Previous section Next section Previous page Next page Up level
Up level
The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

Login:
Pass:

Page 3 of 5
Topic:
Favorite brand of rock speakers
This thread has 65 replies. Displaying posts 31 through 45.
Post 31 made on Thursday July 19, 2007 at 12:15
tweetymp4
Select Member
March 2003
what mr. hookup says about rockoustics has been out experience with Stereostone. The drivers themselves die in no time and they keep saying it's abuse. I poor design, you can't have a terminal cup in the bottom of a speaker.
I'm Not an engineer, but I play one on TV.
My handle is Tweety but I have nothing to do with the organization of similar name. I just had a really big head as a child so folks called me tweety bird.
Post 32 made on Thursday July 19, 2007 at 23:08
mrhookup
Long Time Member
August 2005
Outdoor Speakers that fade in color are generally not UV protected. What tweetymp4 said about Stereostone, is disappointing to me.
Jeffrey S. Albaugh
Post 33 made on Thursday July 19, 2007 at 23:44
2nd rick
August 2002
On July 19, 2007 at 01:58, mrhookup said...
We are powering both pairs
with a Harmon Kardon HK 3480 (120 w/channel). These are
fairly large Rock Speakers with 8" woofers.

Well, placing 2 pairs of 4 ohm speakers on a receiver (even a stout model like that H/K) is a recipe for disaster.

Even if the amp doesn't go into thermal protect, there is ZERO headroom left.

Outdoor speakers don't have the luxury of boundary reinforcement that indoor speakers have. To play loud, you need more speakers, clean power, and lots of headroom.

the voice coil is burnt & that is abuse,
and so it is not covered.

Perhaps some kids (or the babysitter's boyfriend) played them at mach 5 and put that receiver into hard clipping... That would toast the VC, and it is definitely "abuse".