The following page was printed from RemoteCentral.com:

Login:
Pass:

Original thread:
Post 45 made on Sunday October 25, 2020 at 01:04
HiFiRobbie
Select Member
June 2006
I agonised over this for years until about 3 months ago when I finally pulled the trigger on becoming a dealer.

I had been doing my own jobs as a sub-dealer for about 3-4 years and when I finally got a job that put me comfortably over the initial entry point, I took the opportunity and did it.

As far as I could see, here in Australia, the only two options were Savant or C4, with RTI no longer even being in the running for me. And with Savant not having anywhere NEAR the range of drivers, it was pretty much a no-brainer. As for Crestron? Well, you don't need a Meyer line-array for listening to music in your living room.

My reasons for going the C4 route:

1) Support. NOBODY else in the industry has the support network that C4 has. Period. I can call them pretty much any time I'm on the tools and either get a solution, or a work-around, with one of their techs dialling-in via Team-Viewer whenever necessary. Last week I spent 1 hour and 15 minutes on the phone with them while we fulfilled a rather odd and specific request for a client. My last experience with RTI was a full mailbox on a mobile telephone number, which was what sealed the deal for me on walking away from them altogether. Come to think of it, I don't think they ever even got back to me.

2) Software. The software is by far the easiest I have ever come across. It is regularly updated and locked down so every bloke and his brother can't get a copy and mess-up all my work, then call me out and say "Its never really worked right", after they've messed it up.