Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Previous page Next page Up level
What's New
9/29/17 - All cloud-based operations to end within four years.
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the Xsight Touch ARRX18G from Acoustic Research.
Xsight Touch ARRX18G
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 3.73/5.00
Median: 4.00/5.00
15$249.99
The Xsight Touch is an 18-device, wizard-based computer programmable remote control featuring a color touchscreen display, large number of hard buttons, rechargeable lithium ion battery and optional RF extender.
Get it
at:
Amazon.com


Navigation: [ < Previous|Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 2 of 3 for
the Xsight Touch ARRX18G remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3 ]

Written by maambeau from Houston, TX.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 6-12 months.
Review 8 made on Friday August 19, 2011 at 5:07 PM.
Also owned:none
Strengths:Works with RF extender
Easy to set up
Easy to use
Easy to explain to others
Weaknesses:Can't use two of these remotes in the same house.
Tech support
Review:I bought this remote over a year ago and love it. In fact, I found it on sale recently and bought another to use upstairs. Problem! We have ATT Uverse and the cable boxes are identical. I was testing the remote upstairs and my husband yelled from downstairs that his TV channels were switching without assistance. I found no documentation for this problem and called the 1-800 number. Automated message informed me that the office is not open on weekends - click. Finally got time to call during the workday. Wow. Technical support is low, low, low tech. I wish I had gotten someone in India or Siberia. After listening to a very brief description of my problem, he told me 'no, that won't work. those boxes are the same. can't do that.'

Shouldn't that be somewhere in the product literature? Would have been nice to know.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by reggosnell from South Texas.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 7 made on Tuesday June 28, 2011 at 10:11 AM.
Also owned:Harmony 880, 890, URC-R50, Pronto - others
Strengths:Configuration can accommodate complex equipment setup.
Weaknesses:Only complaint might be the extremely slick finish. Picks up fingerprints and can slip out of your hand - great looking, though!
Review:I bought this to replace my URC R50 which never worked well with my home theater system. I moved the R50 to my living room, which is a simpler setup and it works fine there. The most important thing to do when beginning configuration of a fairly complex setup is planning. Think about how you want things to behave before starting. I set up devices in a few minutes. I did not use their "wake" and "sleep" facilities. I set power-on/off macros within each "home" device to handle each set of devices to turn off for TV(front projector), DVD, etc. Macros are easy to set up via the PC interface. I agree with other reviewers that the web site is a bit slow, but not too bad. I had no trouble getting through a setup session. It is also very simple to go back and modify configurations and macros. Sometimes, experimenting with time delays between steps is useful to fine tune operation. I have lights, Sat/TV, DVD, ROKU streaming device, CD and phono activities and they all work great! This remote is a great value since it can be purchased in the $60-70 range. This is less then the R50 AND the Harmony remotes! I am very happy with this unit. I have been struggling to get my system working consistently for a year and I am finally pleased with the way things behave now!
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by baeder from MA - USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for under 1 month.
Review 6 made on Sunday May 29, 2011 at 12:10 AM.
Also owned:UR 850 and the RF250 and RF300 extenders
Strengths:Good Feel, and for me, and EXCELLENT RF control where I always had issues before.
Weaknesses:As mentioned in review, programming is a bit difficult with web based process.
Review:Bought this because after 5 years of heavy use, the buttons on my 850 were just getting harder and harder to use. Had already moved around a lot of the more common buttons, but only so much you can do. What a difference this makes (compared to 850 and the RF receivers). Great reception!

I also like the Assist functionality on the macros, since they make it easy to recover if the remote isn't exactly pointed at the TV, or the equipment using the IR. For me, the lack of "state" oriented on/off isn't that big a deal, since only the cable box has that issue. The other equipment (Aquos/Replay/Yamaha YSP-1/DVD) are all Ok, and have discrete. To me, only trick was to reset TV input to Cable before power off, so that I don't have to wait on power ON, since Cable is default device...And just stays "on" if I really want to use different equipment.

Got the RF extender on a real bargin at local Best Buy, remote on Amazon, and total cost under $100...Makes this a GREAT DEAL, and more in line with expectations mentioned in the review.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by allcargo from Florida.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 5 made on Tuesday March 29, 2011 at 2:58 PM.
Also owned:Harmony 890 & 1000
Strengths:Looks nice
Weaknesses:most everything else...
Review:Problems:

No power remember feature
Makes clicking noise upon activation
RF control is very sporadic. Misses many times
Inferior control compared to the Harmony's listed above (even though I don't LOVE them either)
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Retro-Markus from Krefeld, Germany.
The reviewer has used this remote control for under 1 month.
Review 4 made on Monday January 31, 2011 at 6:33 AM.
Also owned:- Philips Pronto (Classic)
- Harmony 525 & 885
- Philips SRT-9320
- Monster MCC-AVL300
- Nevo Q50
Strengths:- Good build-quality
- Nice display
- Low price ( 69)
Weaknesses:- Limited programming flexibility
- No tracking of power on/off state
- Complicated mixture of programming the remote directly and through software
- No dedicated delay (delays are combined with commands in macros)
Review:Just bought One for All Xsight Touch a few days ago after I figured out that it's the same device like the Nevo C3. As I am very happy with my Nevo Q50 I thought I'd like to give the C3 a try in our living-room but didn't want to pay the high price.

The Xsight Touch seemed to be a dream come true: Nevo-quality and flexibility for a low-end price.

Well, after a few days trying to program the Xsight Touch I have to say that it has nothing to do with how the Nevo Q50 performs and is being programmed. Options for the Xsight Touch are very limited and you have to stick with wizards most of the time. Nothing left of the great freedom you'll experience with the Nevo Q50.

What makes things even worse for me is the absence of power-state-tracking. I unfortunately do have some devices without discrete power-commands and it's quite hard to integrate them well into the remote.

So right now I have the feeling that another Harmony would be a better alternative for our living-room. I could live with some quirks but my wife can't. For her the Harmony worked very well and if something didn't happen as expected you could still hit the "Help"-button.

So to make a long story short: if you are familiar with the Harmony-range then the Xsight Touch will seem quite limited to you. The hardware seems to be fine but there's so much more you could do with it with a proper software. For the low price you however do get a nice piece of hardware.

Best regards,
Markus
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Techsquad from Miami.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 3 made on Saturday September 4, 2010 at 11:54 AM.
Also owned:All kinds os Philips Prontos
Strengths:Price, looks
Weaknesses:limited programming due to a web based wizard. have to be connected to the internet to program it ( how inconvenient could that be? )
Review:Definitely the most affordable color touch screen with an RF base I could find. For me, used to program prontos, this is the most stupid remote ever. BUT, for the customer point of view, it works, it replaced all original remotes, it has a good RF range and it fits the budget. he's happy. and for me, it's all that matters
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by mdavej from Planet Earth.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 2 made on Thursday July 15, 2010 at 8:55 AM.
Also owned:JP1, Harmony, URC
Strengths:Ergonomics, large code database, DirecTV RF capability.
Weaknesses:Clunky software, inability to add advanced codes, short battery life.
Review:This remote does have some quirks and limitations, but considering these are going for around $50 on ebay, I think they're an excellent value. The review didn't even mention that these are the only universal remotes that can control DirecTV equipment in RF mode without the use of an extender. That alone makes this a killer deal.
Quality: Features: Value:


Navigation: [ < Previous|Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 2 of 3 for
the Xsight Touch ARRX18G remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3 ]

Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse