Your Universal Remote Control Center
RemoteCentral.com
Remote Control User Reviews
Up level
What's New
12/01/14 - Catch the latest discount prices on universal remotes!
9/05/14 - Bluetooth-based remote offers full BD control; universal remote compatibility.
8/14/14 - A budget-friendly hybrid remote with high-end features.
8/13/14 - With an emphasis on Zigbee-enabled control systems; plus training schedule.
8/12/14 - New remotes, keypads, switchers, and control processors; training schedule.
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

User reviews for the Complete Control MX-350 "Osiris" from Universal Remote Control Inc.
Complete Control MX-350 "Osiris"
RatingsReviewsMSRP (USD)
Average: 4.20/5.00
Median: 4.33/5.00
5$149
The MX-350 upgrades the URC-200 with more versatile RF extender options and different backlighting. You still get control of 10 devices, code learning, a preprogrammed database and macros.
Get it
at:
Amazon.com


Written by videobruce from Buffalo.
The reviewer has used this remote control for more than two years.
Review 5 made on Sunday December 30, 2012 at 10:20 AM.
Also owned:One For All URC-9910, One For All URC-10820, URC MX-350 "Osiris", MX-900 "Genesis"
Strengths:Price,
RF ability,
Learning,
Fairly easy to program,
Weaknesses:No way to save the programming,
Limited buttons,
No double Fwd & Rew buttons (FF & Skip),
Older remote codes,
Review:I just program it by learning each button. It's tedious, but this way you only program what you want and can substitute other functions for default button names.
The RF option is nice for antenna rotors & audio receivers in another room and you don't have to "aim" the remote in the same room.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by ScottMcG from Charlotte NC.
The reviewer has used this remote control for under 1 month.
Review 4 made on Wednesday February 6, 2008 at 4:48 PM.
Also owned:Harmony 688, a bunch of device remotes
Strengths:comfortable buttons, easy programming, solid feel
Weaknesses:No record button is kind of silly. Button labels could be more legible.
Review:(Note: this is a review of the newer MX-350, not the Osirus. While very similar, there's a notice in the box wit this remote that says it's not compatible with the old one...you can't clone between them)

I bought this remote to replace a Logitech Harmony 688. I wanted something with about the same functionality and ability to customize, but with more user-friendly buttons.

I don't have a real complicated setup: Toshiba 50" plasma, JVC surround receiver, a DirecTV HR20 DVR, and an old-skool Xbox running Xbox Media Center. As such, I don't need a lot of features or showy touch screen. I just needed an easy-to-use remote that would deal with the gear I have now and maybe expand later. This one seemed to be the best match for my needs.

After suffering with the Harmony 688 for a couple of years, I decided I just couldn't deal with it anymore. The buttons are small, the text on many of them had worn off, it was slow when running macros, and honestly, the programming via USB was a serious pain in the butt. I got it doing what I wanted, but it took a lot of time and trouble. It would also periodically lose its programming, which meant I had to plug it back in to a PC and reload the software. Yuck.

The main draw for me with the URC remotes was the nice buttons. Instead of the soft, rubbery plastic found on most remotes, it's a harder plastic with a shiny smooth finish. The buttons feel good when pressed, and you don't need to look at the remote to figure out where they are. That's nice. the remote itself has a nice feel - it's kind of big, but it's weighted well and doesn't feel awkward.

I wasn't sure about the effort required to program it, but the whole process took about an hour. That's for getting the devices picked, macros set up, soft button labels edited, and everything tested. The same process with the Harmony took well over 4 hours. The code database is very extensive, and I didn't need to use the learning function. I fully expected to, but it wasn't necessary. The only thing that was a little weird was that I had to use a code from the sat box list instead of the DVR list for my HR20. There's a list of DirecTV DVR codes listed, but they're all for the Tivos. There's a code for the Xbox, which worked on the first try. It took a little while to find the right codes for my receiver and TV, since all of them for each brand turned the devices on and off. I had to save and then test for other functionality before I found the right one.

Setting up macros and editing the labels for the soft keys was also dead easy.

There's a ton of stuff I haven't used with this remote, like the favorites or learning. That's just fine with me - I just wanted to get the functions I wanted with minimal hassle. Mission accomplished.

When I started using this remote, the first thing I noticed was how much faster it is than the Harmony 688. Switching components on the 688 took 3-5 seconds, and it's less than a second with this MX-350. It also seems that the IR emitters are more powerful. I can point this one in any direction in full daylight and still get results. That's really a nice bonus.

There are a small number of gripes though - I guess nothing's perfect.

First: why isn't there a hard button for Record? Isn't that a common-enough function to deserve a button? It's just stupid that URC didn't include that one.

Next, the text on the buttons isn't very legible. The font is small (out of necessity - there's not a lot of room for text there) and the reflective button surface makes it even harder to read them. The backlight helps, but not a lot.

Overall, I think this is an excellent remote for an enthusiast or somebody with a smaller collection of components. It's possible that a serious power user or customizer who works with these a lot would prefer PC programmability. All I was looking for was set-and-forget setup and complete control of my components. I got that, and without the hassle I went through with the Harmony.
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by dsfenton from Oregon.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 3 made on Thursday December 14, 2006 at 11:27 PM.
Also owned:Marantz rc1400
Strengths:easy to program
Weaknesses:a bit pricey

problems with X10 library codes
Review:Overall this is a great little remote. I am however having a problem getting it to control some X10 modules for the table lamps I have in my media room. The library codes in the manual do not seem to be correct or I'm doing something wrong! Also, you cannot assign "any" preprogrammed codes into just "any" areas of the menu. You are limited to storing only "Aux" codes from the manual to the "Aux" key and so on. If the code for a certain component is placed in the wrong classification of component on the remote, the code will not be taken. In otherwords, if you want to place some component with a library code which falls into the audio category of the manual, the remote will not let you store that code under the TV button on the remote. Did I confuse you? Sorry if I did!
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by rcstanton from Massachusetts, USA.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 1-3 months.
Review 2 made on Friday January 27, 2006 at 4:57 PM.
Strengths:Extremely simple to use for anyone, yet very powerful; IR good; RF great!
Weaknesses:FAV channels slow, not great via IR (no problem via RF); IR Database good but not great.
Review:So wonderfully simple to use and becomes infinitely more powerful when combined with an MRF-250 RF receiver.

Fantastic ergonomics, great customizable interface and button layout, very high build quality. I use the MX-350 in a fairly simple living room setting to control seven devices (four in a TV environment and three in a music environment stored in separate cabinets on opposite sides of the room).

Unfortunately you can't really update the IR Database cost effectively (PCL-300 is not a consumer friendly option, nor, I understand, is it trying to be) and the IR performance is a little flaky with programmed FAV channels (no issue with RF though).

Remarkable product!! Highly recommend!!
Quality: Features: Value:

Written by hunter smith from califronia,usa.
The reviewer has used this remote control for 3-6 months.
Review 1 made on Friday January 14, 2005 at 1:48 AM.
Strengths:editable LCD screen, macros, good joystick, optional RF interface that works!
Weaknesses:Non recharging, mmmmmmmmm, that's all.
Review:Having installed my share of Universal Remote's remotes, It looks like they finally got it right. The problems with the joystick rocking aroung when you want to hit select have been fixed with a separate raised button in the middle. This isn't a bump on the rocker button, it's actually a seperate button.

A touchscreen remote that doesn't let a user keep his attention on the TV screen when on cable and satellite guides is ridiculous. I know some installers love to tweek touchscreen remotes, but our end clients would rather feel that rocker button than hope the touch the right part of the screen.

The RF250 module is far more reliable than the old modules, and makes operation of equipment behind solid doors bulletproof.

Quality: Features: Value:


Previous PageReturn to the user reviews index...
Add your reviewAdd Your Review

Hosting Services by ipHouse