Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Previous page Next page Up level
What's New
9/29/17 - All cloud-based operations to end within four years.
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the Marantz RC1200 from Marantz.
Marantz RC1200
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 3.58/5.00
Median: 4.00/5.00
11$179
The RC1200 learning remote control is a reworked version of the original RC-2000, with a new button layout and LCD screen.
Find universal
remotes at:
Amazon.com


Navigation: [ Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 1 of 2 for
the Marantz RC1200 remote.
[ Go to: |1|2 ]

Written by Bernard Bonsor from UK.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 11 made on Wednesday June 15, 2005 at 3:47 PM.
Strengths:not sure yet
Weaknesses:Can anyone tell me if this remote can control a Marantz digital compact cassette model no.DD-82
Review:Seems to work tv,video,tuner.dvd, etc by still not sure about digital recorder, I bought this remote specially for this purpose,can any one help ,please
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by eakf from Ottawa, Canada.
The reviewer has used this remote control for more than two years.
Review 10 made on Monday July 19, 2004 at 10:21 AM.
Strengths:Looks good
Handles many devices
Has a lot of memory
Ergonomic
Weaknesses:Keypad layout
Macro execution times
Review:I replaced this remote with an MX-500 and haven't looked back.

Overall, this is a solid remote built by a reputable company. I had the revised version with grey case and much-needed backlight.

I liked the number of devices it handled, and it more than made up for the lack of programmable buttons, but I can see how some wouldn't like this. I had to split my DVD functions over the DVD and CD devices. It had no problems learning any of my devices commands and I never had any memory problems.

I liked the thumb wheel and the fact that it had an enter button on the left and right making it easy to use in either hand. I had to tweak the soft-button locations to use the wheel effectively though. Finding the command in the dark wasn't too much of a problem as the wheel provides tactile feed-back. Once I planned my layout properly, the main functions were only one or two positions away. Having the programmable backlight was necessary at times though. I thought the wheel was a very innovative solution to adding keys and keeping the form factor down. That's the one area I like better than my MX-500.

Keypad layout was the main reason I upgraded this remote. I didn't have problems with the 1-6, 9-0 number layout, but I definitely didn't like the "shifted" transport keys. The shift key was tiny and awkwardly placed. I understand this was done out of necessity for form factor, but in practical use, it was not well thought out.

Macros were another disappointment. Holding for three seconds was excruciating at times and the delay between steps was too long and not configurable. I ended up ignoring macros as I was able to hit all the buttons much faster myself.

In all I really liked this as one of my first truly universal remotes, but If you're looking for your first remote, look at the MX-500 instead.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Rammit Hardeep from London, England.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 3-6 months.
Review 9 made on Saturday March 15, 2003 at 1:46 PM.
Strengths:Back lit display, learns 11 macros each with 10 commands. Very durable -been dropped a few times without even a scratch. Good battery life. Very very cheap only paid 50($79)inc VAT new, then I saw them reduced next month for 40($63) - doh!
Weaknesses:Jog wheel a needs a little getting used to. Cannot learn PACE digital TV receiver codes. Labels seem to fade on buttons quickly
Review:I love this remote, though I do plan to replace it with a touch screen unit. This is great. It can store most of my devices including: Kenwood CD, Pioneer MD, Yamaha Tuner, Marantz Amp and Tape deck, Sony DVD and VCR, JVC TV and light switches, and even the infrared interface on my Toshiba laptop. Could do with a few more buttons, like a REC button. Is a little difficult to use fastext from teletext as there arent enough buttons for the TV
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Mark from Melbourne, Australia.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 8 made on Sunday October 27, 2002 at 7:37 AM.
Strengths:Command flexibility with the LCD. Learns well, and easy to program
Weaknesses:No backlight. Not a very ergonomic design. Jog dial unresponsive and impractical.
Review:I got this remote with my Marantz SR-7200 receiver, and after teaching it all my device codes, have never liked it.

I have a projector so most of my viewing is done in the dark, so I need to feel what I am pressing, or have a backlit display.

In addition to the minimal set of hard buttons, each device can have up to ten commands programmed in and labelled on the LCD, and selected via a jog dial. Most device-specific commands need to be setup as LCD commands, which is extremely inconvenient because you have to actually look at the display. Turning the jog rotates through the commands.. 1-2-3-4-5-6-7-8-9-10-1-2 .. etc, so in the dark you can't even turn it to the left 10 clicks as a reference, then count clicks to the right.

The cursor-transport toggle is in an extremely difficult to reach spot, and again there is no way of telling which mode the remote is in without looking at the display.

From the factory, the volumn controls punch-through on the CD, DVD and TUNER, but bar using a second learning remote I could not find a way to punch-through the TV volume controls.

One thing that I did like about the input selectors, is that they only send the IR signal after the second push. The first push changes the mode of the remote, the second changes the input signal on the receiver.

CONCLUSION:
It works, although it seems that not a lot of thought was put into the usability of this remote.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Tom Purcell from San Francisco, California.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 6-12 months.
Review 7 made on Thursday June 20, 2002 at 5:22 PM.
Strengths:Small size. Decent build quality
Weaknesses:Weak IR. Function and Transport keys toggle by small button. Hard to use. Expensive. Not enough programable hard keys. Difficult to use thumb wheel. Keys not lighted, and glow is very weak.
Review:The center of my system is a Marantz SR-18, which I love, and it came with the big old remote, RC-18SR, which is the OEM version of the RC-2000 Mk. II, I think. That thing was very complicated and awkward to use, so I got the RC-1200. It did fit with my reciever somewhat, but otherwise it was a bad move.

Besides the SR-18, I run a DirectTV/TIVO combination box, two VCRs and a DVD. From the start, the 1200 was a bit hard to program properly, and did not have enough learning hard buttons. The thumb wheel is hard for my big paws to use, and of course, you have to look at it.

Here is another area where you really had to look at the remote. D/TIVO often requires you to use Function and Transport buttons in sequence, and the only way to toggle back and forth between these two features is with one of the smallest and hardest to get to buttons on the whole remote. You also have to look at the screen sometimes to figure if you are in function or transport mode. Aaaaaargh!

The IR signal it puts out is the weakest I have ever seen. It has to point RIGHT at the unit to control it. In our set-up, you have to hold it level and three to four feet from the ground, pointed right at the equipment. Then, if the On macro does not hit all of the units, you have to figure out which one, and toggle to its control, then turn it on individually. Same with the Off macro. My wife never did really figure this one out.

There were so few learning hard buttons, that I programed some functions onto the number buttons, and when I would need those numbers, I would have to go get the original remote. Kind of defeats the purpose.

As I mentioned, you have to look at this thing often, and when you do, soometimes there are problems. The screen contrast goes very dim well before the batteries wear out, and the "glow" keys give out after about 30 minutes in the dark.

I finally got a MX-500 to replace this turkey, and I am in love with it. It does everything the 1200 doesn't do, and the Wife Approval Factor is way up there. Life is good again.



Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Joe Charles from galloway, NJ.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 3-6 months.
Review 6 made on Monday May 6, 2002 at 9:26 PM.
Strengths:Learns well. Button layout. Buttons illuminate in dark if left in light. 11 devices.
Weaknesses:Cant put macros on every button. No serial/usb port for computer hookup. No light for lcd (i saw a lighted 1200 once, so I dont know why they werent all lighted). Only pre-programmed for marantz.
Review:It took me a while to get used to the button layout (especialy the 0-9 buttons), but after using it for several months, Ive come to love it. I'm not a big fan of touch screen remotes so this worked out great for me. I have had no problem learning codes with this either. I've got my preamp, tuner, cable box, vcr, cd, computer ir sensor and still have plenty of room for expansion.
I am kind of sad they didnt put a backlight on all the 1200's. It sucks not being able to see the lcd in the dark.
38 buttons plus scrollbar were on this.
Personally, I would have liked more buttons (never can have too many), any more though and it probably would scare people from ever buying it.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by BO PEHRSON from SWEDEN.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 5 made on Friday January 25, 2002 at 10:05 AM.
Strengths:Very good learning capability.

It can learn all functions from every remote you have.

Very good quality, design and low weight.

It has replaced all my other (6)controls.
Weaknesses:None!
Review:This is the best learning-remote-control!

I recommend it! Best ever ! Super !
Quality: Features: Value:


Navigation: [ Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 1 of 2 for
the Marantz RC1200 remote.
[ Go to: |1|2 ]

Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse