Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Previous page Next page Up level
What's New
9/29/17 - All cloud-based operations to end within four years.
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the Complete Control MX-950 "Aurora" from Universal Remote Control Inc.
Complete Control MX-950 "Aurora"
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 3.46/5.00
Median: 4.00/5.00
8$699
The MX-950 is URC's top hard buttoned remote and offers capabilities similar to their MX-3000 color touchscreen. You get control of up to 255 devices with 255 pages per device, a dot-matrix screen, color-changing backlight, audio, lithium ion battery and versatile RF options.


Navigation: [ Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 1 of 2 for
the Complete Control MX-950 "Aurora" remote.
[ Go to: |1|2 ]

Written by spellbinder() from USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for more than two years.
Review 8 made on Sunday April 29, 2007 at 10:06 PM.
Also owned:MX-700
Strengths:You can use variables to implement any logic you want and overcome any limitations imposed by lower class remotes (those that are not using variables).
Weaknesses:My remote seem to lose its sound after eight months. I think something happened to the speaker.
Review:Very easy to program, I was able to FULLY automate my whole system using activity based macros without any hitch.

The programming IDE has two major activity branches; namely 'WATCH' and 'LISTEN'. I hope there could be a third branch which says 'COMMON' where you should be putting common used pseudo-device definitions that support other device defintions in 'WATCH' or 'LISTEN'. By having this, the programming information becomes more structured, clean and easier to maintan.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by jkhouw from ct.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 7 made on Monday January 15, 2007 at 11:36 PM.
Also owned:pronto pro
Strengths:Love the hard buttons. Very easy to program.
Weaknesses:short battery life. limited space for text on the screen.
Review:Not so concerned with URC dropping updates to the remote. I got the full version from their website after entering the product code - just can't get IR database updates.

Learns well if you use the double learn mode.

Love all the hard buttons after coming off a Pronto Pro TSU6000. I liked the extended options of the pronto series better for custom programming, but I had the 950 working after 1 hr almost completely configured as opposed to 1 to 2 days with the pronto.

The pronto had much better battery life - would have gone with a newer pronto pro but needed RF with individual port control and I got that for less with the 950 and the 300 series rf base station.

Ergonomics work better with the 950 then with the pronto series - especially with all the functions of modern cable DVR boxes.

RF works well - but not great - picks up too much interference and I had to turn the gain way down on the antenna. Took me a few hours to figure out that the RF was the problem and not bad IR codes.

Pronto software and layout better for very deep macro screens like programming my dvd collection.

All in all happy with the product - think it is overpriced - would be great at $400 if it included the base station.


Using it to control 2 linked Yamaha recievers (with identical IR codes- hence the need for individual port IR control not just a base station blaster, one 3 zone, one 2 zone.), Kenwood 400 disc DVD player, Scientific Atlantic HD8300 DVR cable box, Fujitsu plasma.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by dirtlatemodel from USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 3-6 months.
Review 6 made on Saturday November 25, 2006 at 2:31 PM.
Strengths:Hard buttons and LCD buttons. Powerful dual IR transmitters. Great programming software. Excellent manufacturer support. Able to handle 255 devices with up to 255 pages per device. Powerful variables make advanced programming easy. Rechargeable Lion battery and charging cradle. Many authorized dealers have this remote for under $380 though they are prohibited from advertising prices below MSRP, just call them.
Weaknesses:None that I've found.
Review:Great remote. Able to program an advanced HT system completely in a day. Wife loves it as it is easy for a non-enthusiast to use but as pwerful as any HT junkie would ever need. To me, this is the perfect remote for those that do not like the touch screen remotes.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by EHL from Monterey.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 3-6 months.
Review 5 made on Monday September 18, 2006 at 2:50 PM.
Strengths:Great over all remote lots of features, and abilities
Weaknesses:Not all of the ir codes are in there ir library
Review:I just love this remote really easy to program with lots of features... as for upgrading it ... super easy , i really dont know what thouse other guys are talking about but all ihave to do is go to there web page and udate ...
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Erebus1954 from Fairfax, VA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-2 years.
Review 4 made on Thursday September 7, 2006 at 9:38 PM.
Strengths:Good remote, with software purposely crippled by the manufacturer
Weaknesses:Manufacturer has purposely abandoned this end user who had the misfortune of buying it from a custom installer that has gone out of business.
Review:Look elsewhere!

I got this remote as from part of a package from a custom installer who has since gone out of business. I've been keeping the thing updated myself with new equipment, as it's not that hard to program.

But now URC has purposely abandoned me, denying me access to the latest software, even though I purchased it through the exact channel they claim to support. Look elsewhere. You'll be glad you did.

URC is either greedy or stupid. I haven't figured out which.

But they'll never get another dime off me. Neither will any "custom installers".

Quality: Features: Value:

Written by wood2395 from Williamsburg, VA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for under 1 month.
Review 3 made on Friday August 25, 2006 at 11:55 PM.
Also owned:mx-700, mx-850
Review:I completely agree with the above post - I will never buy URC products again, as the two I already own (which I purchased from online dealers) are no longer supported with software updates. One is only 6 months old. Pretty short shelf life for a $400 remote. URC products should be universally avoided until they stop disenfranchising their prior loyal customers. It should be illegal!
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by gstuman from USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for under 1 month.
Review 2 made on Friday August 4, 2006 at 2:12 PM.
Also owned:MX-850; Pronto
Review:BEWARE: Youm must buy through authorized dealer otherwise Universal Remote will not allow you to access the software. They may even cut off your rights to use the software after you have been using it like they just did to thousands of consumers on August 1, 2006.

I won't use these products anymore due to this total disregard for their end users.
Quality: Features: Value:


Navigation: [ Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 1 of 2 for
the Complete Control MX-950 "Aurora" remote.
[ Go to: |1|2 ]

Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse