The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

Login:
Pass:

Original thread:
Post 33 made on Thursday October 11, 2007 at 04:28
RHT1
Lurking Member
August 2004
Bryan Levy's Post #8 very accurately describes my own nightmarish experience with the MX-810 software. I've been a professional A/V remote programmer for 15 years and COULD NOT complete a successful MX-810 program in my 8 hour marathon attempt. If "DEVICE" was selected, all the codes worked perfectly. If ACTIVITY was selected the codes seemed to work each assigned device but they were totally scrambled. The power on and power off macros did not work at all. When I assigned discrete ON / OFF codes to a device, the remote would not save that information. I encountered many communication problems between the remote and my PC. Once, the remote locked up during download and the only way I could fix it was to remove the remote's battery for a second to reboot it. Ah... brings back Pronto nightmares.

This is such a huge disappointment because the remote's physical design is "The Best Ergonomic Design" I've seen to date. We could sell hundreds of these remotes if the programming software was the normal, advanced URC programming we all love.

The white letters on black buttons are the easiest to see. Fantastic!
The silver outlines around the control groups make operation easy to understand.
Using the word ACTIVITIES rather than WATCH is brilliant. I have always wondered what the "engineers" were thinking that gave us the LISTEN and WATCH buttons. Am I supposed to LISTEN or WATCH my lights dim or my blinds go up an down? By the way, according to the photo of the upcoming MX-980 at this address...

[Link: cepro.com]

our soon to be released "dream remote" has the (ouch) LISTEN and WATCH buttons!

Back to the MX-810...