Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Up level
What's New
9/29/17 - All cloud-based operations to end within four years.
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the Complete Control MX-980 from Universal Remote Control Inc.
Complete Control MX-980
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 3.67/5.00
Median: 5.00/5.00
5$599
The MX-980 upgrades the MX-950 by adding a bright color LCD screen and shrinking the physical size. Other features include deluxe PC programming software, narrow band RF capabilities, a pickup sensor, plus a rechargeable lithium ion battery and station.
Get it
at:
Amazon.com


Written by Cardholdr from New York.
The reviewer has used this remote control for more than two years.
Review 5 made on Tuesday September 20, 2011 at 11:50 AM.
Also owned:MX800
Strengths:Rechargable
Weaknesses:Totally useless as a control device without software. URC will not supply software to end user. This seems to be true fom ost if not all URC products. Extremely expensive for an incomplete product. I have had several tech's "program" my remotes and none have been able to get them operating at their capacity. The biggest shortcoming is the total lack of customer support from URC.
Review:Works as well as the tech who programs the remote. No end user support from URC. I have two MX980's that operate(d) a theater screen, 2 Denon receivers, 2 BluRay players, Wii, a Samsung flat screen. a Sony projector and Sonos. It also controlled 2 cable boxes which I have swtched to Fios DVR's. This is the problem. I have to call in the AV guys to change two codes that I could do myself with the MX Editor if it was available to me - which should be included in the price. I don't have time or want to throw money away at stupidity. This is why I don't have total control of lights, window blinds, room scenes and the like. I will not purchase another URC product nor will I recommend one. What I do suggest to URC is to at least put together a software package that will allow end users to make routine changes, such as switching out or adding components.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by BritInVA from Ashburn, VA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-2 years.
Review 4 made on Wednesday January 6, 2010 at 2:20 PM.
Strengths:Love the macro function with IF logic and ability to customer the graphics.
Weaknesses:None
Review:I'm not a CI, just a user. Was lucky to get a dealer who would sell the remote with software and gave me a quick tutorial.

Once you get the hang of the programming software you can program new devices very quickly. Easy to add custom graphics.

My set up controls 7 components (one via an MRF 260 between floors) and Insteon lighting (using the IRLinc). Has work flawlessly since I got it.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by marcus69 from USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 6-12 months.
Review 3 made on Wednesday January 21, 2009 at 7:31 AM.
Also owned:MX-500,700,800,850,900,950
Strengths:Virtually limitless in what it can do.
Weaknesses:NONE
Review:I am an end user, not a CI. That being said, I have owned just about every remote in the MX line, and LOVE them. The 980 took a bit of time to program compared to previous versions, but I was patient and fully understood that this was designed for CI's to program (unlike the first reviewer). It pains me to see people who complain about this remote when they can't figure out how to program it. It's not the remotes fault that you didn't do your homework before purchasing the remote, or didn't have the patience to learn how to program it. Alright... Enough ranting (sorry, but it had to be said). I have mine controlling 8 sources in 5 zones along with lighting, fans etc.. I am using it in conjunction with an MRF-350, 260, and 250. It's bulletproof.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by marduke_ii from Washington.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 6-12 months.
Review 2 made on Tuesday September 16, 2008 at 1:37 PM.
Also owned:Sony
Weaknesses:Extremely difficult to program and no support from URC. Only dealers can program this model and programing costs $500 and up. That is ridiculous.
Review:I am sure it is a lovely remote if I could get it to work with any of my equipment. For now, I think that I am going to leave it in its nice box and buy a Logitech.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by charlesp49 from Florida.
The reviewer has used this remote control for under 1 month.
Review 1 made on Wednesday January 23, 2008 at 10:57 AM.
Also owned:Harmony 550
Harmony 880
Harmony 1000
Strengths:Well made, sturdy, sends strong signals to devices, flexible programming formats
Weaknesses:somewhat difficult to learn how to program
no support from Universal - they want you to pay a tech to do the programming
Review:This is by far the best remote I have ever owned. It works flawlessly on all my components. Screen is easy to see in bright rooms. It does not have a touch screen and I have not missed that feature. Once you figure out the programming process it is fairly straight forward. The thing I really like is that you can configure the remote to do and look just about any way you can imagine. It has if/then capability that add even more options in logical programming. I do not have the IR option yet so I cannot givean opinion on that feature. While you will pay a bit more for this remote than the low end models, in my opinion, it will be a remoe that will last for many years.
Quality: Features: Value:


Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse