The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

Login:
Pass:

Original thread:
Post 1 made on Tuesday July 1, 2008 at 11:18
Herb Crane
Long Time Member
May 2005
I am a hobbyist not a professional programmer of Pronto. I have been lurking around the message board getting hints here and there. But realizing that this is a professional level piece of equipment, have restrained from asking hobbyist level questions. I have put together a fully functioning config file. But one thing that has always bugged me about the 9600 is the rotary wheel. I couldn’t leave it alone and just had to make it do something.

I got the Developer’s Guide (and read it) and searched the board for help. What I found is that there is no simple ProntoScript example for making the wheel do something or simple explanation of how to integrate the ProntoScript with the config file. Regardless, after a weekend of work (I could barely call programming) I made the wheel click and do something useful.

So for the benefit of the rest of you hobbyists out there, here are a few ProntoScript examples, a description of how it works, and an explanation of how to use in a config file.

First you need to make sure your firmware is up to date. You need v4.0.17. In the Files section you can download the correct version for your equipment. This version gives the wheel support. Make sure you get the correct one for your remote 9400 or 9600. It took me an hour to figure out I downloaded the wrong one.

Example 1

onRotary = function(clicks)
{
if (clicks == 1)
{CF.widget("rotaryUp","rotarypage").executeActions();}
if (clicks == -1)
{CF.widget("rotaryDown","rotarypage").executeActions();}
if (clicks > 1)
{CF.widget("pageUp","rotarypage").executeActions();}
if (clicks < -1)
{CF.widget("pageDown","rotarypage").executeActions();}
}