Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Up level
What's New
12/01/14 - Catch the latest discount prices on universal remotes!
9/05/14 - Bluetooth-based remote offers full BD control; universal remote compatibility.
8/14/14 - A budget-friendly hybrid remote with high-end features.
8/13/14 - With an emphasis on Zigbee-enabled control systems; plus training schedule.
8/12/14 - New remotes, keypads, switchers, and control processors; training schedule.
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the One For All URC-8820 from One For All.
One For All URC-8820
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 4.78/5.00
Median: 5.00/5.00
3$19.56
The URC8820 is an 8-device remote control supporting infrared learning, macros and code upgradability. It also features Home Theater mode, 10 favorite channels and a Master Power key.
Get it
at:
Amazon.com


Written by The Robman from Chicago, IL.
The reviewer has used this remote control for more than two years.
Review 3 made on Saturday November 20, 2010 at 11:53 AM.
Also owned:too many to list
Strengths:Can be programmed using JP1
Is really a 10-device URC-10820 inside
Weaknesses:none come to mind
Review:Despite what you may read in older reviews, the URC-8820 is fully programmable using JP1, you just need a different cable than those used for older EEPROM based remotes.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by inVaUSA from VA, USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for under 1 month.
Review 2 made on Thursday May 31, 2007 at 7:20 PM.
Also owned:RCA Navilight RCR860
Strengths:Replaces 8 remotes, master power key, volume lock (aka punch through), tons of universal codes, learns your other remotes, macros, and very affordable.
Weaknesses:does not come with batteries (2 AAA); is not backlighted.
Review:You cannot purchase a better remote for less than $30.

I got the URC 8820 remote from BestBuy and had it setup and controlling all 8 of my devices in 15 minutes. I wanted a remote that had a master power key (controls all devices at once), a volume lock (so you can control your audio receiver volume no matter what component you are on), the ability to learn functions, and macros (which i havent had to use yet) - this had all of those features.

I was not sure it would work with my equipment as I have a difficult surround sound Yamaha receiver and a Dell TV, but it works with everything. It even came preprogrammed to work with Comcast's Motorola digital cable box. The 2 buttons that were missing for the Dell TV, I just added with the learning function. I like the layout and it is a good looking remote... it also feels nice in the hand... only thing i would add is backlit buttons.

In contrast, the RCA Navilight RCR860 took me over 2 hours to get setup and ended up not having all the buttons I needed to control my components. Most frustrating of all, it turned out that the master power key only worked for RCA components - what a waste! I returned it the next day.

Quality: Features: Value:

Written by griz_fan from Idaho, USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 1 made on Friday December 9, 2005 at 6:43 PM.
Strengths:Great price
Supports AUD 0013 setup code (works with my Pioneer VSX-D710S receiver!)
Can assign macros to device keys
DVR-friendly buttons
Huge library of codes
lots of available documentation online
Weaknesses:No JP1 support
No backlighting
Its hard to tell the front from the back of the remote by feel (sort of stupid, I know, but I've found myself pushing buttons with nothing happening, then I realize I have the remote pointed *away* from the TV)
Review:For you remote control freaks out there, this is an UEI remote with a JP1 header, but it is a newer interface, so no JP1 cable/programming available (yet). So, I'll count that as one disadvantage. Another is that there is no backlighting, save for the power key. Now, on to the good stuff ;)
This remote is an amazing value! Spend some time at the forums to discover the true power lurking under the hood of this budget remote. I needed a remote to control my Toshiba HDTV, Pioneer A/V receiver, Toshiba DVD player and Dish Network DVR that was powerful enough to take care of all the basic functionality, yet was easy for the family to use. In particular, I needed a remote that worked will with a DVR. Another concern I had was my Pioneer A/V receiver, which had issues with other sub-$100 remotes I've tried.
With some help from the friendly people on the the forums, I was able to get this remote to meet all of my needs. For example, I was able to set up a master power button. If I press the power button, it turns on/off the selected component, but if I hold it in for two seconds, it powers on/off a whole series of selected components. In addition, this remote can accept advanced codes, discrete codes and macros. An added bonus is that I can map a macro to a device key. As a result (for example), I can press and hold the DVD button on the remote for two seconds, and it will send a series of commands that turns on my TV (and leaves it on if already turned on), switches the TV over to HDMI 1 input, makes sure the A/V receiver is on, switches it to the DVD input, makes sure the DVD player is on, then sets the TV to the "natural" setting for screen format. I have similar set ups for over-the-air HD and satellite.
The new 8820 (and its siblings, the 8620 and 81020) support a wider range of device codes than earlier One-For-All remotes. This, combined with support for advanced codes (which are 3 or 4 digit codes that allow you to assign a specific function to a specific key) and support for discreet codes (which lets you just turn on or turn off a device, rather than toggle between on and off) opens the door for some sophisticated programming.
With some time and patience, you can have an activity-based remote for a lot less money than the Harmony remotes (which are fantastic remotes, BTW, just more money than a lot of people will want to spend).
Finally, the button layout is pretty intuitive, and easy to find by feel in the dark. So, if you don't mind doing a little research, this remote will give you a ton of functionality.
Quality: Features: Value:


Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse