Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Previous page Next page Up level
What's New
9/29/17 - All cloud-based operations to end within four years.
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the Complete Control MX-850 "Aeros" from Universal Remote Control Inc.
Complete Control MX-850 "Aeros"
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 3.72/5.00
Median: 4.67/5.00
13$399
The MX-850 upgrades the MX-800 with more versatile RF extender options, an updated design and different backlighting. You still get computer-based setup, control of up to 20 devices with 4 LCD screens each, plus macros anywhere!
Get it
at:
Amazon.com


Navigation: [ Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 1 of 2 for
the Complete Control MX-850 "Aeros" remote.
[ Go to: |1|2 ]

Written by Jack S from NY.
The reviewer has used this remote control for more than two years.
Review 13 made on Friday March 6, 2015 at 4:04 AM.
Also owned:MX-980
Strengths:Easy to use.
Weaknesses:You need the Software to program.
Review:I know where you can obtain the Software.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by gduren from Novi, MI.
The reviewer has used this remote control for more than two years.
Review 12 made on Sunday April 24, 2011 at 11:54 PM.
Also owned:Harmony, old GE/RCA universals (used to sell them at Best Buy)
Strengths:Customized programming, ability to run macros, RF base station compatibility, X10 compatibility, learning capability
Weaknesses:Styling, lack of color screen, lack of touch screen, negative attitude toward do-it-yourselfers.
Review:Liked the ability to customize the programming. With the RF base station and an X-10 IR receiver (inside a cabinet) I was able to get it to send X-10 commands to my home automation system. I was also able to setup the user defined buttons similar to the Harmony system with activity-based commands to make it easier for my family to use. The remote feels reasonably solid in your hand and the button markings have done pretty well although some are starting to wear away.

Styling is not a strong point. Didn't really ever like the way it looked, it was chosen for functionality. Even their newer remotes look like Star Trek props. Their line-up reminds me of what "futuristic" looked like in the 80s.

I would say programming it is not terribly easy, but is not hard either. Just need to get familiar with the interface and it's relatively easy to figure out after spending some time with it.

Another issue is URC's attempt to keep do-it-yourselfers from buying and programming the remotes ourselves. I felt like I was a second-class customer because I was never sure if I was going to be able to install the programming software on a new computer. Sometimes I was able to get the software from their website and sometimes I got blocked out of the "certified dealers/installers" area. I understand they're trying to protect their installers, but they're probably losing customers because of this attitude toward hobbyists like me (I'm looking elsewhere for my next remote). Those like me are probably not a huge market and would most likely never pay an installer to setup our remote since half the fun is doing that ourselves. So their installers are not losing potential sales, only URC is.

Overall I think the remote is ok, and am not sorry I purchased it. The styling and negative attitude toward do-it-yourselfers have been enough for me to exclude them from consideration for my future remotes.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by Heath_Aus from Melbourne Australia.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 3-6 months.
Review 11 made on Monday August 25, 2008 at 12:39 AM.
Weaknesses:Serial connection to program is difficult if you own a laptop i had to spend another $100 on a USB to serial port convertor to program the remote
Review:The RF circuit board is held on by 8 solder joints approx 3mm long in the bottom right hand corner, my remote was dropped and the RF circuit board broke off, because i opened the remote to see what the rattle was i was told that it is no longer covered under warranty, i had a go at resoldering the circuit board but had no luck. If you buy one of these remotes and need the RF like i do wrap in cotton wool otherwise you will have thrown $400 away like i have.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by ALH from wdc.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-2 years.
Review 10 made on Saturday December 15, 2007 at 11:20 PM.
Also owned:Harmony, Sony, Marantz, etc
Strengths:Nothing above any other less expensive remote.
Weaknesses:Slow, extremely hard to program and list of components it will takeover is less than satisfactory. It is heavy, awkward and old fashioned.
Review:This remote was replaced once after being dropped two feet from a speaker to the carpet. When opened because of rattles, it was discovered that two components had come detached due to cold solder joints. After many discussions with various people at the lab I finally was issued a replacement after almost 4 weeks. To this day they still do not cover all of the components required to replace most of my remotes. These are top of the line components from a 70 in Sony TV to the top of the line Pioneer Elite stereo equipment. It eats batteries, is hard to handle with one hand and even when it covers a component you can not exercise all functions of the components.

I have found this remote to be of junk mode and the technical help department akin to assistance from India. If it were so good the price would not fluctuate from 399 to 125 dollars. I would not waste the gas looking or purchasing it. Even Best Buy and Circuit City quit handling it because of the problems.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by swig from Kansas.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 6-12 months.
Review 9 made on Saturday March 10, 2007 at 12:10 AM.
Also owned:Harmony, Other URC's, and some really crappy department store wanna-be's.
Strengths:- Feels great in the hand
- Programability
- Macros work flawlessly
- Very wife/kid friendly
Weaknesses:- Couldn't believe my computer still had a Serial port. What a shocking way to connect a $400 remote to a computer... but it does work very well.
- Was a bit hard on the wallet.
- For the DVR user, would be nice to have the Pause & Menu buttons a little easier to access.
Review:I used an older model a few years back & loved it, but it couldn't handle the TIVO features, otherwise another great remote from the same company. I received a new HD for father's day 2 years ago & bought a Harmony to do it all. I fought with the thing for a year & finally had enough, did some research & bought this remote. Couldn't be happier.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by OTAHD from USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-2 years.
Review 8 made on Friday January 26, 2007 at 10:26 PM.
Also owned:MX-700, MX-900, MX-950, MX-3000, Harmony 570, Sony RM-VL600

*Note: Do not own all of the above but have used them enough to be very familiar with all of them*
Strengths:RF, Great backlighting, full learning, new center select button, nice feel, highly customizable
Weaknesses:Lack of variables
Review:Huge step up from the MX-700/800. Backlight is redesigned wonderfully, select button and 4-way pad is excellent. RF works well. Good software, once you get comfortable with it. Crashes every so often. Macros work flawlessly. Great remote.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by VCI from USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-2 years.
Review 7 made on Monday January 22, 2007 at 12:44 AM.
Also owned:Harmony, etc.
Strengths:Works okay with the 300 transmitter.
Weaknesses:IR lag, RF interference, name tag only 5 characters, expensive, Macro programing, dropped support and upgrades in less than 1 year of purchase - we are an authorized dealer, poor support, poor support for west coast, MF codes for devices are not updated, no USB,
Review:The product has lags, so when using a macro the unit lacks proper synch. Unit was originally purchased through distribution with the 250 because no 300 or at least was not the receiver that was recommended by URC. Contacted tech support several times - does not support west coast times. Attempted to contact tech support several times with no success. Escalated with same issue. Said their equipment was working properly and did not know what problem could be. A year later they said the issue is RF intereference and the 250 was an issue but we had to purchase the 300. So we paid for the 250 which did not work and told to we had to purchase a replacement for a product that they poorly manufactured. Tag limitation can be an issue for the non-technical client. Price point is high even when purchasing through distribution. Will not recommend URC. Not because they protect their authorized dealers, but they drop the updates, etc for a product that was purchased less than a year. The tech support was poor. No USB! Shocking when most systems have dropped serial for years. The URC remote has possibilities but the organization lacks concern for its clients. Especially if you are located on the West Coast. URC should provide their own site with a database of IR codes and naught have their partners/techs/customers track down codes all over the web etc.
Quality: Features: Value:


Navigation: [ Next > ]
Now viewing user reviews page 1 of 2 for
the Complete Control MX-850 "Aeros" remote.
[ Go to: |1|2 ]

Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse