Login:
Pass:

Original thread:
Post 1 made on Sunday October 26, 2003 at 02:18
DewMan
Long Time Member
September 2002
Evening Gentlemen,
To give you some background on where I'm coming from I submit the following. After growing up doing electrical, framing, plumbing etc at my father's side, I worked for Time-Warner Cable as an in-house Installer and Service Tech for 5 yrs. I then realized doing belly crawls through blown in fiberglass insulation in the heat of a Florida summer, and gaffing poles in the rain, keeping an eye out for lightening strikes, wasn't what I wanted to be doing for the rest of my life. Computers where a hobby of mine since my 1st AppleIIc+ clone made by Franklin. So with some fortuitous timing, I literally hung up my steel toed Redwings and Klein tool belt on a Friday and went to work Monday wearing a shirt and tie as a computer geek. That was 8 years ago. For the last 4.5 years I have been a computer network administrator where I help support, with assistance from a team of people, a home office, with over 400 servers and thousands of workstations, and branch offices located all over the U.S. This includes the building/wiring/maintaining and trouble-shooting all facets of the network and servers.