Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Previous page Next page Up level
What's New
9/29/17 - All cloud-based operations to end within four years.
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the Radio Shack 15-1995 from Radio Shack.
Radio Shack 15-1995
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 4.06/5.00
Median: 4.33/5.00
11$69
The 15-1995 7-in-1 IR/RF preprogrammed remote features a backlit keypad, LCD display and an RF basestation for through-the-walls control.
Find universal
remotes at:
Amazon.com


Navigation: [ Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 1 of 2 for
the Radio Shack 15-1995 remote.
[ Go to: |1|2 ]

Written by RSJunkie from USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-2 years.
Review 11 made on Friday April 25, 2003 at 12:04 PM.
Strengths:Great remote with JP1 capabilites.
Weaknesses:Won't do popcorn.
Review:Easy to use and to program. JP1 capabilities are endless. Great backlighting and button layout.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Ross from Texas.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-2 years.
Review 10 made on Friday April 25, 2003 at 11:59 AM.
Strengths:JP1 capability. Great backlighting, great ergonomics. LCD display with time and current device always displayed.
Weaknesses:No dedicated macro buttons like 15-1994.
Review:Powerful remote when used with JP1 capabilities. Great tactile coating and the backlighting is perfect. It has a near perfect orientation of buttons that are easily reached with one hand. The rocker buttons for volume and channel are easy to find and use when channel surfing. I use AUDIO and VIDEO buttons to store macros.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Ken from Canada.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-2 years.
Review 9 made on Thursday August 22, 2002 at 2:24 PM.
Strengths:Great Remote !
Weaknesses:X-10
Review:Has anyone been able to get the Plug and Play option to work on x-10. I'm sure there has to be a reciever but my x-10's use a different frequency that the 15-1995. Is the X-10 supposed to have IR and If so where can you get one??? Radio Shack dont have the answers...thanks
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Jim from Kansas.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 6-12 months.
Review 8 made on Thursday October 11, 2001 at 5:16 PM.
Strengths:--Sold at Radio Shack
--Controls everything
--Extended codes & jp1 interface
--RF
--Price (only if on sale or used)
Weaknesses:--Sold at Radio Shack
--The stories about the stench are true!
--Poor build quality
--Discontinued, and no comparable replacement
--Worst user manual ever
Review:First, what's great:
--In the US, you can't spit without hitting a Radio Shack, so they're easy to find. If one store is out (see below), their inventory is computerized and linked from store to store, so they'll find you one. They're only $49 on sale, and the store manager has the authority to sell it at that price at any time, so you don't have to wait for a sale.
--This baby controls everything I've ever owned, even some stuff that's not listed as supported.
--It's programmable via "advanced codes." The no-learning gripes are moot; the advanced codes are better than learning, and take up less memory. You can re-program keys to control devices other than what's labeled. For example, you can control a VCR and a DVD at the same time, or 2 VCRs, or 2 TVs, etc. I have literally every function (not just the popular ones) for eight devices programmed into this remote, including functions not supported on the OEM remote! The remote is supposed to be 7-in-1, but you can reprogram the x-10 controller key to an 8th device. A homebrew computer interface allows addition of new devices not supported at the time of manufacture.
--The RF is great, but positioning the base unit for optimal reception takes loads of trial & error and isn't covered in the manual. You could pull the antenna and replace it with a better one, like some people do with cordless phone base units. The base unit comes with a built-in RF emitter, plus another on the end of an extension cord. This works well for stuff behind cabinet doors or far from the base unit.
--There is a huge hacker community behind these things. There's this site, hifi-remote, and the Yahoo! jp1 discussion board. If you're reading this forum, you'll likely find any possible use for the remote, way beyond what RS promotes as possible.

What stinks:
--It's sold at Radio Shack. The folks at the store really don't know how the hell this thing works, and I've been to 4 or 5 stores asking questions before I bought it. I wound up getting my questions answered here rather than the store.
--The unit itself literally stinks. Like there was a fire in the warehouse or something. The smell gets on your hands and won't wash off. It did go away after about 3 months. Both units (see below) had this problem.
--The first unit I owned just went dark and quit working after 28 days. The replacement has been okay since, but the case was poorly molded and the seams between the top & bottom half aren't well aligned. The buttons are solid, and the display is okay, though.
--It eats batteries. Don't use the backlight. The backlight doesn't light up the shift labels anyway, so it's of limited use.
--RS discontinued this remote, and no comparable replacement is in the lineup. For RF, you'll have to buy one of those RF/IR extenders, doubling the cost of a comparable remote setup. It has a one-year warranty, but if it craps out again I won't be able to get a replacement.
--The user manual is horrible. It's geared to the below the lowest common denominator. It covers only basic setup. DVDs aren't mentioned. ALL of the function-related complaints I've read here can be traced to the crappy manual. To tap the full capability of this remote, you'll need to read the manual at http://www.hifi-remote.com and learn the programming tricks. To be fair, programming this thing to its full capability is a beast. The interface is worse than RPN or Lisp. This thing has given experienced engineers fits trying to program it. Good luck to those brave enough to try, it is worth it.

Overall:
--Everything is a compromise. For me, this was the best combination of features for the price. If RF is a must (as it was for me) you'll find no better solution for the money.
--My advice is to check out the web sites above, and see if you can control all your stuff (via advanced codes or built-in codes) BEFORE you buy. Check also for new codes available via the computer interface. If you can control your stuff, and are willing to tackle the goofiest programming interface ever, this is the ultimate sub-$100 remote. Many RS stores still have them, or you can try the used route.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Marcus from Philadelphia USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-2 years.
Review 7 made on Monday July 30, 2001 at 10:39 AM.
Strengths:Advanced programming (jp1 compatible)
Room to room RF
Weaknesses:No Learning feature
Delicate back-light
(drop the remote once and it's gone)
That smell!!!
Review:I've had this remote for a year and I'm still impressed with it. Not having learning capability has not been an issue for me as I've always been able to find all extended codes for all my equipment. (yes, including that old Rotel CD player!)

The smell was strong at the begining but it goes away after a while, now I kind of miss it. I wonder if they have that "new-remote-scent-spray" to refresh it. :)

After years with a previous RF version (I think it was the 1919) and now this one, I find the this to be essential not only for room to room operation but also to play macros and timed sequences without having to hold the remote pointing to the equipment.

If you prefer RF over learning, this is a good choice.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Ricardo Wagner from Guayaquil, ECUADOR.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 6-12 months.
Review 6 made on Sunday January 28, 2001 at 11:08 AM.
Strengths:Compact, easy to setup pre-programmed codes
Weaknesses:Poor quality , no vendor support, cant do VCR and DVD at the same time. Poorly written manual (no plugn power setup details)
Review:A good unit if you have a limmited Video Setup. I had to replaced two times, the first it would eat a set a batteries every two days, then, the backlight failed after a week and was finaly replaced after almost four months of struggle with the store which did not want to give the money back. If you have a DVD and a VCR you better forget about it. Limmited sound field handling.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Jim from New Orleans, LA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 5 made on Saturday November 25, 2000 at 1:08 AM.
Strengths:IR/RF
Fair price
Backlighting
Weaknesses:The smell! I'm serious.
No learning feature
Review:The first one I bought did not work right (serious problems). The second one worked fine and did Almost everything I needed. There were only two drawbacks.
1) Once PIP is on, there's no way to turn it off with my 32" JVC TV (use the exit button on the JVC remote).
2) This thing stinks to high heaven! The rubber or plastic used on the case smells like burnt wood and the smell stays on your hands until you wash them. Both the defective unit and the working unit had the same smell.

If it weren't for the smell, I'd probably keep it. I'm taking this thing back though.


Quality: Features: Value:


Navigation: [ Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 1 of 2 for
the Radio Shack 15-1995 remote.
[ Go to: |1|2 ]

Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse