Don Stratton
Long Time Member
December 2002
On 10/19/04 00:09 ET, kpavey said...
I just downloaded TR2.2 for evaluation. Looks
impressive so far. Why only a 3 day trial - I
really doubt I'm going to get to know the features/benefits
of this package in 3 days, especially given complexities
of Bluetooth thrown in. How about a week or two?

One word: marketroids. Some of our people think a lengthy trial period will more likely translate to a loss of interest therefore a lost sale. Of course, the inverse is that a overly-short trial period may not give a person a fair chance to evaulate it, especially if they are going to try to cram a few minutes of usage here and there into a busy life. The marketroid's theory is that the 3-day trial will force a user to get serious about evaluating the software and not piddle with it just to see what the menus do.

I guess its a good thing I'm an engineer and not a marketroid. I might not be wired to think like that. ;)

Will TR link via Bluetooth to my HTPC to control
the various IRs programmed into the skins?

No, just CIR control.

Can TR emulate keystrokes ilo IR learning to execute
commands for each programmed button? I had a quiz
through the v2.2 user guide but couldn't see this
directly - perhaps through ccf files?

I don't quite understand the question. :/

Secondly, getting a 'dongle' (frequency doubled
antenna) is $30US shipping on the TR website to
Australia - I can't imagine why that is so expensive.
That's more than the software!

The product we have on our web site is the full "retail" package which includes both software and hardware. We do not list an option for purchasing just the transmitter on our web site, so you may have gotten confused. I am pretty sure we do not even have the transmitter in our ordering system as a seperate option, nor do I know what it would cost. Perhaps you should send an E-mail to [email protected] and ask them how you would buy JUST the transmitter part.

Do you have an Australian agent?