own a DA-90ES
Don't bother with this remote. If someone knows of a universal remote that can learn the volume control of a sony DA90-ES receiver's remote please let me know.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Adolfo Barreto from Miami, FL.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 6-12 months.
Review 7 made on Friday February 1, 2002 at 8:06 PM.
Strengths:We've been using this remote at home. I liked it so much I started selling it. The remote is extremely easy to use. The Touch screen is Backlit for no light situations. It also works from up to 30 feet away. We sell them for $114.95 email us if you want one: [email protected] .
Weaknesses:The only thing I found was that it is a little bulky. The size issue goes away though after you use it for a couple of hours.
Review:The RM-AV2100 Universal Learning Remote controls up to 12 audio/video components. Pre-programmed operation: already ''knows'' the command functions for components of most major brands without tedious manual programming. Learning function enables you to program the remote for specialized operations unique to your specific components, additional compatible A/V equipment and other types of infrared remote equipment, including compatible motorized projection screens, window blinds, room lights and air conditioners. Liquid Crystal Display (LCD) touch pad shows only the relevant controls. Enables you to control dozens and dozens of functions with large, easy-to-use virtual buttons. Blue backlight for easy visibility in the dark. ''Macro'' function lets you program three sequences of up to 16 commands; for example, a single macro can set up your DVD Player, Television and A/V Receiver for optimum DVD playback. Each macro executes at the touch of a button. I would recommend this remote to anyone. We like it so much we started selling it! If your interested in one we sell them for 114.95 just email us to order: [email protected]
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Quirijn Chabot from Brielle, The Netherlands.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-2 years.
Review 6 made on Tuesday February 27, 2001 at 8:35 AM.
Strengths:Easy layout, easy programming of the macro function. Cheap for offered features
Weaknesses:Not programmable with PC. No custom images. Heavy due to batteries
Review:The Sony RM-AV2000 is an back to basic RC, with some nice features. It is a gain for your home, but has little enhanced features found on e.g. the Philips Pronto ( Which is normal if you compare the prices)
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Joey from Singapore.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 5 made on Tuesday February 27, 2001 at 3:44 AM.
Strengths:Easy to setup. Touch Screen works well. The design has a certain cool factor if you like big touchscreen remote with bluelit. Price is low.
Weaknesses:Label name is fixed. Limited build-in IR code for non-sony product. Requires 6 AA batterys. Not an absolute replacement to all your remotes.
Review:I used this remote to control my new home theater setup. It consist of a thomson 52" rear projection, a yamaha AX-1, a pioneer dvd 525, a pioneer laser disc player and the marantz st-6000 tuner.

Well, I have two problems when I setup the AV2000 to control my HT. First, the build-in thomson codes could not operate my projection tv so the AV2000 need to learn every single IR code. Secord, its that thomson remote has more than one IR signal attach to a single button. So, during difference setup screens, the IR signal is difference. So I only managed to programmed those day to day operation IR codes.

Another problem is that I can forget about controlling the marantz tuner as it is controlled thru their proprietary marantz cable linkup. Should have avoid such product in the first place, anyway its too late for me.

The AV2000 remote allow the user to control the on/off of 'beep' acknowledgement and the brightness of the backlit in order to conserve batterylife.
I like the leave the beep on as it help me determine whether I have press the button or not.

I have not tried their macro yet. That allow the user to sent a series of IR codes to their respective devices in order to automate further. Will do once I have the time.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Sean Lowrey from Kansas City, KS.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-2 years.
Review 4 made on Saturday October 14, 2000 at 4:23 PM.
Strengths:Great LCD and touchscreen. Decent battery life and works with most remotes.
Weaknesses:Fields are not programmable to be able to name things according to your specifications. A little large but budget priced and worth the cash!
Review:I've used this remote for over a year now and until I got a Marantz RC5000i, this was my favorite of all time. I liked the large cool blue touchscreen and the way you could activate or deactivate the buttons. Being anal, Soundfeild, drove me crazy but overall it's a good remote for one heck of a steal.
Quality: Features: Value:


Navigation: [ Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 1 of 2 for
the Sony RM-AV2000 remote.
[ Go to: |1|2 ]

Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse