The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

Login:
Pass:

Original thread:
Post 7 made on Friday January 19, 2007 at 13:18
Ernie Bornn-Gilman
Yes, That Ernie!
December 2001
On January 19, 2007 at 09:19, Shoe said...
A lot of guys on this site
reccommend Hilti Togglers but I find metal studs can sometimes
compromise the plastic component of them. Use all metal
connectors.

There are plastic togglers? Let's get this straight!

First, Hilti has no products that look like the Togglers I have been using for ten years, and toggler provides no hits from their search engine. When you're recommending parts to hold up a device that costs thousands of dollars, let's have a model number.

I found Togglers at toggler.com, and yes, they have plastic ones. They call them Hollow-Wall/Medium Duty Toggler Hollow-Wall Anchors.

They rate them at 234 pounds in 5/8" drywall, which is standard here in California. But that is only the SHEAR strength! They DON'T MENTION how much pull will pull them out of the wall, and with a plasma, the upper mounts are subjected to lots of pull and some shear, while the lower mounts are subjected to shear until the top ones let go...and then they are subjected to torque, a combo of shear and pull.

The only togglers you should consider at the Hollow-Wall/Heavy Duty Snaptoggle Toggle Bolts.

These are different and vastly improved over normal toggle bolts in these ways:
*the toggle behind the wall is a solid piece of steel, bent in a U shape; because it is one piece, it can't be broken like normal toggle bolts can be.
*It uses a 1/4-20 bolt, not a sheet-metal screw. Real threads for real support.
*there are more threads than in a normal toggle bolt, so pull-out strength is greater (although still not specified).