Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Previous page Next page Up level
What's New
9/29/17 - All cloud-based operations to end within four years.
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the Sony RM-VL600 from Sony Electronics.
Sony RM-VL600
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 4.19/5.00
Median: 4.50/5.00
30$29.99
The RM-VL600 is an 8-device hard buttoned universal remote that replaces the RM-VL710 and RM-VL900. It features full IR learning capabilities, a preprogrammed code database and a dozen 16-step macros.
Get it
at:
Amazon.com


Navigation: [ Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 1 of 5 for
the Sony RM-VL600 remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3|4|5 ]

Written by knowsallseesall from Miami.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 6-12 months.
Review 30 made on Sunday March 14, 2010 at 10:36 AM.
Also owned:Let me count....not enough time
Weaknesses:Help....I cannot make the record button work for a VCR/DVD or set the time. Do not tell me use the learn feature as that is why I bought this. The original stopped working
Review:Ok but not all knowing
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Race Bannon from USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for under 1 month.
Review 29 made on Saturday March 28, 2009 at 11:55 AM.
Also owned:Cheap ones
Strengths:Many buttons, eight componants, twelve macros, mix componant buttons, cheap, compatable with many componants, a lot of memory.
Weaknesses:Feel and button layout not the best. Some buttons are to small. Can't make the power button a macro.
Review:Used this remote with the following, TV (Samsung LN46A550) HT (Samsung HT-Z30) Cable/DVR (Scientific Atlanta 8300HD). Work well with the setup codes. Had to learn a few buttons. Easy to program and teach after a little use.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by j73albarez from Montana.
The reviewer has used this remote control for under 1 month.
Review 28 made on Friday February 27, 2009 at 11:55 PM.
Strengths:-Very easy to program.
-The learning capabilities are amazing.
-Macro functions.
-Very inexpensive.
Weaknesses:-If I had to point out one it would be the lack of a backlit keypad.
Review:I am blown away by this remote. I have been able to program it easily to control my HDTV, Dish Network box, Blu Ray player, and receiver. It has "learned" all of the functions from my other remotes just by doing a code search and then putting them head-to-head and pressing some buttons. I now have 1 remote instead of 4 and it does everything my other remotes used to do. At this price you can't find a better deal. I bought mine from the Sony Style website refurbished and cheap! You don't need to spend tons of money on a universal remote, buy this one. If my wife can use it, you can too.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by oakuss from SoCal.
The reviewer has used this remote control for under 1 month.
Review 27 made on Wednesday February 18, 2009 at 12:10 AM.
Also owned:Just remotes that came with my various electronics
Strengths:Got it to work with my TV (Panasonic TH-46PZ85U) and Dish Network Receiver. Used search mode to get contact with Dish Network receiver and that worked fine.
Weaknesses:Could not get it to contact my Sony BDP-S550 Blu Ray player.
Review:I'm afraid I'm underwhelmed. I got it to work (easily) with my Panasonic TV and my Dish Network Receiver, but could not get it to communicate with my Sony BDP-S550 BluRay player. Ironic, isn't it?

I tried all of the Sony DVD codes. I tried search mode (DVD), going through about 300 iterations. I tried the codes for Sony DVD/receiver combinations and VCRs. I tried search mode using every component button on the remote.

I contacted Sony service. They told me to try search mode. When I told them about my 300 iterations through search mode, they told me to use the remote that came with the Blu Ray Player. To make sure we were perfectly clear, I asked: "You mean this Sony remote is not going to work with this Sony BluRay player?" Their answer: Yes.

Guess I'm going to have to return this thing.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Doggone1 from Washington State.
The reviewer has used this remote control for under 1 month.
Review 26 made on Saturday January 3, 2009 at 1:51 PM.
Also owned:Various cheap models
Strengths:Works exactly as advertised! Easy to program. Every component code worked, although not every component function (to be expected). Learning function was powerful.
Weaknesses:I didn't think there were any, but reading some of the other reviews did make me realize there were just a couple of minor weaknesses: 1) No DVD fast forward/backward keys 2) no backlighting

Note - Not even close to show stoppers in my mind.
Review:If you are like me, you have chanced spending your $ on that $10 universal remote you see in all of the department stores. Then you come home and find the following: 1) Programming it is like cracking the Da Vinci Code 2) At least one of your components wasn't listed and you will have to try 37,000 other codes to hopefully find the one you need 3) There's no learning function or the learning function doesn't work as advertised.

Due to the wonders of the internet, I decided to do some homework on which remote to buy. I am SO GLAD I did! I found the SONY VL-600 and the reviews were very positive and the price was incredibly reasonable for the features it advertised.

I bought it for the "family" because everyone complained about having to deal with multiple remotes to get the entertainment system to work.

Because of previous experiences with complicated instructions on other universal remotes, I actually read the instructions very carefully. However, once you understand the very intuitive programming process, you will feel very confident it programming it for anything.

It worked EXACTLY as advertised! It was 3 for 3 on component codes and any "missing" functions (specific button doesn't work) was completely covered by the learning feature.

I have yet to program the system key macros, but am 100% confident that this will also be very easy.

I am planning to buy another remote for our bedroom set-up which has baffled other remotes for years.

I haven't been this satified with an electronic
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by bwright from Washinton State.
The reviewer has used this remote control for under 1 month.
Review 25 made on Tuesday March 25, 2008 at 7:54 PM.
Also owned:Sony Monster Universal AV-2100 (I think)
Strengths:Simple, work just like it should
Review:I bought two of these to start, knowing I would return or give one to my girlfriend. The one I programed was simple, effective, and works for all of my components. The older Sony remote with the touch screen didn't work for all of them at 4x the price. VERY GOOD SIMPLE REMOTE.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Krusty from Australia.
The reviewer has used this remote control for under 1 month.
Review 24 made on Thursday March 20, 2008 at 5:46 PM.
Also owned:Philips Pronto, Logitech Harmony, Sony, Etc.
Strengths:Great flexibility & really easy to configure, in fact once conversant you could throw away the instructions as it's just so easy.
Weaknesses:Shame that it hasn't changed with the times & had an update. Things like CD, VCR buttons but no PVR, STB. There is a certain skill in programming buttons (see below).
Review:Having tried just about every programmable remote that has been available over the years from the really basic to the extremely complex Philips Pronto Pro (colour touch screen) I decided to give the Sony RM-VL600 a try.

My last foray was a Logitech Harmony & the necessity to configure it using an Internet connection made it an absolute nightmare, the Logitech site had many issues & errors making it near impossible to configure. If it was configured correctly it was okay but if it got out on sequence it was a real problem & the original remote was needed to correct this. The button layout was poorly thought out!

The Sony being somewhat simpler is it's best feature as there are no complex mind blowing macros needed, (or possible) & this in the real world makes life easier believe it or not. The signal strength is excellent though button assigning does need some thought. Remembering what button does what can be a challenge but this is so with any programmable remote.

One minor gripe is the function button labels, I see them as out of date. After all does anyone honestly still use a VCR? What about PVR (Tivo) or STB?
We have a Sony DVD-PVR but there were no codes for this even though it's made by Sony. The DVD (Sony) did work without any programming though.

That's not really a problem, it just means that you have to programme all button for the device & here it can be problematic. If you hold the button when training for to long the codes "stack" meaning that the response timed can be extremely long or wrong. For instance on a STB when programming the number keys I held the button for a few seconds but when used on say "2" the device responded with "22222222".

This is easily corrected by programming it again but using very short hold times. The build quality for 'Made in China" looks to be quite good & the general feel of the remote is good. Adding, changing, or deleting any function is really easy.

From someone who has tried just about every device or gadget in the eternal quest to find the perfect universal remote control the Sony has come closest to this elusive dream. It's a case of simpler is sometimes better, I love it. In fact I bought two more so we can all have one!
Quality: Features: Value:


Navigation: [ Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 1 of 5 for
the Sony RM-VL600 remote.
[ Go to: |1|2|3|4|5 ]

Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse