Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Previous page Next page Up level
What's New
9/29/17 - All cloud-based operations to end within four years.
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the Jensen SC-595 from Jensen Remotes.
Jensen SC-595
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 2.42/5.00
Median: 2.00/5.00
11$59
The Jensen SC-595 pre-programmed remote features Radio Frequency (RF) transmission and a small transponder for through-the-wall control of up to 10 home theater components.
Find universal
remotes at:
Amazon.com


Navigation: [ Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 1 of 2 for
the Jensen SC-595 remote.
[ Go to: |1|2 ]

Written by Robert Fox from San Francisco, CA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 11 made on Wednesday January 16, 2002 at 11:13 AM.
Strengths:price, color.
Weaknesses:It doesn't work with my Sony DSS receiver. Does not support what it says
Jensen has a bad attitude when it comes to supporting their products, their answer is always "It doesn't support that, feel free to use your 30 day money back guarantee."
Lack of learning.
Review:This product looks great, but it is frustrating to work with.
It does not work at all with my Sony DirecTv receiver. I have tried for hours on end to find codes to make my devices work, and they don't. I gave the model numbers to Jensen support, and they said they are unsupported, If you can't support Sony, give it up. They said that I could return the product, IF I was still within my 30 day purchase window (which I'm not).

Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Larry Elie from MI USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 10 made on Wednesday January 2, 2002 at 12:17 PM.
Strengths:The Jensen SC-595 has GOOD RF range, and adds reasonable IR if in the room.
Weaknesses:The remote IR box shipped with the remote had a range of 3 inches or so, quite a bit under the claimed 25 feet. I opened it. Both LED's were bent over at the factory. Fixing them gave the IR box a range of about 15 feet. Now the thing is useful. CANNOT support my Apex 600A DVD. Button functions for my RCA Direct TV are klunky.
Review:The Jensen SC-595 is a good inexpensive UHF/IR remote. The IR functionaly of the remote is good enough that I didn't realize the seperate IR box wasn't functioning until I tried using the remote out of the room. I thought it was just poor UHF range. Both LED's in the remote box were bent over and twisted at the factory. They must not test these; the IR range was about 3"! Now it's 15', which isn't good, but works. The remote is fine for my Sony Projection TV, most VCR's, and a Echostar DISH network reciever (don't use Echostar codes; look up DISH codes), but is poor for an RCA Direct TV box. The RCA requires 3 keystrokes for selecting from the menu. Worse yet, it CANNOT operate my Apex 600A DVD player AT ALL. No learning mode, so it never will. It's cheaper to replace the Apex than to get a fancy Theater Master. I do wish it didn't require shift for second devices, and the keypad lit up. Oh well, for RF it's cheap.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by J Weese from Ottawa.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 9 made on Wednesday November 28, 2001 at 11:04 AM.
Strengths:Good RF
Nice feel
Weaknesses:Ability to contol devices
Review:The remote is promising for it's price if they update the device codes.

The unit would only work partially with most of my devices.....

Yam. Rec. RXV-596
Toshiba SD3750 DVD

The select key would not work with the Toshiba DVD rendering the remote useless!!!!!

Would be an excellent unit for the price if it worked.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Mark Hayhurst from Allen, TX.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 8 made on Sunday July 15, 2001 at 9:07 PM.
Strengths:Pretty
Weaknesses:Won't work with General Instraments cable device.
Review:A ripoff
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Jim Shaffer from Raleigh.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-2 years.
Review 7 made on Friday January 26, 2001 at 11:11 PM.
Strengths:Controls most of my components, has excellent RF, and has lots of the obscure capabilities
Weaknesses:To find out the obscure capabilities (prev channel, TV/VCR, PIP, etc.), you have to carefully scan a table in the instruction manual I've now lost.
Review:I wish it would learn, but I'm happy with it overall. I'm told it is no longer available. Too bad....
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Jesse from Alberta, Canada.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 6 made on Thursday January 18, 2001 at 2:17 AM.
Strengths:Inexpensive, nice design and button layout as well as feel decent functions andocntrols
Weaknesses:Support for certain devices no learning capabilites
Review:Well i had this remote for a while and it isnt all that bad it controls most of my equipment and does a decent job of providing proper controls to my dvd and reciever which are both JVC. I know alot of people gripe about it becasue it doesnt learn or that it doesnt support everythign but remember people for 30-35 bucks its not bad at all.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Josh Tasker from New Jersey, USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 5 made on Tuesday December 19, 2000 at 2:03 PM.
Review:I have not actually used this remote, but it looks EXACTLY like the remote that came with my Technics SA-AX7 receiver (except it can't do RF) which SUCKS. I think that should tell you something about it.
Quality: Features: Value:


Navigation: [ Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 1 of 2 for
the Jensen SC-595 remote.
[ Go to: |1|2 ]

Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse