The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

Login:
Pass:

Original thread:
Post 137 made on Thursday January 29, 2009 at 09:30
Colzie
Lurking Member
January 2009
On January 28, 2009 at 08:03, juliejacobson said...
because their dealers go out of business and they are
left with 100s of thousands of dollars of junk.

Knowing that (and I WILL publish that), who would take
such a risk?

Julie,

I'm an independent AMX programmer. I take pride in what I do, but not so much that I think everyone wants my code and are just waiting to stumble onto a system I've done to steal my awesome work so they can reproduce it and make a killing.

AMX hardware allows you to store the uncompiled source code on the processor. I do this. Always. If a client wants a copy of the source code (and their bill is paid), I provide it.

Here is my point of view:
KEEP THE CLIENT HAPPY and you won't be in a situation of someone stealing your code! This is what it comes down to -- programmers don't want other programmers to steal their work. I understand this, and I feel the same way. But I also feel that a happy client is A#1. If they don't have a reason to go somewhere else then there is no threat of "code stealing".

I've been on the other side too many times -- oh, sorry, we don't have the source code. Yes, it is a pain. This is why I'm not so clingy about my code.

But Julie, PLEASE don't make your article "AMX/Crestron BAD! Control4/Lifeware GOOD!". Granted, I don't know the details of C4/LW, but my understanding is they are not able to do the custom programming to the level of AMX/C. There are a lot of people that DO WANT that level of customization. Scaring them away from AMX/Crestron isn't helping the industry provide the high-end customization that the high-end (big $$) clients want.

Making the public aware of the "no code" situation is fine, but steering them away from AMX or Crestron isn't necessary.