Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Previous page Next page Up level
What's New
9/29/17 - All cloud-based operations to end within four years.
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the Marantz RC2000 Mk II from Marantz.
Marantz RC2000 Mk II
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 4.22/5.00
Median: 4.33/5.00
12$249
The Marantz RC2000 Mark II is an improvement over the original version with better learning capabilities, improved battery life and a more logical button layout.
Find universal
remotes at:
Amazon.com


Navigation: [ Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 1 of 2 for
the Marantz RC2000 Mk II remote.
[ Go to: |1|2 ]

Written by Bender from Los Angeles, California.
The reviewer has used this remote control for more than two years.
Review 12 made on Monday April 9, 2007 at 12:07 AM.
Strengths:Soft key programmable up to 32 buttons for 10 devices means 320 commands, aside from the hard buttons which are also totally programmable. Macros are really useful for complex systems and girlfriends. Backlight is sweet. This remote eats other remotes for breakfast. It is really durable and long-lasting, still going strong 10 years after it shipped.
Weaknesses:No RF. Cursor keys are at the very bottom, hurts your thumb after a while, because the damn thing is so top heavy.
Review:This is my favorite remote. I've had it for more than 5 years, still going strong. If it had RF it would be the best remote ever.

I use this remote for every component I've ever had and have the PDF manual if anyone wants a copy. I can email it to you.

Does anyone know how to program the flash focus convergence for Sony projection TV's into it? That's the only button not on the Sony original remote and I hate getting up off my lazy a** to push the button (that's why I have a universal remote to begin with).
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Jimbo56 from Virginia, USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for more than two years.
Review 11 made on Thursday January 12, 2006 at 4:33 PM.
Strengths:Built like a tank, to a point.
Weaknesses:The buttons have started to fail recently. Is hard on batteries.
Review:This is the RC-18SR that I received with a Marantz SR-8000 receiver a number of years ago. For a while, it replaced every remote I had, even a Delphi Roady2. The screen is hard to read but that is probably because my eyes are starting to go.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by SpeedFinger from Tel Aviv, Israel.
The reviewer has used this remote control for more than two years.
Review 10 made on Sunday January 2, 2005 at 4:51 PM.
Strengths:Easy to record and program
Lots of hard buttons + many assignable
Large buttons wide apart
Strong and durable
Weaknesses:Buttons are not responsive need to apply strong pressure
Heavy, especially at the front end
Weak IR emission
Delay between commands make macros go slow (1/2 second pause between commands)
Power hangry
Review:Had this remote for more than 2 years now.
I was pleased with it at the beginning for its strengths. However the most annoying weakness is the lack of responsiveness of the buttons. It really degraded fast. Now some buttons just don't respond unless heavy pressure is applied. Opening it and cleaning the PCB contacts under the buttons did not help at all (opening the case is a challenge in itself, real risk of breakage so be careful...).
Bottom line, this remote is very good but consider a lifetime of about a year and a half until usage becomes painful on the knockles.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Scott from Memphis, TN.
The reviewer has used this remote control for more than two years.
Review 9 made on Tuesday November 16, 2004 at 2:30 PM.
Strengths:Learns just about any command. Easy to use and set up. Buttons have a nice feel. The "clone" function. Supports up to 10 remotes.
Weaknesses:Buttons begin to fail within about 2 years of moderate to heavy use. Bulky. Relatively short battery life (good thing I have AA rechargables).
Review:I have had two of these. The first was an actual RC-2000 MkII. The second was the SR-18 version. The problem is that though they are actually the exact same in appearance, they will not allow you to clone between the two. This means you have to reprogram all the functions.

The reason why I have had to replace both of these is because the buttons begin to fail at about 2 years of moderate use. The sad thing is that it isn't usually the buttons that get the most use that fail, but appears to be almost "random". Probably is just a matter of connections corroding, whether being used or not.

The only other thing I would improve on is the number of macro's. Four is good but more would be better.

Other than those two problems, these remotes are excellent. Their functionality is excellent.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by SIMON from ENGLAND.
The reviewer has used this remote control for more than two years.
Review 8 made on Wednesday November 12, 2003 at 5:26 PM.
Strengths:It has proper buttons for most commands. And the Buttons have a good feel. But not to many to confuse people.

Weaknesses:Needs a bigger display and to be able to have more text on the display.
Battery life a bit short. Could do with having more macro buttons.

Review:I have had this remote for about 5 years now. And I think it is the best remote available for most people.
Because it has the right balance between proper buttons. And a configurable display buttons.

I have programmed it to control. All the usual things like tv, video, satellite receiver, dvd, amp, cd, mini disc, and surround sound processor. And I also use it to control my room lights and the curtains.

I have a infrared computer keyboard and mouse. And this remote has learnt those commands as well.
that is very useful for controlling my computer. And it will control the other computer remote controls like the sound card tv card and a computer infrared gizmo I have.

I have used other learner remotes in the past but this is the defiantly the best I have found.

I like the size because I can find it easily and it wont get lost down the back of the sofa.

I find the signal is strong.
And it has learnt commands that my old remote couldn’t learn.

The only improvements I can think of. Would be better display with more digits.
And to be able to connect to a computer to configure the display and the commands including the macros. And to have an rf transmitter.

I know there are newer remotes that can do this but they don’t have the proper buttons that you can feel without looking at the remote.
And they cost a lot more than the £80 I paid for this
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Barry Pearl from Elwood, New York.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 7 made on Saturday April 5, 2003 at 11:33 AM.
Strengths:Easy to set up, easy to use and almost everything I wanted in a remote.
I found the RC2000 Mark 2 very easy to program, both in it’s learning mode and in its macro mode.
While the layout is not perfect, it’s very good. I found it very easy to use. I like buttons and not touch screens because you can “feel” the button in the dark. I can see where the old version was difficult in this area. I also like that you can label the “non preset” buttons to the controls that you like.
Marantz gave labels for many of the function pages. While labels can be ignored, I like that they included older technologies Laser Disc. All my remotes ten remotes fit nicely.
It is also the first remote that has a signal strong enough for me to control my TV (straight ahead) and stereo components (to the left) without reaming it).
It also keeps you settings and macros even with dead batteries.
I also like the backlighting and that you can set the time.
Weaknesses:I wish you could store this information on a computer (although you can clone them onto another 2000). The Macros work so well, I wish there were a few more. A bit confusing is that there are two different types of macro buttons. They are slightly different to use and to set up. I wish they were standardized.

The labeling of button only allows four letters, five or six would have been better.

The Instruction booklet is Ok, although there are some mistakes in it. But it is actually so small it is hard to read.
Review:This remote does everything that I want, and was easy to set up. It took a just few extra minutes to get the macros down.

I like that it is a little bigger than most ordinary remotes and a little heavier, I find that makes it easier to find and to use, but I see that bothers a few people.

That I can set 10 different remotes and be so comfortable with it surprises me. My dealer was interested in selling the RC9200 (for $1,200) and then also charging me for programming it. I paid $200 for this and I was easily able to set it up. It’s almost too easy, I am playing with it all the time.

I would personally like to see the system where this is not a suitable remote.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Raymond from Ohio, USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-2 years.
Review 6 made on Wednesday March 26, 2003 at 9:29 PM.
Strengths:Has learned everything I have tried to program into it, customizable screens for hard buttons, TONS of hard buttons, excelent tactile feel. Excellent backlighting, at cost of battery. Backlighting can be programmed.
Weaknesses:Manual a bit difficult to decifer, macros difficult to impliment, have yet to get one to work. If you use the backlight, expect to change batteries every few months.
Review:I turnd off the backlight so it only comes on when I press the button for it or press one of the hard buttons for the display. My first set lasted nearly a year. Very well put together, and very solid if not heavy. Feels more expensive than what I paid.($155). I would have prefered at least 5 spaces for programming my custom screens (4 is the max).
Manual programing is a bit time consuming, but very easy and foolproof. For those who prefer the feel of buttons, this remote is perfect. Unit even has 5 hard buttons to simulate joystick commands, very usful for navigating menus on DVD players and TV's. This is a good sized remote, with good sized buttons, even for those with big fingers.
Quality: Features: Value:


Navigation: [ Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 1 of 2 for
the Marantz RC2000 Mk II remote.
[ Go to: |1|2 ]

Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse