Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Previous page Next page Up level
What's New
9/29/17 - All cloud-based operations to end within four years.
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the One For All URC-9800 (Home Producer 8) from One For All.
One For All URC-9800 (Home Producer 8)
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 3.39/5.00
Median: 3.67/5.00
28$99
The Home Producer 8 is similar to the URC-8800 A/V Producer, but includes an RF basestation for through-the-walls control. It features a backlit keypad, macros and limited learning capabilities.
Find universal
remotes at:
Amazon.com


Navigation: [ Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 1 of 4 for
the One For All URC-9800 (Home Producer 8) remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3|4 ]

Written by Kris from Miami, F USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for more than two years.
Review 28 made on Wednesday December 1, 2004 at 3:16 AM.
Strengths:I really can't list any strengths because I bought it for RF and it was useless so I never really used it.
Weaknesses:The RF absolutely is non-existant for me. Battery dies very fast.
Review:I bought this remote several years ago because of the RF and actually ended up buying a second one because I had almost ZERO RF range (about 10 feet) and thought maybe the first one was defective. Guess what the second one is even worse with RF. I have no idea what the problem is. I see several reviews in which people say it has great RF?? It absolutely was useless for me. Anyone wanna buy 2 of them. They are in perfect shape. Seriously, though this remote was money down the drain for me.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Tony S from Illinois.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 27 made on Tuesday July 13, 2004 at 10:31 PM.
Strengths:Good versatility. Easy programming.
Weaknesses:Very poor RF range.
Review:I had great expectations for this product based on other reviews because it sounded like it was just what I needed. Needless to say I was extremely disappinted when it did not work as advertised. I bought it primarily for it's RF capability becasue I needed to operate my system from other rooms in the house and the backyard. Unfortunately this is not possible because the remote will not work if you get more than 20 to 30 feet away from the receiver. I tried brand new batteries and it did not imporve the situation. I don't know where they get their claim about 100 foot range even through walls and doors, but it is simply not true. If you are buying this for it's RF capability to use in other parts of your house then don't waste your money.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by TechnoCat from Pacific NorthWest.
The reviewer has used this remote control for more than two years.
Review 26 made on Sunday April 4, 2004 at 8:54 PM.
Strengths:IR/RF Base
Code Library
Looks great
Weaknesses:Now outdated
Limited learning
Review:I got my URC-9800 pre-JP1 and never did JP1 it. For years it was my favorite remote. It handles nearly everything due to a large database. The ergonomics are a bit odd but make sense quickly. It's easy to learn and use. The RF base works well. The timer enables you to do lots of Core CL-9 type of things.

But... the button layout can be very odd... e.g. for satellite, the "select" button is to the side rather than in the middle of the directional doughnut. Learning is done to dedicated L-buttons. The LCD isn't used to label buttons.

And now, four years later, it's way outclassed by remotes such as the URC-200. But at the time, it was fantastic and mine still works wonderfully - it just isn't as usable as much more expensive remotes.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Grady Miller from Aurora, CO.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-2 years.
Review 25 made on Monday August 4, 2003 at 10:56 AM.
Strengths:Good while it lasts, 6 learning buttons, good device support for when it was released.
Weaknesses:Outdated, no easy way to upgrade, light went out after 9 months
Review:I liked this remote for awhile, then I just got tired of its quirks and the fact that I needed a separate remote for my Apex and Cyberhome DVD players, plus I could never get it to work right as a replacement for my digital cable mbox remote. Last week I picked up the the replacement for this remote at Best Buy, the URC-9800, for $45, and it's 100% better, and has a built-in modem to upgrade over the phone with All-Fir-One by just holding the remote up to the phone. If you're going to get a remote in this class, get the URC-9800 instead, you'll be much happier.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by L Jones from Minneapolis.
The reviewer has used this remote control for more than two years.
Review 24 made on Monday July 28, 2003 at 12:28 AM.
Strengths:The internal timer. This is great for having your favorite shows come on automatically, just like using a vcr.
And going on vacation? This is a MUST HAVE to turn your theatre on and off while your gone.
Weaknesses:The light went out after 1.5 to 2 yrs.
Then some buttons don't work after over use.
Review:I would not want any other remote. I love this thing. Now glad I found a place where I can get one...I thought they were discontinued. Goes to show how good this remote really is!!
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Scott from Illinois.
The reviewer has used this remote control for more than two years.
Review 23 made on Wednesday April 30, 2003 at 3:06 PM.
Strengths:Easy to use once set up, broad range of components covered.
Weaknesses:Complex menu system, only 6 buttons for each device have learning function.
Review:This is one of the best universal remotes that can be had for this price. It is not so small that only the rudimentary functions are available, and not so big/complex that you need an extra TV tray and a degree from MIT. The version of this remote with the RF extender is great, and it has worked FLAWLESSLY for me. The macro keys work well. The only component I had trouble with is my Dish Network receiver. I contacted the manufacturer, and they quickly added programming to the remote and gave me the setup codes. The only physical problem I've had is the light (cool blue!) gave out after about 2 years. Great UR.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by D from LA, CA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 22 made on Friday January 24, 2003 at 12:06 AM.
Strengths:None
Weaknesses:Can't control any of my devices correctly or at all.
Review:This remote really sucks. I don't reccommend anyone buying this piece of crap. I know my TV isn't a very well known brand (Signature 2000), but my VCR is (Panasonic). All the buttons except the power button on the remote is scrambled. It also doesn't control my cable box at all. The older one for all remote that came with my other cable box worked fine on my TV and VCR, why the hell can't this new one work on at least my TV and VCR??????????
Quality: Features: Value:


Navigation: [ Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 1 of 4 for
the One For All URC-9800 (Home Producer 8) remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3|4 ]

Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse