Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Previous page Next page Up level
What's New
10/17/19 - Two DACs, a delay module and extender kit highlight new offerings.
9/13/19 - Features push-to-talk voice control of Amazon Alexa and Apple TV via Siri.
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the Jensen SC-595 from Jensen Remotes.
Jensen SC-595
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 2.42/5.00
Median: 2.00/5.00
11$59
The Jensen SC-595 pre-programmed remote features Radio Frequency (RF) transmission and a small transponder for through-the-wall control of up to 10 home theater components.
Find universal
remotes at:
Amazon.com


Navigation: [ < Previous ]
Now viewing user reviews page 2 of 2 for
the Jensen SC-595 remote.
[ Go to: |1|2 ]

Written by George Gonzalez from Tampa, Florida.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 4 made on Monday December 11, 2000 at 12:23 PM.
Strengths:Nice design, easy to setup
Weaknesses:Doesn't control everything mentioned in the manual i.e. Optimus CD player.
Review:My review is for the SC-570 (does not have RF feature). The remote is great with the exception of two things. I finally found a remote that will control my EchoStar Satellite receiver. However, the INFO button will not work. I use this button a lot! When I programmed my Sony receiver (surround sound), the TV button to switch to TV output on the receiver does not work as well - I use this feature a lot too! I haven't discovered what else doesn't work but I am sure I will find other non-working functions. I too, spend quite a while going through different codes with no success.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Rob Klaproth from San Diego, CA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 6-12 months.
Review 3 made on Sunday December 10, 2000 at 1:11 AM.
Strengths:Low price
Cool design & layout
Weaknesses:Does not support what it says
Jensen has a bad attitude when it comes to supporting their products, their answer is always "It doesn't support that, feel free to use your 30 day money back guarantee."
Lack of learning
Functions don't do what they say
Review:This product is very disapointing. It barely controlls my DVD player, it does not work at all with my Sony 200 disc changer, it does not control the surround functions properly for my Pioneer receiver, it only changes the channels with my digital cable box (does not bring up menu or on screen guides). About the only thing this remote controlled without a hitch is my Sharp 27" TV and my Sharp Hi-Fi VCR.

I have tried for hours on end to find codes to make my devices work, and they don't. I gave the model #'s to Jensen support, and they said they are unsupported, and that I could return the product, IF I was still within my 30 day purchase window (which I'm not).

I will not buy another one of these remotes, they are a waste of money. Save your money for one with learning functions so you have total control over everything.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by John Wilkins from Chicago.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 2 made on Wednesday October 4, 2000 at 4:14 AM.
Strengths:Nice button layout.
Weaknesses:* Does not learn
* Unsatisfactory preset codes
* Somewhat inexpensive feeling
* Poor RF range.
Review:All in all I think this could have been a good remote -- but the lack of learning capability just really pushes it way back. Almost adding insult to injury, many of the preset codes for my system didn't operate everything or had the wrong key on the wrong button... and since you can't change it, you're stuck with it.

RF was a good idea, but I could barely get 20 or 30 feet away before nothing would get through... basically the same as IR.

Button layout is great, but the case feels a bit cheap. No backlighting -- strange how you have to choose between backlighting OR RF. Why not both?
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Sirron Davis from CA, USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 3-6 months.
Review 1 made on Thursday September 14, 2000 at 12:50 AM.
Strengths:range
Weaknesses:No good for toshiba DVD. No good for Harman Kardon reciever. No good for Pioneer TV
Review:I purchased this because its literature listed the components in my system, and it stated that it would show DVD menus, and PIP. However it does not work well with my system.
Following is my experience with my components:
1) Pioneer Big screen TV: This remote will turn off/on, chanel up/down, volume up/down/mute. And it will select the control menu. BUT it will not close the menu once select. So no PIP, and no changing input source. Also, selecting the menu (by accident) means searching for the "real" remote to close.

2) Harman Kardon AVR85 reciever: This remote will turn off/on. And it will adjust the volume. It will switch some sources, but not all. So, I can switch to video 1, 2, DVD but not Video 3 or TV. Also, it will switch to radio, but once swiched it will NOT switch back to any video source! It will NOT switch any special audio (like OPT input, or AC3 or Dolby PL)

3) Toshiba SD4190 DVD changer: This remote will turn on/off. And it will play/stop/ff/rw/pause. It will switch captions off/on. It will NOT select the DVD menu. Which makes it useless for watching DVD's. This DVD is a DVD changer. This remote will NOT switch disks.

4) Toshiba M781 VCR: This remote will turn on/off, chanel up/down, play/stop/ff/rw/pause/record. It will not switch sources.

Basically, this remote is pretty useless except for turning thing off/on. So I rarely use it, and I can not recommend it.

Perhaps it works better with different equipment. My next remote will be something programmable (like a pronto or memorex)
Quality: Features: Value:


Navigation: [ < Previous ]
Now viewing user reviews page 2 of 2 for
the Jensen SC-595 remote.
[ Go to: |1|2 ]

Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse