Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Previous page Next page Up level
What's New
12/23/14 - New Philips Pronto-branded hardware solution for iPhone-based smart controls.
12/01/14 - Catch the latest discount prices on universal remotes!
9/05/14 - Bluetooth-based remote offers full BD control; universal remote compatibility.
8/14/14 - A budget-friendly hybrid remote with high-end features.
8/13/14 - With an emphasis on Zigbee-enabled control systems; plus training schedule.
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the One For All URC-8800 (A/V Producer 8) from One For All.
One For All URC-8800 (A/V Producer 8)
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 3.41/5.00
Median: 4.00/5.00
17$79
The A/V Producer 8 is similar to the URC-9800 Home Producer but without the RF basestation. It features a backlit keypad, macros and limited learning capabilities.
Find universal
remotes at:
Amazon.com


Navigation: [ Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 1 of 3 for
the One For All URC-8800 (A/V Producer 8) remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3 ]

Written by Picman from Rescue, CA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for more than two years.
Review 17 made on Thursday October 2, 2003 at 4:58 PM.
Strengths:Cheap
Mostly works
Weaknesses:Cheap
Doesn't do many things it should
eats batteries
no learning from other remotes
Review:After two years of use, many buttons either don't work or have to be pressed hard to get to work. Channel change button is almost non-functional.

Initial set up was done in a couple of hours. But, doesn't seem to work at all with my Yamaha cd player. Can't access many of the features on my a/v equipment (input device selection on Denon receiver).

Must be a better solution than this. Will try MX-500 and post review later.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Jack Ryan from Milwaukee,Wi.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-2 years.
Review 16 made on Tuesday May 14, 2002 at 6:22 PM.
Strengths:Handy
Weaknesses:Runs through batteries
Review:At frist this product seems to be the answer to all you remote problems, But for the $80.00 tag you would think the button would be smooth and even. They are not. Some buttons must be pushed hard and repeatedly to work, where other buttons are so senitive that laying a newspaper on the remote activates them. But worst of all, I have new equipment that need remotes. The A/v producer 8 does not have the codes. That isn't surprising. What is surprising is there is no way to update the remote or add codes. To make matters worst, The phone number, website, and e-mail information in the manual are all such down.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Dissapointed Buyer from Michigan.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 3-6 months.
Review 15 made on Monday November 26, 2001 at 10:03 AM.
Strengths:I like the feel of the buttons, being able to recognize them in the dark.
Did a good job of controlling home theatre system, some limitations on DVD.
Weaknesses:Battery's worn out in 60 days.
Device doesn't remember programming thru battery change out. Must re-program with every battery change. What a pain!!
After second battery wear out, won't accept programming. Support extremely difficult to find and access, no answer to Emails!! Only 90 day warranty. Remote is now garbage after 4 months!!
Review:Do not buy this remote or any other one for all device. One for all provides virtually no support after the warranty period. I came to the conclusion that this company was out of business!! It turns out they have just made themselves very difficult to find. This remote is of very poor quality, mine lasted only 4 months. In terms of operation, it was better that every lower priced remote I tried, and I liked the easily identified by touch keys, and the overall versatility for the money.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by enrique sonnenschein from caracas , venezuela.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 3-6 months.
Review 14 made on Saturday November 24, 2001 at 10:52 PM.
Strengths:i found the rc one of a kind
Weaknesses:the cristal quartz screen seems to me very
weak , if it falls , forget it , trust the manual
and your memory
Review:overall i suggest buying it
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Gerard Jeronowitz from Mesa, AZ.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 13 made on Sunday August 26, 2001 at 4:03 AM.
Strengths:Home theater mode - combines volume,menu,pip,transport keys from several devices on one keyset
"power" button can hold a macro
Weaknesses:size
awkward layout for anything but long fingered right handed users.
Learning only on 6 buttons
Only two macro buttons (not including "power button")
Review:I've owned an RCA 810 for about 8 months and it has started going on the fritz. When I went to BestBut I found the URC-8800 on sale for $5 less than another RCA810 and decided to try it.
After one hour of use, the 8800 will be going back and I will take my chances with another 810.
The 8800 is large and awkward to hold. I found myself using two hands to operate the buttons on the left side of the remote. Having to use the "shift" button to change the operation of some buttons for VERY common operations with my DSS (like the "clear" and "info" buttons), and not having a labeled "guide" button just made the remote that much more cumbersome.
The 8800 seems to have much more power/range than the 810, and has some nice features like the "home theater" mode button.
Still, the lack of tactile and geographic differentiation of the volume and channel +/- buttons seems it would be annoying in the dark. Too many buttons are lined up in colums instead of in a mroe useful "grouping" or "clustering" scheme. In contrast, I REALLY like the 810's setup with the two clusters of directional type buttons with a center button for primary controls, with secondary controls surrounding the clusters in a logical manner.
The 8800 lacks all of this ergonomic simplicity.
At $80 for the 8800 and $45 for the 810, this is a no brainer. The 810 is a better remote for less money.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Jose Gonzalez from South America.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 6-12 months.
Review 12 made on Wednesday May 2, 2001 at 7:44 PM.
Strengths:Easy to use and programm

Weaknesses:Warranty is only 90 days. That's one day short than what it takes to break.
Review:At first I really liked the remote. But then I found that the frecuently used buttons start to get harder to respond, and then they stop working!!
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Ajay Jindal from Bellevue, WA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-2 years.
Review 11 made on Wednesday May 2, 2001 at 12:35 PM.
Strengths:Price!
Backlight
Nice feel of buttons
Reprogramming buttons
Weaknesses:only 2 macro buttons
Review:Excellent remote for the price! I have a Sony TV, Onkyo receiver, 2 VCRs and a DVD player. I was able to get the codes to program all these devices and it meets my needs.

I especially like the fact that I can lock the volume controls to always control the voume on the receiver regardless of whether I'm watching TV or VCR or DVD.

I wish I hade more macro buttons so I could switch between using TV, VCR1, VCR2 and DVD easier (i.e. a macro that will set the TV and receiver to show the correct thing).

I've programmed a lot of extra functions into it as well like commercial advance and index search for my VCR, and all the audio, subtitle stuff for my DVD.

Note: I actually have model 8080 (a/v Producer 8). I did send it in once to have the ROM upgraded since I was having problems with it losing my custom codes when the battery ran low. It runs great now!
Quality: Features: Value:


Navigation: [ Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 1 of 3 for
the One For All URC-8800 (A/V Producer 8) remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3 ]

Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse